We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Buddha(Varanasi)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$98
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$48
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$30
$27
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$62
$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ganpati Guest House(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
$22
$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Alka(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
$12
$10
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
143
36
10
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
36
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseother guestschapatigreat rooftophome from homean oasisbit hard to findstayed longercalm placetop floorprivate bathroomold citythe wi fivaranasi experienceother travelersnon acindian food
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 192 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and cozy hostel!!
The breakfast is very poor but the lunch is great!
Location is perfect: just in the middle of the Ghats (just by the Munxi ghat).
Highly recommended.
Don't miss the sunrise boat trip (and if you are more than 5 people don't pay more than 50 rs pp).
Enjoy Varanasi!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerenandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A really good location, such nice food (which you could eat off of the immaculately clean floors) and staff and awesome place to meet other travellers. I would just waste time expanding on all the other positive reviews already submitted, so I'll keep it brief and say that your money will not be wasted staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneFishing81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was recommended to me by a friend and I was going to Varanasi with 2 others for a weekend. From arriving at Rambhavan with uncomplicated and good, yet not too detailed directions till the point when we left we kept telling ourselves how nice the place was. The experience at Ram Bhavan was an integral part of our experience and trip to Varanasi. Highly recommend it for travellers who aren't looking for a posh hotel with staff waiting on them. This is a place to meet other travellers!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anandkoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

i foolishly write a review explaining this awesome guest house, posted it under the name of Shiva guesthouse. i got really confused. mujhe maaf kadho..

stayed for 2 nights in Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence.. i instantly fall to its charm.. such a gem, quiet, and very near to Rani Ghat.. stayed in a room with 4 ladies ( we are a group of 2 Malaysian, 1 Indonesian, and 1 Japanese).. our room was located within a room, where men accommodates the outer room.. ..shared a communal toilet with others.. the toilet was very clean and i love the rustic feature of it.

each floor has strong wifi signal, and you can even skype here.. thats just amazing!!!!
the rooftop restaurant was great, absolutely one of the best coffee that i've ever tasted during my 2 weeks journey in India..

after traveling over 2 weeks, crossing 3 states (bengal, bihar, uttar pradesh), stayed at 9 different hotels/guesthouse/lodgings, this has to be the best place that i had stayed so far.. wonderful experience, great service, just like home

at night, we had special discussion about heritage conservation and its challenges in Varanasi with the lady of the house. amazing residence, with inspiring people.. truly memorable..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadiah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our journey to Varanasi started on date 8th April first a little apprehensive about staying at an unconventional lodging other than our kids or us our used to.
But then the stay at Ram Bhawan wash really a stay where we did not miss any trapping of a luxury hotel.
Ram Bhawan did simply envelope us with all its charm. First the staff particularly Mangla didi was extremely warm in her hospitality,Her brother Amarnath was very helpful in suggesting routes and providing valuable tips.
To top it all Fausto was very responsive in his response on the mail and explained everything in detail about the trip. My wife had a good interaction with Vrinda who being a fellow Kashmiri pandit was helpful in making us feel us at home.
Thanks Ram Bhawan staff for the help.
Only one negativity, the timing of Filo cafe should be for the whole day so that one can enjoy something good to eat.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the third floor they are the best.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PraveenRaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews