We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel service ever”
Review of Hotel Buddha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Buddha
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed in hotel Buddha for 2 nights in September 2013. After reaching the hotel our all the expectations get washed. The location is very poor & severe concern to security. Now coming to services, we were two people & we were given single towel in the room. We had asked many times to the reception but nobody was interested to hear us. There was a person Mr.Singh was at the reception & for sure he is having no sense of hotel services or guest delights. He told us to manage with one towel only. We were promised 24 hrs AC service but half of our stay was without that because of heavy power cut in Varanasi & poor generator backup of the hotel. Rest inconvenience was ensured by the ongoing construction work in the hotel.
The standard of the hotel staff was like a lodge. I was surprised to see that there was only 3-4 staff in dirty clothes (without uniform) & they were doing all kind of work from luggage picking, room service, toilet cleaning even as a waiter. Truly unbelievable & horrible!!
The travel desk was only interested in making money by the means like shopping (silk), boat ride etc. The travel desk guy was constantly insisting us to go for silk shopping in muslim market to ensure his commission.
In nut shell they spoiled my tour & left me with unforgettable memories……..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajesh_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. I do apologize that the hotel was not up to your expectation. Location of the hotel is centre of the city but still at a quite place just behind a park in this area

We at Hotel Buddha, always try to provide extra facilities to our all guests, not to refuse their request and requirements. Towels and other toiletries are the things which are always available in any room and this service can not be denied by anyone in our management and from no one you can be answered to manage in one towel when you are two people.

We do promise for 24hrs generator backup on lights, T.V., fans BUT Never for AC generator backup because of the erratic power supply in Varanasi. However, it’s available whole night in order to make your sleep quality good and that is informed to our every guest at check-in itself.

We are renovating our rooms in order to provide the better options to our guest and updating the rooms with new bathrooms and furnishing. We understand and apologize for the disturbance that noise could have caused you. Now, the work is going to be done shortly.

We take a sincere note on staffs, their works and departments are totally separate and they do only their work and for what they are appointed but just to avoid the delay in service and the hassle, they may get involved in other works but not from bathroom cleaning to other service. Sorry for the travels desk’s behavior, but they provide alternatives to see and do in Varanasi. It is totally up to you that what you want to.

Again, I apologize that you did not fully enjoy your stay.We appreciate your comments and are making the appropriate changes

Namaste!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 543 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We were again in Hotel Buddha.This time we opt for Super dlx room.though room was clean,but space was less in room but room was good and view too.it has a personal balcony opening to open sky.from windows one can have a glance at park just outside of property.renovation work was going in some of the rooms and lift was also been installed there.sleeping quality was good.
We nothing tried as they were serving veg and non veg and kitchen was not saperate. bathroom was huge with a bathtub.this is a resturant
at walking distance which offers pure veg food with delicious taste.
ghats are not so far from hotel.location of property is quite good.
Will visit again...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nehaa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is located away from the ghats, takes about 30 min. to reach Kedar ghat. Food (dinner) was horrible and unjustifiably expensive. Complementary breakfast was equally pathetic - choice of 2 - both worthless. Travel desk was inefficient, no pick/ drop. The travel guy shamelessly asked for money for dropping us just half a km away. Hotel manager was ill-mannered. All in all, a bad experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay at Hotel Buddha. The Hotel is only 1.5 KM from the Ghats, it takes only 10-20 mins(depends on traffic also). Our prices for the foods are already posted on our menus and we try our best to serve the same what you order for. We provide you the multiple options for breakfast. I’m sorry that this was not properly communicated to you.
Our Front desk and the manager are always available at your service and happy to help you in anyway. I am sorry for the misunderstanding with the travel desk as we always inform our guests the inclusions in their room rates, at the time of booking & before their arrival itself and I remember your Pick/Drop service wasn’t included. We work hard to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable visit.
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We where in this Hotel for only 3 nights some restoration was being done during the day but we where out most of the time so no issue there, The reception desk was very helpful especially the young lady. I would like to add that the travel desk was standing by as we arrived and gave us a itinerary to suite us so we did not loose any time looking around for where and what. The menu could be a little better for the non Asian food enthusiasts but other then that all ok with this Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dustybootraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear dustyboots62,

Thank you for writing a review about our property after your stay with us, we are delighted to know that you were happy with our services, and our rooms. Sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the renovation work during you stay. Your feedback has been addressed with the respective departments in detail and necessary measures have been taken.

We hope you would soon give us another opportunity to serve you with a remarkable stay experience.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Reasonable rates for a nice hotel very friendly staff unfortunately there was building work happening when we stayed there. This made it impossible to relax in our room eventually we had to move out of the hotel. Would consider staying there again as long as there isn't any building work.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Chris H,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. W are really sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the renovation work. We appreciate your comments that you had provided for us during your stay and rest assured that we have done our best to improve our services since your last stay with us.

We wish to welcome you on your next visit in Varanasi.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

On arrival at 8am (18/8/2013) in the morning we were greeted with smiles and were soon shown to our upgraded room with a balcony, ensuite and an extra little snug to boot. There was plenty of space. All the meals we shared were of a high quality.
My daughter and I very much enjoyed our stay in Varanasi over the weekend aided by the comfortable Hotel Buddha.
We got speaking with receptionist Sia (19) who is a lovely girl and a credit to the hotel. We wish her good luck with the studies.

Varanasi is quite a compact city and can easily be navigated by tuk tuk. Like most town centres the roads are pretty bad leading to some congested traffic situations. There is loads to see other than just the Ghats. Two full days is enough but coming away we felt very sad to be leaving.

Hotel Buddha is a excellent option for those looking for comfort and peace at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colinbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Colinbowman,

Thank you for your review with TripAdvisor. We’re glad to know that you were happy with the rooms, food. It is also a pleasure to know that our team especially Sia, is appreciated and guests understand them as it motivates them to do better and from the heart.

We would like to thankyou for recommending us.We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to the city and assure you of a wonderful stay.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After checking reviews decided to stay here and booked in advance. I arrived at the bus stand and walked to the railway station both to book my onward train ticket and get a pre-paid auto rickshaw. Beware, my driver had to ask for directions then followed me in to the hotel hoping for commission for taking me there, if you have a printed booking just show the driver and it stops that.
The staff were wonderful, the girl at the desk spoke very good English, the man who seemed to do all the jobs around the place did as well, if you wanted a drink he would go and buy it for you and bring it back to the hotel.
I had a good room with a balcony, there are more basic windowless rooms, the breakfast was good but getting a seat sometimes was hard if a coach party was staying there.
It's a fair walk to the ghats but worth it, though you might get chased by cycle rickshaws, at night a lot of the area is not lit by street lights but there are some good food places within walking distance and it is lively.

Room Tip: Pay the most you can afford, one with an outside view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Ian S,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our team could help you to make your stay memorable.We appreciate your comments and already made the appropriate changes.

We do hope that you had a restful break with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 87 in Varanasi
1,251 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
2.5 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#18 of 87 in Varanasi
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 87 in Varanasi
2,210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#13 of 87 in Varanasi
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Residency
Hotel Central Residency
#31 of 87 in Varanasi
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buddha

Address: C - 26/35 Ramkatora Lahurabir | Near Lahurabir Crossing, Behind Lahurabir Petrol Pump, Varanasi 221001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $45 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buddha 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Varanasi, the hotel offers variety of luxurious rooms and suites for a comfortable stay. We serve a range of cuisine and provide our guests with an exclusive travel desk to design exciting tour plans. The facilities and quality of service we deliver makes us an equivalent to a 3 star hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Buddha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing