We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sahi River View Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 224 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent five nights here during Diwali and fell in love with the place. A little bit further out a Assi Ghat, it takes you away from the major hubub of Varanasi whilst only being a short walk away at the same time. We stayed in two different rooms as the second bigger one was only available for the last couple of nights and both rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable with good hot showers. Food was great - and plentiful! Staff were friendly and attentive and as everyone mentions - STILL the best and cheapest pancakes we've had in India. A great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfootskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 256 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in Sahi River guest in October 2012 for 2 nights in an a/c room. The room had its own balcony overlooking the Gagnes and was very clean and excellent value. The bathroom was also fine with reliable hot shower. The food was good and Amy and I can recommend the banana pancakes or the paratha for breakfast.

The staff were all lovely and spoke good English. We also arranged our Gagnes cruises through the staff there and found them to be reliable and reasonably priced.

We would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask to see different rooms if possible. The guest house is quite quirky and the rooms and balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Pluses: Clean room initially. Well located. Decent kitchen. Very economical.
Minuses: No wi-fi. I stayed four nights and my room was never cleaned. The trash piled up, towels and sheets were not changed. The water line from the AC unit emptied into a bucket in the room, which I did not know about, and it overflowed. The staff expected me to monitor it and empty it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I had a wonderful time at Sahi River View -- the rooms were clean and very reasonably priced, and some of them had wonderful little balconies with views of the Ganges. The people here at wonderful as well, and I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I recommend this place. Assi Ghat is one of the most southern and (if possible) is slightly quieter than most. It is easily accessible by car - you have to walk the last few metres. My room was very large and clean. Slight problem with AC but they had someone fix it. The breakfast was basic but good with toast and chai. Room service food was nice. The staff were helpful with organising a boat for an early morning trip. Free internet. Great view from balconys. Get up early and you'll be treated to wonderful ghat viewing. Around the corner are a few shops - don't miss Open Hands for coffee, cake and some very good handicrafts. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carnage99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our stay at Sahi River View was wonderful from start to finish. We were given a very warm welcome, even though we arrived very early and enjoyed watching the sunrise over the Ganges from the balcony. The room was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The food was great and the staff were really friendly and helpful, giving us lots of good advice to make the most out of our stay. Couldn't be a better location either! Thanks guys! Emily.M

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was recommended Sahi River guest house by a friend and fellow traveller I met in Rajasthan in January of 2011. My first trip to Varanassi in March of 2011 was very warm and welcoming by the staff. They were all very helpful and friendly. I returned again in March of 2012 and it was like coming home to family.
The food is very good, its very quiet, and you meet great travellers in the common areas. There are indoor balconies, a dining room and a great rooftop. I love the location which is quiet and friendly. You can easily walk from Assi Ghat, along the ghats, to the main ghat in the center of town, or take a cheap rickshaw. You have many choices of rooms in different price ranges.
I can't wait to return again this winter. Book ahead, as this is a very popular place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.5 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#12 of 80 in Varanasi
285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
0.9 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#13 of 80 in Varanasi
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rahul Guest House
Rahul Guest House
#23 of 224 in Varanasi
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahi River View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahi River View Guesthouse

Address: B - 1/158 a 2 | Assi-Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range: $4 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sahi River View Guesthouse Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing