We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hotel Buddha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Buddha
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Buddha Hotel for three days in March, 2013 to visit Allahabad for Maha Kumbh Mela on Maha Siva Ratri Day. We contacted hotel by email and Ms. Pooja Sharma reserved the room after we deposited advance. Mr. Manish, and Mr. Neeraj of Balaji Travels arranged taxi service for airport pickup, drop, guide (Mr. Gopal) and driver (Pintu) for visiting Kumbh Mela, Sarnath and Varanasi. The travel service is punctual, guide helped us in darshan at Kashi Viswanath temple and the same driver drove us around during our three day stay.

Hotel Buddha has given us a family room for our family of four, the room is neat, toilet is clean with daily room service and an extra bed. The room tariff is reasonable for family room with four guests, as many hotels do not offer a big room for a family of four. The hotel is in the middle of town, you can manage with rikshaws and autos to move around the city.

There is a restaurant, but food is costly, service takes time. Coffee did not taste well. There is an unpleasant drainage pipe visible in the toilet. Hot water comes for two hours - once in the morning and once in the night. There is no lift. Wi-Fi, A/C and TV worked well. You can expect to see foreigners staying at the hotel.

Our stay was peaceful and pleasant and I highly recommend Hotel Buddha for families visiting Varanasi.

Be prepared to face the nightmarish roads and traffic of Varanasi and the labyrinth of narrowest lanes around Kashi Vishwanath temple! Be aware of Pujaris in Varanasi who fleece you. There was power failure, but the Hotel has generator, but no A/C on generator.

Hotel Buddha is definitely a good choice for families visiting Varanasi.

Room Tip: Ask for Family Room if a family of three or four is travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripuraHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear TripuraHyd,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Buddha Varanasi as your preferred hotel in Varanasi. We are happy to know you found us to be nice hotel with cleanliness & reasonably priced for family.

We have noted your comment with regards to the restaurant service being costly & slow. The same has been shared with related department and we are certain you will experience a difference in your future visits.

We are pleased to know you liked our well appointed guest room and found AC, WiFI, TV etc in good conditions. Generator backup for AC during power failure is in night time.
Thanks for highly recommending us and making us nice option in Varanasi. Your encouragement motivates us to continue to perform at the high standards which are expected of us.

We hope to welcome you back to provide you our enhanced service on your next visit.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 496 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's been 3 months since my friends and I stayed at the Hotel Buddha, but I will remember it for the rest of my life. While the hotel itself is a bit remote (read: a bit of a trek to the ghats), the hotel staff and the modest amenities within made it a worthwhile choice. This is a place to stay if you want a spot of peace in the madness that is Varanasi. Their addictive chai and quiet rooftop garden were our refuge on more than one occasion.

If you want specifics:

Hotel location:
Not an easy walking distance to the ghats. A hired car or auto rickshaw would be the best bet. We tried to walk to the ghats twice and both times, the city chaos wore us down before we even got close. To be fair, one of the times we tried to walk was during Dev Deepavali, the hugest holiday ever. We had a decent time walking in the evening alongside the congested, buzzing, celebrating masses, but decided to turn back after the police unexpectedly diverted us off our guide's recommended map, and then became wary after we spotted suspicious men following us, eyeing one of our shoulder bags. Varanasi is not for the weak.

The rooms:
I stayed with my boyfriend and a mutual friend, split into 2 rooms. The room my boyfriend and I shared was alright; it was clean, it had screens on the windows (unheard of most other places), Western toilets, toilet paper, and hot water during morning hours and thereafter upon request only. The decor was nothing fancy, in fact I sort of thought it was ugly. (But as a budget traveler, I hadn't expected much in that arena.) In contrast, the room our friend had was LOVELY. Her room had all the same amenities ours had, except that it was on the rooftop next to the garden, and the decor was MUCH more attractive than what we had in our room, as well as having better light. If I were to stay at Hotel Buddha again, I would certainly request the room she had, even just to stay there all day to drink endless amounts of the hotel chai while taking in the beautiful city view spread out below me.

The restaurant:
We took all our meals here, and with every single meal, we drank multiple orders of chai each. Our server (I don't remember his name, unfortunately) quickly realized we liked the chai, as was evident when he graduated us from mere cups, to small potfuls, to finally leaving full size carafes on the table to drink at our leisure. Smart man, him. We drank a minimum of 2 orders of chai each, 3 times a day. We stayed for 3 nights and then took a few extra credit tea times (chai without food) in the afternoons and late evenings. On the low end, I would guess we had 57 orders of chai total. It was that good.
And the food itself wasn't so bad either!

The staff:
Here is where the Hotel Buddha really shines. While we didn't find Varanasi especially traveler-friendly, the staff here was very welcoming, accommodating, and traveler-curious. Sia was my introduction to the hotel as the person in charge of bookings and front desk operations during the evenings. Her English is great, and her email responses were immediate. She was very concerned with how we were finding our stay at the hotel, what we liked about it and what they could improve on. She thoughtfully arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport and take us directly to the hotel, which was great because it would have been scary at such a late hour otherwise. Sia was very kind, sweet, knowledgeable, and proactive, and I wish her the best.

Gopal was another one of the hotel staff, who started as our hired day trip guide but essentially functioned as our moment-to-moment Varanasi guru. We three came to trust him and I looked forward to talking with him each day. Gopal knew (and loved) the city and its history and culture inside and out. He patiently walked us through the labyrinths, drew us custom maps, made recommendations, warned us when he felt it was necessary, told us stories, and always had a thoughtful reply to every question we presented him. He even arranged for us to meet with a local friend during one of our day trips, coordinating with her to find a meeting spot near BHU (pretty tough with no address to reference), and hanging out with all of us while we made a breakfast social call. I can't really say enough about Gopal, except to say that he is truly a diamond, and I hope the Hotel Buddha treats him as such. I also hope we get to see him again some day.

If you're reading this Sia and Gopal: Eli, Traci, and Charlene say HI!

Thank you, Hotel Buddha. You were amazing, and you made our Varanasi trip special.

Room Tip: Definitely get a rooftop room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianaMeowpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear JulianaMeowpants,

Thank you so much for the wonderful detailed review that you had provided to us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our staff would be so happy to hear that they’ve made a difference in your stay. Sia and Gopal both were very happy to hear such appreciation and they say thank you.

We also thank you for your all feedback, we are trying our best. Thank you for letting us know.

We do hope that you had a restful break with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Buddha Hotel is a neat and clean hotel. With decent facilities and cordial staff. The cost was also agreeable. The most blessed part of the hotel was that it was able to give us a break from the constant high decible noise of the city of Varanasi. I would have given it a grand thumping 5 points 'Excellent' but for one things :

- A Ground + 4 Hotel had no lift and we had a room on the top most floor. Imagine treading the city of Banaras for hours mostly on foot amounting,to nearly 7- 8 KM of walk daily, braving the constant vehicular emissions and wirlwinds of dust and squeezing through narrow alleyways and pathways and then having to make an arduous journey up to the top floor of the hotel

Room Tip: If you are booking in The buddha hotel. please ensure that you ask for a room on lower floors - no h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piyali30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Piyali30,

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments that you had provided for us during your stay and rest assured that we have done our best to improve our services since your last stay with us. Glad to inform that we have also got the lift last year. :)

We do hope that you had a restful break with us and we welcome you to return should you have the opportunity to do so to let us impress you again with our services.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

No complaints. very nice place to stay at Varanasi. Room is not too small. Very clean toilets.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Varanasi. Didnt eat anything in restaurant..so no comments.
Overall it was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Somanadha Sastr... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Somanadha Sastr... A

Thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know you had a good stay with us. Thank you for choosing to stay us for your work trip to the capital city and all the wonderful words you have for our well appointed guest rooms and had no complaints.

Thanks for your recommendation. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend and our friend during Nov/2013. They sent a driver to the airport to pick us up and take us to the Hotel. He didn't speak much, but he played modern indian music that we liked very much. The hotel rooms were nice enough, but the staff really shined at this place. Everyone was very sweet and our tour guide, Gopal, was the kindest man we met in India. Gopal was a genuinely nice person and someone I won't forget.

The food here was tasty too! The hotel is not too far from the Ghats (walking it is about 1.2 miles), but there is a LOT of foot traffic and distractions. Of course you can take a rickshaw, or a taxi, but mostly the tuk-tuk is the way to go. We came during the biggest Hindu festival of the year, and it was busy. None the less we still made it down to the Ghats and got around just fine. He only thing is that the Hotel is sort of removed from the "main" thing people come to see, which is the Ghats. But if you want a nice, removed place to rest after a day at the ghats and sites eeing, then this is the place. They also have great tours, and the first one we took in India, was with Gopal. It's a pretty one on one tour, so I felt like a friend was showing us around his town, which I thought was great.

Anyway, Thank you so much for the stay and hospitality.

Room Tip: There is a small room up on the roof, which has a rooftop "garden" and chairs where you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Eli M,

Thank you for taking time to share your kind feedback on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful.

We hope to welcome you back to provide you our enhanced service on your next visit.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hotel Buddha is really nice place to stay in Varanasi. The staff is very polite and helpful. They were ready to check anything and organise whatever you want. Always ready to help. Food in the hotel is really good as well. I can recommend this hotel to stay. I visited it in October. Please check the exact position on map as the location on internet is not accurate.

Room Tip: Me and a friend of mine had a twin en-suite room on the first floor. In my opinion all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arkadiusz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Arkadiusz M,

Thank you for the kind review provided! It gives us great pleasure in knowing that we have managed to meet your expectations and hope that you and your friend enjoyed restful stay with us.

Thank you also for acknowledging our staff on their great work and we couldn’t have asked for more.We hope that you will consider us again in the future and we will see you again soon.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I visited Varanasi as a part of my Kumbh mela trip.The hotel was nice however approach is quite bad.If you are staying for more than one day it is annoying to take the ill kept road.there was no water in the room & when i asked for it they, got mineral water for which they tried to charge while i was checking out.staff at the reception were very helpful & pleasant

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Harini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaVaranasi, Manager at Hotel Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Harini B,

Thanks for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.We have used your experience as a learning tool We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and found our staffs friendly.

Namaste,
Hotel Buddha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,209 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
2.1 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#11 of 79 in Varanasi
275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buddha

Address: C - 26/35 Ramkatora Lahurabir | Near Lahurabir Crossing, Behind Lahurabir Petrol Pump, Varanasi 221001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $39 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buddha 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Varanasi, the hotel offers variety of luxurious rooms and suites for a comfortable stay. We serve a range of cuisine and provide our guests with an exclusive travel desk to design exciting tour plans. The facilities and quality of service we deliver makes us an equivalent to a 3 star hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Buddha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing