We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
49
3
0
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
3
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the location is perfect offered tea coffee nice homestay an early morning boat ride shared bathroom peaceful retreat large balcony short walk quiet street holy city home away from home chai room was clean mowgli benares accommodation assi
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 54 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2018

I had a great experience staying there. Location is so calm and close to famous Assi ghat and Banaras Hindu University. Both places can be reached by 5-10 min walk. Not to forget Dileep service boy (nickname Mogli) has always smile on his face. So please don't take his smile in an offensive way like he is laughing at you without any reason. Santosh is always helpful for any types of query like where to go, what to do and what is happening in present time which you will not be able to find out anywhere even if you are having lonely planet in your hand :-) . In short you can have multiple benefits staying at Purple lotus rather than staying some other place.

I would love to visit Varanasi and specially to have more pleasant stay at purple lotus.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NileshK569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santosh s, Owner at Purple Lotus Home Stay Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskar from Varanasi

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at Purple Lotus Homestay, Varanasi and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments about our homestay and our service boy dileep (Mogli) are truly appreciated.
Our whole team is always committed to provide warm, efficient & discrete services to our guests.

We share with our team who take great pride in ensuring each guest has a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcome you once again
and assure you of our best services.

Warm Regards
Santosh Singh
Owner - Purple Lotus Homestay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

Varanasi is a quite chaotic place, it's intense and noisy. I love it, but sometimes it's nice to have a quiet peaceful place to retire to. Purple lotus is such a place. It's situated in a quiet street in the area of Nagwa close to the bustling life in Nagwa and Assi. Purple Lotus has a very homely touch, you live together with the other guests as one big family. Bathrooms are shared but that's not a problem they're clean and you hardly ever need to wait for your turn.
The included breakfast is simple, but gives you sufficient energy to go out and experience the great city of Varanasi.
Staff is always very helpful and eager to help.
I'll definitely come back.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank britrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santosh s, Owner at Purple Lotus Home Stay Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskar from the City of Temples!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at Purple Lotus Homestay, Varanasi.
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Purple Lotus Homestay.
Your kind comments about our place, breakfast, homely touch, clean bathroom & colleagues are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you back at Purple Lotus Homestay, Varanasi and assure you of our best services.

Warm Regards
Santosh
Owner - Purple Lotus Homestay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here, thanks to Santosh's fantastic hospitality. He helped us organise everything for our stay, from picking up SIM cards to taking us to a local wedding! He organised a tour for us with an excellent guide called Amit, who we also highly recommend. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Five stars from us. Thanks Santosh and Mowgli for a great time!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank HugoE677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santosh s, Manager at Purple Lotus Home Stay Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskar from the City of Temples!

Thank you for choosing Purple Lotus Homestay, Varanasi and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you had a great experience in Varanasi with us.
From picking up sim cards to local wedding & the arrangement of the guide etc.
Our whole team is always committed to provide warm, efficient & discrete services to our guests.
So that our guests carry a memorable experience with them.

We hope to welcome you back to Purple Lotus Homestay, Varanasi and assure you of our best services.

Warm Regards
Nisha
Manager - Purple Lotus Homestay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2018

This is a best place to live in. if you are in varanasi u must stay here u will love everything here. managment is so good .he is a very kind and helpful person, he arranged an elephant ride for me and help me a lot with all my stuffs.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rakeshjaiswal206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santosh s, Manager at Purple Lotus Home Stay Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskar from the City of Temples!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback on your experience at Purple Lotus Homestay.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Purple Lotus Homestay.
At Purple Lotus Homestay we are committed to provide best services to our guests, whether it is room, food, tour or transport etc.

We look forward to welcome you back at Purple Lotus Homestay, Varanasi and assure you of our best services.

Warm Regards
Nisha
Manager - Purple Lotus Homestay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2018

I spent a whole week in November at the Purple Lotus and enjoyed it very much. The very large balcony was “mine” for the first 4 days, and later on it was just as nice to sit for several hours with his other interesting guests from India and abroad. Santosh welcomed me to his home, he always had chai ready for me, and he made sure I had a good time at his place as well as in Varanasi, pointing out restaurants, explaining me how to use the pool taxi ‘savari’-system, arranging an early morning boat ride, and giving me insights to life in India – at times in Italian, which he speaks very well.

There are two gyms a few minutes’ walk away, so there’s also the possibility of a great workout after a long day of walking along the ghats or ‘gullies’. During my 'intellectual workout' of Hindi studies, Mowgli would check on my reading skills every day by going through the local newspaper with me.

The Purple Lotus is a homestay and not a hotel, so for those complaining about lack of privacy or shared bathrooms, they should have known better. Varanasi is a congested city, and yet his house is in a very quiet pocket, close to Assi Ghat on the south side of town. Santosh is open for suggestions and if he can accommodate your wishes, he will do so. I would certainly recommend the place to everybody going to Varanasi for a few days with the wish to indulge in contemporary Indian lifestyle.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Axel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santosh s, Owner at Purple Lotus Home Stay Varanasi, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Varanasi !!

Thank you for choosing Purple Lotus and writing a detailed review regarding your stay with us.

Our whole team is always committed to provide warm and friendly atmosphere to our guests,
We give different ideas to our customers to understand the culture & lifestyle of Varanasi.

Your kind comments about our homestay and our colleagues are truly appreciated. These have been shared with our team who take great pride in ensuring each guest has a memorable stay.
Thank you for explaining about our location & privacy issue because this will help others to understand our whole system.

We look forward to welcome you once again and assure you of our best services.

Warm Regards
Santosh Singh - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews