We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Simla Palace

Hotel Simla Palace
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Simla Palace
Ranked #62 of 86 Hotels in Lucknow
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Hotel is decent and professional, looks a spacious and star property atleast from outside, located right on main road but still calm from inside. They have contacts with many auto drivers and autos are always waiting just outside the hotel, and manager was more than happy to fix the rate. I went to Gomti nagar by auto in decent fare. They have own car too. So, as a budget traveller one will like. I had booked Luxury Room by makemytrip in 1324/-. Room was average in size (neither big nor small), with LCD TV, window AC, double bed, dressing table, chair, Almirah. bathroom was spacious, clean, western style with geyser. Towel, soap was there. They provided good B/F (paid)....So, its a good hotel, though you will get other decent hotels too (mainly around railway station) in 1324/- for single person....

Room Tip: Will not recommend to go below the level of Luxury Room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heavenindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
4
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
AHMEDABAD
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I used to stay in Hotel Tulip Inn One of the best hotel in Lucknow, but could not find accommodation due to last minute Travel plan to Lucknow

Hotel is centrally located with near to Tulip inn only. From Outside you will find this hotel very attractive -but once you entered in hotel you will find special feature of this Hotel.
ROOMS ARE REALLY SPACIOUS and wooden carvings

service is good and i stayed here in nawabi style-Worth to stay

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-k-Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Was there unplanned and without any booking - so checked hotels on the street went through three or four of its neighbouring hotels - this one is the best one in that street. i stayed in room 303 - and was kinda surprised as it was spotless - all over lucknow you can see hotels spotted with red spit stains and its yuck!. But this one was a nice change and the shower was working as well - which is actually asking a bit too much from a budget hotel in UP.
Down side is that it served Vegtarian food only - and the room was small but still good enough for 2 people :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rakshit Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

we are on family trip and did the booking over phone to this hotel , but found on arrival that hotel is overbooked and we need to find another hotel , we felt at one moment that we were cheated to say that rooms are there , and then they showed us another hotel affiltied to them which was inside the business center.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shubh_srivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucknow hotels

St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My wife and myself stayed in this so called Palace in early November 2010. The hotel IS near the railway station and in a very busy commercial area. The hotel did arrange a pick up which was on time. This is a "budget" hotel so we were not expecting 5 star. The good points of the hotel was that the staff were helpful and the front of the hotel was clean. There is a taxi service available at a reasonable price. There is also a restaurant at the side of the Hotel which only serves vegetarian food. This food was very good and tasty and not expensive. BUT the hotel could do with a damn good clean. 1)Our room, at the front of the hotel, was relatively quiet but shabby and down right dirty. The dark blue carpet should have been light blue. No wonder the bottoms of our feet were always black.The carpet needs a good scrubbing with soap and water. 2)The menu card for the restaurant was torn and tatty not inspiring confidence in the cleanliness of the restaurant below. 3)One of the staff asked for a tip on ALL occasions he saw us even if he opened a door for us his hand automatically went out then complained that any tip was "Not enough". 4)but by far the most off putting issue about this hotel was the open lift shaft which was nearly completely covered with orange "spit" deposit presumably from the discussing Indian habit of chewing tobacco then spitting out the residue.
If these four issues are addressed and acted on and the lift shaft cleaned and painted then The Simla Place MIGHT be more attractive to western visitors .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dezzagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

1) Service: the check in took me ages. i had a confirmed booking made a while back, yet when i reached i was told my room was being prepared and would take half an hour. when i requested for another room to freshen up, i was told there was no other room. room service is horrible - food takes ages to come, and wet towels are left on your bed to dry.

2) Room: the rooms are really small - as soon as you enter, you can walk in a single file around your bed and thats it!! the air conditioning is really loud as well!

3) Location: near the railway station, pretty accessible, however Lucknow's not a huge city.

4) Food: Hotel food is strictly okay, and i generally eat out as there are many other restaurants which are famous for their kebabs and biryanis.

5) Overall experience: probably the worst hotel i have stayed at... would never go back there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashishmedhora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

we had a very plesant &memorable stay for 4 days.Calm surrounding,pollution free atmosphere, excellent natural scenary can be viewed.The place is really beautiful and the view is breathtaking. Above all, the hospitality offered is something to be cherished forever. The food is homely and the service is excellent.Its really awesome and pleasant hotel.its a good place for honey moon .The place where this hotel is located is good connection to railway station. Overall it is a good and wonderful experience for me staying in this hotel.I would definitely love to go back again more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SATISHKUMAR812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Charans International
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arjun International
Hotel Arjun International
#53 of 86 in Lucknow
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel SSJ International
Hotel SSJ International
#55 of 86 in Lucknow
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mohan Hotel
Mohan Hotel
#38 of 86 in Lucknow
95 reviews
6.2 mi away
B P Guest House
B P Guest House
#12 of 86 in Lucknow
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Radiant
The Grand Radiant
#40 of 86 in Lucknow
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simla Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simla Palace

Property: Hotel Simla Palace
Address: 5 Hotel Simla Palace Gautam Budh Marg | Latouche Road, Lucknow 226001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow District > Lucknow
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 86 Hotels in Lucknow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Simla Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SHIMLA PALACE is located in the heart of capital city, Uttar Pradesh in close proximity to Lucknow Railway Station, committed to best, personalized hospitalities at very affordable price. Accessibility: *1 km. from Lucknow Railway Station *13 km. from Lucknow Airport *11 km from Aminabad *2.5 km. from Hazratganj *2 Minutes walk from biggest chicken cloth market of Asia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Simla Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing