We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DID OVERBOOKING OF HOTEL AND WE NEED TO SHIFT TO NEXT HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Simla Palace

Hotel Simla Palace
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Simla Palace
Ranked #61 of 98 Hotels in Lucknow
Reviewed February 25, 2011

we are on family trip and did the booking over phone to this hotel , but found on arrival that hotel is overbooked and we need to find another hotel , we felt at one moment that we were cheated to say that rooms are there , and then they showed us another hotel affiltied to them which was inside the business center.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
6  Thank shubh_srivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 34 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2011

My wife and myself stayed in this so called Palace in early November 2010. The hotel IS near the railway station and in a very busy commercial area. The hotel did arrange a pick up which was on time. This is a "budget" hotel so we were not expecting 5 star. The good points of the hotel was that the staff were helpful and the front of the hotel was clean. There is a taxi service available at a reasonable price. There is also a restaurant at the side of the Hotel which only serves vegetarian food. This food was very good and tasty and not expensive. BUT the hotel could do with a damn good clean. 1)Our room, at the front of the hotel, was relatively quiet but shabby and down right dirty. The dark blue carpet should have been light blue. No wonder the bottoms of our feet were always black.The carpet needs a good scrubbing with soap and water. 2)The menu card for the restaurant was torn and tatty not inspiring confidence in the cleanliness of the restaurant below. 3)One of the staff asked for a tip on ALL occasions he saw us even if he opened a door for us his hand automatically went out then complained that any tip was "Not enough". 4)but by far the most off putting issue about this hotel was the open lift shaft which was nearly completely covered with orange "spit" deposit presumably from the discussing Indian habit of chewing tobacco then spitting out the residue.
If these four issues are addressed and acted on and the lift shaft cleaned and painted then The Simla Place MIGHT be more attractive to western visitors .

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dezzagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

1) Service: the check in took me ages. i had a confirmed booking made a while back, yet when i reached i was told my room was being prepared and would take half an hour. when i requested for another room to freshen up, i was told there was no other room. room service is horrible - food takes ages to come, and wet towels are left on your bed to dry.

2) Room: the rooms are really small - as soon as you enter, you can walk in a single file around your bed and thats it!! the air conditioning is really loud as well!

3) Location: near the railway station, pretty accessible, however Lucknow's not a huge city.

4) Food: Hotel food is strictly okay, and i generally eat out as there are many other restaurants which are famous for their kebabs and biryanis.

5) Overall experience: probably the worst hotel i have stayed at... would never go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashishmedhora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

we had a very plesant &memorable stay for 4 days.Calm surrounding,pollution free atmosphere, excellent natural scenary can be viewed.The place is really beautiful and the view is breathtaking. Above all, the hospitality offered is something to be cherished forever. The food is homely and the service is excellent.Its really awesome and pleasant hotel.its a good place for honey moon .The place where this hotel is located is good connection to railway station. Overall it is a good and wonderful experience for me staying in this hotel.I would definitely love to go back again more.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SATISHKUMAR812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I was here for 4 days and I completely loved this hotel for its simple yet impressive service. The rooms were very clean and the bed sheets etc were well laundered. The staff was very polite and friendly especially the manager. I would definitely love to go back again

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sajanjiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

my stay at this hotel was a very good experience. Main thing that counts it the location of the hotel, it is very near to the Railway Station so its very convenient to reach this place. The food quality is good. No non-vegetarian food served but that not a big problem. Overall satisfied with the quality and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamratBaweja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Hotel is very near to Lucknow railway station and also is a neat and clean one. The food is very delicious but only serves vegetarian food it was bit problematic as i am a pure non-vegetarian. Overall it was a good stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raj_loverboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Charans International
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monarch Inn
Hotel Monarch Inn
#68 of 98 in Lucknow
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#52 of 98 in Lucknow
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Deep Avadh
Deep Avadh
#71 of 98 in Lucknow
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohan Hotel
Mohan Hotel
#38 of 98 in Lucknow
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galaxy International Hotel
Galaxy International Hotel
#70 of 98 in Lucknow
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simla Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simla Palace

Address: 5 Hotel Simla Palace Gautam Budh Marg | Latouche Road, Lucknow 226001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow District > Lucknow
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 98 Hotels in Lucknow
Price Range: $19 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Simla Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SHIMLA PALACE is located in the heart of capital city, Uttar Pradesh in close proximity to Lucknow Railway Station, committed to best, personalized hospitalities at very affordable price. Accessibility: *1 km. from Lucknow Railway Station *13 km. from Lucknow Airport *11 km from Aminabad *2.5 km. from Hazratganj *2 Minutes walk from biggest chicken cloth market of Asia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Simla Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing