We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay on a budget.”
Review of Hotel Buddha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Buddha
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to stay on a budget.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We where in this Hotel for only 3 nights some restoration was being done during the day but we where out most of the time so no issue there, The reception desk was very helpful especially the young lady. I would like to add that the travel desk was standing by as we arrived and gave us a itinerary to suite us so we did not loose any time looking around for where and what. The menu could be a little better for the non Asian food enthusiasts but other then that all ok with this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear dustyboots62,

Thank you for writing a review about our property after your stay with us, we are delighted to know that you were happy with our services, and our rooms. Sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the renovation work during you stay. Your feedback has been addressed with the respective departments in detail and necessary measures have been taken.

We hope you would soon give us another opportunity to serve you with a remarkable stay experience.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    178
    90
    32
    20
See reviews for
183
100
42
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Reasonable rates for a nice hotel very friendly staff unfortunately there was building work happening when we stayed there. This made it impossible to relax in our room eventually we had to move out of the hotel. Would consider staying there again as long as there isn't any building work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. W are really sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the renovation work. We appreciate your comments that you had provided for us during your stay and rest assured that we have done our best to improve our services since your last stay with us.

We wish to welcome you on your next visit in Varanasi.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burguss Hill Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

On arrival at 8am (18/8/2013) in the morning we were greeted with smiles and were soon shown to our upgraded room with a balcony, ensuite and an extra little snug to boot. There was plenty of space. All the meals we shared were of a high quality.
My daughter and I very much enjoyed our stay in Varanasi over the weekend aided by the comfortable Hotel Buddha.
We got speaking with receptionist Sia (19) who is a lovely girl and a credit to the hotel. We wish her good luck with the studies.

Varanasi is quite a compact city and can easily be navigated by tuk tuk. Like most town centres the roads are pretty bad leading to some congested traffic situations. There is loads to see other than just the Ghats. Two full days is enough but coming away we felt very sad to be leaving.

Hotel Buddha is a excellent option for those looking for comfort and peace at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colinbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Colinbowman,

Thank you for your review with TripAdvisor. We’re glad to know that you were happy with the rooms, food. It is also a pleasure to know that our team especially Sia, is appreciated and guests understand them as it motivates them to do better and from the heart.

We would like to thankyou for recommending us.We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to the city and assure you of a wonderful stay.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After checking reviews decided to stay here and booked in advance. I arrived at the bus stand and walked to the railway station both to book my onward train ticket and get a pre-paid auto rickshaw. Beware, my driver had to ask for directions then followed me in to the hotel hoping for commission for taking me there, if you have a printed booking just show the driver and it stops that.
The staff were wonderful, the girl at the desk spoke very good English, the man who seemed to do all the jobs around the place did as well, if you wanted a drink he would go and buy it for you and bring it back to the hotel.
I had a good room with a balcony, there are more basic windowless rooms, the breakfast was good but getting a seat sometimes was hard if a coach party was staying there.
It's a fair walk to the ghats but worth it, though you might get chased by cycle rickshaws, at night a lot of the area is not lit by street lights but there are some good food places within walking distance and it is lively.

Room Tip: Pay the most you can afford, one with an outside view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Ian S,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our team could help you to make your stay memorable.We appreciate your comments and already made the appropriate changes.

We do hope that you had a restful break with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is my 3rd time to varanasi. we 8 members family spent 3 nights in 4 rooms recently. we stayed in premier rooms and it was neat, nice and comfort for the price we paid. The staff overall were very helpful. specifically the hotel executive name Pooja really very kind and make our stay really comfort and happy. the location of the hotel also very strategic and one of the good restaurant name Annaporna was just 5 min walking distance. tut tut is very convenient to move around the city from this hotel. pls ask for the premier room if you want a comfort stay.

Room Tip: ask for premier room (room no 261-264)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praba06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Praba06,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review that you had provided to us. We are glad that you chose us and it was great to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We are glad you had enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

We thank you again for your time in writing us this review and we hope that you will return again for another stay.


Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel was more like a hostel than a hotel. The rooms were simple but clean, the breakfast very simple and the staff was ok. The location of this hotel was good as it was close to the banks of the Ganges and the burning sites, but in an area were you wouldn't like to walk alone in the middle of the night. To get a tuck tuck you walk some 3 minutes from the hotel and it takes another 10 minutes maximum with a tuck tuck to get to the main gats.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Signhild_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Signhild_N

We are glad that you had taken the time to share your stay experience at our Hotel. We are appreciative of your valuable comments. We look forward to welcome you back at next your next visit in Varanasi.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights..and It was the best and amazing option we could have in this Price Range..what you can expect in 1500 per night+ Taxes.?? and that too during the Indian festivals....

Beacuse Before coming in Varanasi I had checked its rating and reviews and also was recommended by an Indian friend..And It was more then our expectation....

They provided a good breakfast..which is enough with nice, Clean & AC Room...Power is a Big problem in Varanasi But The Kind and helpul staff already informed us in email and at check-in also..and In the best possible way they Provided AC Backup During Night Time...which we didn't find in other hotel before choosing Buddha..

Amazing FOOD, Superb helpful Staff..Nice Location..Just 10-15 min by rickshaw for main river...We are so happy that we found such a Excellent Service in our low Budget... :))

.In short :You Get...what you pay for"...VALUE FOR MONEY...RECOMMENDED!!!!

Room Tip: Garden View..:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amatthew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.4 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Grapevine
Hotel Grapevine
#7 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
#10 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buddha

Property: Hotel Buddha
Address: Ramkatora Lahurabir C - 26/35 | Near Lahurabir Crossing, Behind Lahurabir Petrol Pump, Varanasi 221001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buddha 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Varanasi, the hotel offers variety of luxurious rooms and suites for a comfortable stay. We serve a range of cuisine and provide our guests with an exclusive travel desk to design exciting tour plans. The facilities and quality of service we deliver makes us an equivalent to a 3 star hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Buddha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing