We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Opportunity Wasted”
Review of Clarks Avadh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarks Avadh
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Lucknow
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Location : Great ,right in middle of city with large lawns and without the noise of city.

Lobby : Well Maintained, though not furnished enough for a lobby meeting during business trip.

Staff : Old world but friendly and responsive.

Restaurant :Gulfam restaurant at the ground floor is good for meals but fails as a coffee shop.Image a hotel in the premium category ( five star they claim) not able to offer a capuchino or latte in this age.

Rooms : Baldy maintained, Bath rooms and fittings show age though staff seem to have done their best trying to keep it clean. Black spots on closed and bath tub betrays its age.

Furniture in the Room : 1.Old age CPT TVs with mostly free to air Channels. English news channel is expecting too much. 2. Upholstery of Chairs in the room are soiled and one would think twice before you would sit ( no other option once you have checked in). 3. 1st Hotel in quite a while that I have stayed that offer only one 500ml bottled water as complementary.

Toiletries : Average, Towels could have been retired few cycles ago.

Overall Not Value for Money , and a disappointment. The owners could have put some of the money they earn back in maintenance of the rooms to get this hotel to match outside upkeep. Maybe they had better use for the money earned. Together with wooden flooring and old world furniture there is an excellent opportunity for this hotel to be much better than what it is today.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buthup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 524 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

I agree with a previous writer in that I would not want to stay anywhere else in Lucknow. Great location for visiting the sights in Lucknow and also quiet which for a light sleeper like me is of paramount importance.
The only slight problem was being charged a rather high fee for internet access.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve22England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We rented out this place for family function and I had to say this is not a 5 star as claimed by the employees. The waiters were not wearing clean dress when asked most of them were trainees. the cake was being served without Tissue papers or without Fork or spoons. The floor was unclean as in the word Unclean . The cutlery was not clean and old. Doors had pain coming off and stains, while the air vents were broken and most of all 2 blue tubs were kept right in the middle of the hall for us to keep out used plates. When I went down to get the directions for the ATM. The staff did not have the courtesy to let the guest speak first, they were busy speaking with each other not the service you seek when you go to a 5 star. A very bad experience for me. I should have booked Taj which would have cost the same and with great service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suyash_dubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Hotel is very close to Hazrat Ganj , Zeenat Mahal and many important colonies . The rooms are spacious . The Hotel is good - but not more than that . Given the limited choice in Lucknow, despite its history and its monuments, I would stay there again. The breakfast needs to be better - especially the bread and the juices fresh . The Indian items are good . The Hotel charges for the Business Centre as well as wi-fi . That is cheapskate-y of them . The shower curtains let the water out .

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

i wouldnt want to stay elsewhere in lucknow, after having stayed here. great food, comfortable rooms, warm service. no complains.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purvi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

at first look it looked good. I expected something of acceptable standards. The room was big enough but not really posh or luxurious. the bathroom was okay too. the bathtub a tad bit too dirty. not very enticing. The shower head could have been used to clean horses it was powerful. their toileteries and towels very very average. The bathrobe and towels felt like they had been used a 1000 times already. the bathtub gave me the itches and i threw it away quickly. hated the bathroom. didn't spend more time than required there.

The room average as said earlier. Tv sucked, the choice of channels was bad and most of them were not clear. called hotel to fix it, no one came ever. the staff was courteous but slow just like the room service. the food okay. the tandoori chicken was quite yummy everything else was okay, eatable.

The curtains in the room were pretty thin so ample light came in the morning to disturb my sleep. The view was nothing great frm any of the rooms. one overlooked the pool and the other a garden area where some functions was going on blaring loud undesirable music.

i won't stay here again as it's not worth it. even while checking out the person at the counter took his own sweet time. i had asked for a taxi which i got after ten minutes wait. even though i told them that i had to rush to the airport they showed no signs of hurry.

Room Tip: Take the pool view which is much better than the other view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The rooms are nicely planned. The room has the necessary ambience and provides the desired comfort. The breakfast has limited choice and needs improvement. There seems to be no arrangement for buffet dinner in the two restaurants in the hotel.The biggest problem faced is during marraiges performed in the hotel wherein the loudspeakers are allowed to run at top of its pitch at least up to 12.30 AM in the morning without caring for the guests staying with them. The service to the residents also gets a second priority during that period.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
2.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
4.6 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Lucknow
1.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Lucknow
Golden Tulip Lucknow
#14 of 94 in Lucknow
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Novotel Lucknow Gomti Nagar
0.6 mi away
La Place Sarovar Portico, Lucknow
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Lucknow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarks Avadh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarks Avadh

Address: 8 Mahatma Gandhi Marg, Lucknow 226001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow District > Lucknow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lucknow
#4 Business Hotel in Lucknow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucknow
Price Range: $87 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarks Avadh 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clarks Avadh Lucknow offers you more than just a stay. Conveniently located right in the side of the palace of the Nawabs and on the bank of river Gomti. Hotel Clarks Avadh has several restaurants serving excellent local and regional Indian and Continental cooking, including the roof top Falaknuma Restaurant. This Lucknow hotel presents you with an opportunity to enjoy traditional "Lucknowi" - The Tehzeeb of the Nawabi Kitchen with its specialty Avadhi cuisine, Fully supported by the business centre and secretariat, this 5 star Lucknow hotel also has conferencing and meeting rooms equipped with all the modern facilities for your successful meetings in Lucknow. The Clarks Avadh Hotel in Lucknow is part of the successful Clarks Hotel Group in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarks Avadh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarks Avadh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing