We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucknow: Avadh Nagri City of Nawabs.”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #53 of 90 Hotels in Lucknow
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lucknow: Avadh Nagri City of Nawabs.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is just 10 min distance from Lucknow City Railway Station ( locally called as Chargbagh).
Located in very busy area hence its an ideal place to stay as far as business travel is considered.
Stayed in both Deluxe & Suites. All the rooms are new deluxe room is equipped with LCD TV, Nice Comfortable Spring Mattresses and must say very courteous staff.Most importantly washroom was very hygienic.
Suites are separated through a sitting room and has an additional huge plasma TV. Food is also very good. Overall I must say decent place as far as business travel is considered.
Drawback limited car parking
Only negative experience , despite confirming well in advance and after getting confirmation about airport drop , the cab did not arrived on time however an alternate was arranged and it made me reach on time.
Do not forget to Visit Bada Imambara ( Monument) and do visit Labyrinth inside Bada-Imambara.
Must visit food joint Tundey Kabab, very famous food joint serves Avadhi Cuisine.These people serves just 5-6 items and only non veg items.The location is very shabby but still I recommend please do not miss this joint it serves” Gilawati Kabab” for which they are famous and im sure you would have never ever tasted such Kabab. Remember this joint serves both Beef & Mutton ( Goat Meat) hence if you are concerned about not eating Beef please ensure u specify before ordering.
Beef is locally called as Bade while Gat Meat is called as Chote. Enjoy Kabab of chote.
Another Place called Tulsi Upwan Specialized for non Vegetarian Avadhi Cuisine is a decent place to sit and enjoy the food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvinashM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
5
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Plus point is the proximity to the railway station & bus station. However, the hotel is in a very crowded place & does not have proper noise insulation. As a result, there is noise everywhere - in the rooms, in the conference hall, during the day & night.
To add to this, I have experienced a very very poor service during my 4 days of stay - rooms are not cleaned everyday (only the bed was made up & towels replaced, but washroom & room not cleaned), toiletries not provided even if finished, basic amenities in conference hall like water & lighting not taken care of etc. etc. Looks like the staff is untrained or does not want to work. Food is average. Leaves you thinking if this is what you expect from Clarks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I just have checked out of The Continental, Lucknow. And I don't have many good things to pen down as I reflect on my two night stay.

But as is the normal practice, let me share the positives first.

Their Restaurant in the 4th Floor is good and food served was hygienic, tasty and the staff I must say were pretty quick, courteous and efficient. There do not seem to be any decent restaurants in the vicinity so it is a good place and saves you from locating one.

I was there for a conference and the 4th floor conference hall was pillar less and well lit. However, the Air Conditioning made a lot of noise.

I used the laundry service which was quite okay-nothing untoward.

Now the not so nice ones.

The location is very close to Railway Station and added to this there is traffic all through the day as well as night which robs you of a peaceful sleep during night. One can constantly hear the sounds of passing vehicles which honk or horns of train. Had they made their windows sound proof, it would have been better. The rooms are quite okay and there is nothing much to write about. There was a mini fridge was empty and since I was a teetotaller it didn't matter to me. The beds were a tad on softer side so expect some health issues. And the curtain in my room could not be opened the Steward tried to and if you are claustrophobic, better check on this aspect.

The shower in the bathroom was not working and throw of the water was bad and very thin. My complaint didn't yield any corrective action.

Telephones don't seem to be working. When I dialled 9 for Reception and told them to keep my bill ready, the guy who picked up said he will do so. But when I reached the Reception, he stated he never got any call from me or my room and started getting my bill ready then which was a bit irritating. This was at 05 a.m.ish in the morning and I am sure you can understand how irritating it can be.

The piece de resistance was the Taxi Service. They wanted a whopping Rs. 750.00 and the reason given was for a morning 5 O'Clock pickup, the Driver will come and be there at the hotel the previous night. Of course I managed to call the Driver of Pre-Paid Cab who dropped me at the Continental and he gladly dropped me back at the airport for Rs.300.00.

I had been to their Clarks Group property near Bangalore Airport and was pretty impressed. But must say it was completely opposite here. Overall, if you ask me would I go back voluntarily to the Continental? May not be unless I hear things have improved.

Room Tip: Check how the showers are working and do the rooms allow natural lighting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLR43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is surrounded by busy roads and there is no sound proofing whatsoever of the windows. Sleeping was difficult!
Bizarrely, the hotel charges for Wi-Fi use and this is quite expensive (550 rupees for 24 hours).
On the plus side, hotel staff is very friendly and serviceable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JuDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Access to the hotel was a nightmare! It was so difficult to drive through those streets. The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming but, the environment and location was very poor. The rooms were clean but the rooms were not sound proof. It basically was like sleeping in "Chandani Chowk". The pillows were so hard I basically ended up with a neck pain the next morning. They claimed to provide Sat TV but, it was only local and we failed to watch the T20 on Star Cricket.
Though the restaurant was claimed to be an exotic one, the food was basic and the buffet was a basic meal with absolutely no choice. All in all a very poor ambiance compared to the reviews. I have however to commend the staff. But, this is no place for a foreign tourist, coz the old city is a way apart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indirakah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

the hotel is very near from the airport and the railway station........well managed banquet......great restaurant....nice conference room...nice spacious rooms and good service the stay was worth every penny....me and my colleagues had a great time...during my stay there was a Banaras festival going on which perfectly illustrated the theme of 'banaras'...from my side its all thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akshay386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Wonderful experience something class apart for a change and being a travel freak its something best I can get in Lucknow. Rooms are comfortable and the staff is friendly and helping. Its just a royal feeling staying at the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Navy Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Lucknow
Golden Tulip Lucknow
#13 of 90 in Lucknow
380 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Golden Orchid
Hotel Golden Orchid
#25 of 90 in Lucknow
61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel India Awadh
Hotel India Awadh
#15 of 90 in Lucknow
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arjun International
Hotel Arjun International
#38 of 90 in Lucknow
10 reviews
6.3 mi away
B P Guest House
B P Guest House
#12 of 90 in Lucknow
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monarch Inn
Hotel Monarch Inn
#64 of 90 in Lucknow
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: 82 / 1, Guru Gobind Singh Marg | Bans Mandi Chauraha, Lucknow 226004, India (Formerly The Continental Clarks Inn)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow District > Lucknow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 90 Hotels in Lucknow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 42 fully appointed spacious rooms have been thoughtfully designed keeping in mind all the modern day luxuries that the cosmopolitan life has to offer. With utmost sensibility and an eye for detail, every room is poised to cater to your every need, when away from home. Equipped with LCD, Free Wi Fi, 24 hr room service and much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing