We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for staying in Varanasi”
Review of Puja Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Puja Guest House
Ranked #94 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Puja GH has nice and basic rooms, relatively clean bathrooms. Don't expect luxury. I was there in November, so A/C I didn't need, fan was perfectly enough. Locking mechanisms of the rooms are quite annoying, but I got used to it. We used sleeping bags, no top sheets were provided. The guest house is a 5-10 min walk from the main ghat area, a little tricky to find when its dark in the evening if you try to reach it from the riverside - you have to go through some really dark tunnels between the Lalita Ghat and the guesthouse, it was perfectly safe though. Rooftop terrace is nice and peaceful, perfect place to relax; restaurant is a bit overpriced and the quality is not the best one, so we avoided it. No free internet access or Wi-Fi. Geckos in the rooms is something normal, we didn't care about these fellas :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 131 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2011

avoid it! bad quality, bad service, dirty, expensive!! only terrace is good. restaurant very bad as well. bugs and rats in the rooms, really dirty. service was oscene. location is quite good, but nothing special. i do reccomend not to go there.
do not know what to add. surprisingly bad.
avoid it! bad quality, bad service, dirty, expensive!! only terrace is good. restaurant very bad as well. bugs and rats in the rooms, really dirty. service was oscene. location is quite good, but nothing special. i do reccomend not to go there.
do not know what to add. surprisingly bad.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is not a guesthouse, this is a disaster!
Default: simple and dirty.
Bad: quite dirty and sometimes only warm water.
Towels: with holes and stinky. Everywhere animals in the room!
But the worst part of the manager: every day he made promises, aber he never did anything..Er urged to show me Varanasi. At the appointed time, he has not even been published.
This Guest House makes just asking for trouble!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaLinetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Rooms here are fairly basic but despite the age of the building, they were clean and bright, the sheets were clean (only one tiny hole..no top sheet) and the bathrooms had a working shower. The rooms stayed fairly cool so I chose a room without A/C and just used the fan and it was one of the quietest ceiling fans I had in India..no ticking or grinding noises. Like everywhere in Varanasi, this place can be hard to find but all locals seem to know where it is and are happy to point you in the right direction plus once you're in the alleys, there are signs everywhere. When you do find it though, the massive empty lobby area with nothing but a tiny desk in it almost makes it look closed and walking up the stairs you'll notice clothes hung everywhere and things lying around on each level. The hotel has a nice rooftop area overlooking the ghats with a fairly decent restaurant but unfortunately neither the restaurant nor the hotel have wi-fi available. There are a few computer terminals on the ground floor where internet can be used for a small fee. Much like the rest of India, Varanasi has an issue with reliable electricity however this hotel has a good (but not great) battery back-up system.

Room Tip: Ask to check the rooms first..some might be better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineedtopacklighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were in Puja Guest House, planning to stay for 3 nights in an AC Room for 20 Euro per night, escaped after one sleepless night to a good, known here, Hotel in Cantonment.

The Ganga flooded the Ghats, so the Entrance was only reachable through climbing a lot of excrements from any creature and piles of rotting waste.
When the rain set in, our windows showed that it was absolutely untight and our room was flooded. I asked the manager for towels and sheets and for some help, the storm was still breesing hard. He answered that this is India and he don't care.

With the help of the facility helping hand, which i had to recruit by myself, we could kinda ducktape it. Thanks to this guy, he was the only one of the whole staff who acted friendly and helpful. As a result: Absolutely not worth it's money!

The Rooftop Restaurant had a good view an the chef knows about his job.

Room Tip: Rooms under the Restaurant are quite good, but check windshields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrathezalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Firstly, I am a seasoned backpacker round India, I know what to expect! However, the Puja was rank. We booked it via the Internet and weighed up the reviews. We finally found it thanks to a great rickshaw driver that led us there.Its down a lot of winding back streets, but hey, thats the beauty of varanasi!
We had booked a 'river view' room and was happy to pay for that. We were put into a pokey room, with a half view, so we questioned it and was promptly moved to the 'right' room. I am used to basic, I am well aware of India's level of housekeeping!! But, the Puja was minging. i had to wipe down the light switches, they were thick sticky black with dirt. The 'fridge' didn't work (didn't care for the fridge, but it was sold as the luxery part, as was the TV) but the fridge had solid black mould inside. Had I wanted to watch TV, it didnt work and was covered with sticky black dirt.
Every thing in the room was filthy, sticky and grimey. Whilst on the trip I stayed in far far better Hotels for the same price.
Yes the view was good, but the over experience was ropey.
The roof restaurant food was OK, the view was fantastic, but beware of the moths and bugs at night. But cant blame the Hotel for that!
The location was great, maybe all the black sticky dirt was from the burning ghats...........but they still could of cleaned the rooms!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RachieC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

we was tree girls for traveling through india during ten days, we stayed two days in puja guest house with a very incredible indian guide: gopal; he showed us all the nice places of varanasi and explained us all the differents histories and meanings of indian rites; he took us to a silk shop. The rooms are not very comfortable but cheap. So great place!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenepp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#11 of 80 in Varanasi
505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
0.0 mi away
Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi
Bunkedup Hostel Varanasi
#8 of 235 in Varanasi
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sankatha Guest House
Sankatha Guest House
#21 of 224 in Varanasi
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puja Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puja Guest House

Address: Lalita Ghat Puja Guest House D 1/45, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range: $13 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Puja Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Puja Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puja Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing