We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of Varanasi !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence
Ranked #13 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
k.terengganu, malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gem of Varanasi !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

stayed for 2 nights in Shiva guest house.. i instantly fall to its charm.. such a gem, quiet, and very near to Rani Ghat.. stayed in a room with 4 ladies (2 Malaysian, 1 Indonesian, and 1 Japanese).. our room was located within a room, where men accommodates the outer room.. .. hared a communal toilet with others.. the toilet was very clean and i love its design..

each floor has its own wifi signal, and you can even skype here.. thats just amazing!!!!
the rooftop restaurant was great, absolutely one of the best coffee that i've ever tasted during my 2 weeks journey in India..

after traveling over 2 weeks, crossing 3 states (bengal, bihar, uttar pradesh), stayed at 9 different hotels/guesthouse/lodgings, shiva has to be the best place that i had stayed so far.. wonderful experience, great service, just like home

Room Tip: there are many types of rooms.. there are rooms for single traveller (4th floor), family bedroom wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadiah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    32
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
34
65
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here on a friend's recommendation and was not disappointed. The Indo-italian family who helped start the place were really friendly and informative and the entire vibe was really welcoming and comforting. And that doesn't even take into account the food, which was AMAZING. The best food and stay we had in all of India. The only bad thing about it is that Varanasi was our first stop, so nothing else after in all of India could even hope to compare. If you're someone who travels to India often, and in particular Varanasi, just go ahead an apply for the lifetime membership to the Society, it's well worth it. Can't say enough good things.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adhaglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have some mixed feelings about this place. It is very peaceful and quite, the dorm room was quite nice and there is a nice coffee place at the rooftop, but somehow the atmosphere gave me the chills. I did not feel the travelers atmosphere I was looking for and to me it seems more a place for long stayers than for people who visit the city just a few days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannes-el-viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Not having stayed anywere else in Varanasi, i still think that this might be the best place to stay. The people working there are nice, and the place seems to atrackt nise guests as well. If i go back to Varanasi this is the place i will be staying.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vegard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Friends recommended this guest house to us and it was more than welcoming when we arrived after 26 hours of travel from Nepal. Despite being misplaced in the en-suite room and having to rush out of my shower to change into the correct (smaller) room, we still had a wonderful stay.

The food was delicious, fellow guests in the common areas were always friendly and happy to talk about their experiences in India (and elsewhere)!

As I got sick my last night there (from some bad sugar cane juice) and there wasn't anyone checking into our room, they let us check out late as well. LIFE-SAVERS.

This was one of (if not THE) our favorite places to stay in nearly three months of travel around Asia. We felt safe, it was quiet, and everyone was so friendly.

One small note: I took the yoga class one morning, and unless you're used to private classes, I would reconsider taking a class here. The instructor was very nice, but didn't practice the yoga with me, instead sat and told me what to do. I prefer seeing what I should do as I'm not as advanced, but maybe more advanced yoga people would like this method.

Room Tip: The en suite room with the bathroom seemed like the best one. It made our room without the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thiskentuckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the ensuite room on the top floor, our room is quite old also the decoration as well, the bathroom is small, there is a flush toilet but no seat on it, AC worked fine when there was an electricity. Overall, it is still the top choice budget guesthouse in old town of Varanasi, also the cleanliess at this place is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kafkaferdinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaisalmer, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great place. Very clean. Staff is very nice and helpful. The food that is included in the price is amazing. The top roof is great and has a lovely cafe. It has a reliable internet connection. The best place to stay in Varanasi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juju724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 77 in Varanasi
1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 77 in Varanasi
2,071 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 77 in Varanasi
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 77 in Varanasi
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 77 in Varanasi
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#24 of 77 in Varanasi
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence

Property: Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence
Address: Munshi Ghat D 20/21 | Old Varanasi, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ram Bhavan is the hospitality structure of the Kautilya Society. A four floor building architected in a traditional style in the historical area near Dashashwamedh Ghat, with a terrace with a wonderful view on the river and the city. It is the residential facility for members in Varanasi, providing accommodation with half board and lodging throughout the year. At Ram Bhavan members can enjoy the warmth and protection of a family-style environment, as well as the good and reliable meals of our personally-trained cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ram Bhawan Kautilya Society Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing