We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the price - good food, wifi, quiet, short walk to ghats”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandhya Guest House
Ranked #27 of 209 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent for the price - good food, wifi, quiet, short walk to ghats”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night as a solo traveller in a single room. Paid about 500 rupees on Agoda, booked at short notice on the day before the major Shiva festival.

The room was very small - just room for the (rather firm) single bed - but that wasn't a problem for me. Had a small balcony with a street view. Clean by Indian standards. Hot water.

Good food in the restaurant on the rooftop, where there's a bit of a Ganges view, with very friendly staff. Did the job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inthecity742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    39
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
2
41
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I'm just siting on the top roof restaurant of this guesthouse and enjoying cool atmosphere of inside area in the midday heat. Rooms are clean and big enough. Location is also great since its not far from the crazy "old town" and just walking distance from the ghats.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Sandhya guest house is a great place to stay in Varanasi. The staff are welcoming and attentive and happy to help with evening/early mornig boat rides. The hotel is located within 5-10 mins ( slow walk) of one of varanasi's two burning ghats and 15-20 min walk from the main ghat where the evening puja ceremony takes place at 6:30/7pm. The ood in the restaurant is great and wifi works well. Rooms are basic shower was hot! Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Vijjay, the first guy who we met entering the guest house at 6h in the morning was really nice and even if we woke up him such early, was that friendly that he offered us a chai. We looked for a cheap room, and we had to wait a bit for the check out time to obtain a room cheaper than what we expected. It was not very spacious but it had what we looked for, a bed to sleep with shared bathroom and wc. The guest house is clean enough, has hot water when you wait for it and free wi-fi on the roof. But its particularity and what make the diference is its friendlyness, the owner is really interesting and you can talk a long time with him about everything. If you want any kind of information they will make them a pleasure to inform you the best way they can and always recomending you what you look for or even better. So definitely it is a good place to stay and a recommendable one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djigui K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This guesthouse is a very nice one. The rooms are clean and the showers are hot! They have lso a very friendly and helpfull staff. The owner is also a great guy and helps you with everything. The rooftopterrace and restaurant are great. Not expensive and great value for money you pay! Realy recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoutJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days, the rooms are very basic but everything u need for good rest. Roof top restaurant is pleasant place to hang out, with good food n very good prices. The staff is friendly n helpful, we organised most of our trips n tickets via them. The owner of the hotel is always around, very funny guy and he can answer any of your queries about India :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matilda2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We ve been taken there by a rikshaw driver and it was absolutely a positive surprise. Nice Location and Great Food on The roof top terrace. The room (Double with bathroom and balcony, Hot water) is 600 Rs, clean and Even got a Little Tv (we did not try that One).
All The staff is nice and surely a good Place to stay in varanasi.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.0 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
1.1 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 74 in Varanasi
2,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shanti Palace
Shanti Palace
#12 of 209 in Varanasi
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Singh Guest House
Singh Guest House
#34 of 209 in Varanasi
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tara Guest House
Tara Guest House
#42 of 74 in Varanasi
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aakash Ganga
Hotel Aakash Ganga
#101 of 209 in Varanasi
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhya Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhya Guest House

Property: Sandhya Guest House
Address: B3/304 Shivala Varanasi | UP, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing