We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This house gave me a wonderful time.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sahi River View Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 222 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed there for 3days and had a wonderful time. It's in the upstream of the Ganges,the view from there make me relaxed(^^)
Foods are also very good!! I recommend banana pancake! I took it every morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koji082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 257 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was there for Holi and had the best time ever. The place is completely safe, and the manager (Anand) us an absolute superstar. With a beautiful balcony view and great food and new friends in the guesthouse, you can't go wrong here.

This place rocks. Plain and simple.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericmreiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have only good things to say about this pleace. Very good both in service and in food. Its a clean hotel in the middle of the city, near to many facilities! We went there in february 2013. We requested only vegetarian food, it was very good every day. We also got our laundry done.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was a great place to stay in Varanasi. The best thing about the hotel is the staff. REALLY terrific folks who helped us in so many ways. The room was clean and we had a terrific view. The air conditioner kept the room comfortable (definitely worth the extra $$ during the hot season). I never saw any rats/critters or insects in the room. The room service was fast, food was very good and cheap. My friend really hated that there wasn't a proper shower head, but I didn't have a problem with the hand-held nozzle. The bed was very comfortable. Great location.

Room Tip: My room had a balcony and a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Varanasi, Sahi River View Guest House

The staff at this hotel are incredibly kind; the guys at the front desk are some of the most helpful we’ve ever met. The river view room we stayed in was quite clean, with a big bathroom and an unbelievable view over the Ganges.

Pros:
-VERY helpful staff
-Pretty good food and free tea and toast for breakfast
-amazing river views
-right next to Assi Ghat but far enough away from the Main Ghat that you don’t feel “as” overwhelmed (it’s Varanasi) (max. 50 rupees by cycle-rickshaw to Main Ghat)

Cons:
-our room got really hot, so we paid the extra for A/C (even though it cut in and out a lot, which they warned us would happen); our A/C unit was really old, and when the mechanic came in and fixed it, it blasted large black chunks of dust/mould all over the room. The room next door had a newer A/C unit so this may be a room specific thing – check your A/C if you’re going to use it.
-there is no wifi at this hotel, just a lobby computer
-there is a very large community of rats in the attic over the kitchen, which skuttle in and out of the ceiling at dusk and all night thereafter. I recognize that this is Varanasi we’re talking about, and we never saw a rat in our room (and the kitchen is spotless), but it’d be untruthful not to give fellow travelers a little heads up about the fact that they are there.

We would definitely stay at this guesthouse again, regardless of con #3. It really did feel like home.

Room Tip: A river view is a MUST - worth every extra penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kneel1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

waking up and having breakfast watching the busy varanasi.. lovely
rooms are very confortable, room service is quick and inexpensive. location in a walking distance to all ghats, i can certainly recommend morning walks by the river, india gets to your soul..

Room Tip: most rooms have balconies, ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jotapiazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Well situated at Assi Ghat, this well known and much loved guesthouse is really fab. The rooms are clean and snug, the bathrooms great...and all for a truly reasonable price. This family run guesthouse is a gem. The staff are helpful and make sure you feel comfortable. The free use of house computer is fun too- It looks like a "Space Invaders" machine!. We are certain to stay here again on our next trip to Varanasi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peeeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.5 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#13 of 80 in Varanasi
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#12 of 80 in Varanasi
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,228 reviews
1.4 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
0.5 mi away
Rahul Guest House
Rahul Guest House
#23 of 222 in Varanasi
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahi River View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahi River View Guesthouse

Address: B - 1/158 a 2 | Assi-Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range: $4 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sahi River View Guesthouse Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing