We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right in the heart of the city”
Review of Mohan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mohan Hotel
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Lucknow
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“right in the heart of the city”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

this place is 150 mts from the railway station so its very convenient to stay here...rooms are good, food is very tasty and authentic lucknowi cuisine..the manager Sajjat is very helpful..but the place is situated in a very busy area so dont expect too good a view..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmehamalhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohanHotel, Manager at Mohan Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2016
Thanks for the feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    21
    10
    17
See reviews for
13
10
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked to stay at Hotel Mohan, based on a few good recent reviews saying it was the best budget(ish) place to stay in Lucknow, though noting reviews said it was either very good or very bad, and hoping for the first.

We booked through hostelworld and when we arrived at the hotel the staff had no record of our booking on their own system. Probably because we only booked online 36 hours before, and so the system hadn't been updated, but still, time enough to sort their admin. We had to push for them to search for our booking as they would have happily ushered us back out into the street by the receptionist on at the time if we'd have let him... Eventually the manager gave us the ok and we were shown up to our room.

We had booked and paid for a triple room but it transpired this was a double bed and a mattress on the floor. Which obviously wasn't in the room, since they weren't expecting us, so we had to wait for it to be delivered for some time. We then had to call up for the third item of everything. You'd think the got the idea and would bring everything we were likely to need, but we had to phone every time we found something else we needed the third of. I wasn't too upset about the mattress, but I was hoping not to have a ground level bed.

The actual double bed, however, was apparently deliciously soft. The walls of the room were scuffed and stained. The AC, while effective, was very noisy and seemed rather old. The bathroom had a sink (with no plug), toilet and shower which all worked well, and there were numerous useful pegs for hanging things. Wifi was only available in the lobby but there were sofas available to sit on while we accessed the Internet.

We were attempting to book our onward journeys and struggling - when we asked for help from staff they were reluctant to do anything despite the fact the hotel leaflet said they provided travel booking services. Eventually, some staff took pity on us and helped us to directly call travel companies for a small fee. I felt though, it was more because they wanted us to leave and could see it was the only way they would get us to go.

Laundry service was good but took several attempts to get the laundry returned to us. The restaurant was large and well staffed but the bar had no cocktails and no non-alcoholic drinks - we had to get them to open some fruit juice from breakfast for us. Meal portions were generous but somewhat expensive. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was adequate.

The location was good as it is walking distance from the station, but rickshaw drivers do not seem to know the place despite what it says in previous reviews. All in all, it was a safe haven in a busy city, with a lot of potential to be good. A change in attitude of the reception staff and waiters could completely alter the whole experience and the hotel could do with a lick of paint. The porters however were lovely.

I don't know if there are better places at this price in Lucknow. I'm sure it's a great place for local businessmen to stay, but it's not a travellers hotel. I would simply recommend you try somewhere else, it can't be much worse for service, though the rooms are good once you're in them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe99982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohanHotel, Manager at Mohan Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2016
We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. We have rectified our quality and services. We look forward to provide you a comfortable stay in future. Thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucknow hotels

Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for only one night thankfully. The desk staff were the most rudest and unhelpful bunch of men I encountered in the whole of India. The porters however were lovely. The room was expensive, we only given the option of an executive room. The room was ok if a bit grimy. We couldn't get any room service as it was closed. They slipped our breakfast slip through our door at some point during the night so we missed "the included in the price" breakfast.
As two female travellers we asked for some assistance to get a train booked but the desk staff told us to come back in two hours when it would be done, two hours later we returned and surprise surprise they had done nothing and didn't seem to care one way or another about it.
There are plenty of other places to stay in Lucknow, I suggest you go to them and NOT here.

Room Tip: Choose one at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TazHugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohanHotel, Manager at Mohan Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2016
We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your last stay with us. We have rectified our quality and services. We look forward to provide you a comfortable stay in future. Thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Two friends and I booked to stay at Hotel Mohan for two nights. We had booked through hostel world and when we arrived at the hotel the staff had no record of our booking on their own system. Eventually someone gave us the ok and we were shown up to our room.

We had asked for a triple room but it transpired this was a double bed and a mattress on the floor. The bed, however, was deliciously soft. The walls of the room were scuffed and stained. The AC, while effective, was very noisy and seemed rather old. The bathroom had a sink (with no plug), toilet and shower which all worked well, and there were numerous useful pegs for hanging things. Wifi was only available in the lobby and there were sofas available to sit on while we accessed the Internet. We were attempting to book our onward journeys and struggling - when we asked for help from staff they were reluctant to do anything despite the fact the hotel leaflet said they provided travel booking services. Eventually, some staff took pity on us and helped us to directly call travel companies for a small fee.

Laundry service was good but took several attempts to get the laundry returned to us. The restaurant was large and well staffed but the bar had no cocktails and no non-alcoholic drinks - we had to get them to open some fruit juice from breakfast for us. Meal portions were generous but somewhat expensive. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was adequate.

The location was good as it is walking distance from the station, but rickshaw drivers do not seem to know the place. All in all, it was a safe haven in a busy city, with a lot of potential to be good. The staff could be more helpful and the hotel could do with a lick of paint.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohanHotel, Manager at Mohan Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2016
We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. We have rectified our quality and services. We look forward to provide you a comfortable stay in future. Thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in May 2013. This hotel is fabulous! The decor and facilities are lovely and the staff was amazing! They all go out of their way to make your stay perfect and nothing is too much trouble. You don't have to be there long before all the staff are aware of your general preferences. You're guaranteed to feel like a VIP.The standards of hygiene are very high. Room service experience is awesome. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully furnished. Seems like the rooms were recently renovated.

The Concierge desk, staffed by very capable people, is always helpful and resourceful.

A great location in central Lucknow, near many sights. A good business as well as leisure hotel. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohanHotel, Manager at Mohan Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2016
Thank you for a wonderful feedback. We are looking forward to serve you again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanbad, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

good services and cleanliness in the room. services is quite good and food is delicious.... one can stay during their visit to lucknow. Staffs were cooperative and well behaved. in short hotel is good to visit for family couple as well as for business purposes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prem26bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohanHotel, Manager at Mohan Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2016
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I visited the hotel on a business trip .. it is a not a good hotel .. its normal or standard rooms does not have a LCD .. only the executive room has in which i stayed .. the person sitting at the reception was very rude and also not able to keep his words for discounts and other things ..
they were charging Service change on Full Food bill amount .. but as per the Govt... rules it should be charged on VAT only .. still i had a very rude experience with the reception staff . waiters are good .. room service was slow... hotel is good only if you want to stay near railways station ....

Room Tip: ONLY executive room are good rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohanHotel, Manager at Mohan Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2016
We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. We have rectified our quality and services. We look forward to provide you a comfortable stay in future. Thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arjun International
Hotel Arjun International
#53 of 86 in Lucknow
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#49 of 86 in Lucknow
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel SSJ International
Hotel SSJ International
#55 of 86 in Lucknow
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Orchid
Hotel Golden Orchid
#25 of 86 in Lucknow
61 reviews
6.4 mi away
B P Guest House
B P Guest House
#12 of 86 in Lucknow
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Lucknow
Golden Tulip Lucknow
#13 of 86 in Lucknow
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohan Hotel

Property: Mohan Hotel
Address: A.P. Sen Road Crossing | Charbagh, Lucknow 226004, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow District > Lucknow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Lucknow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mohan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing