We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accident at the perfume store”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Lucknow
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Accident at the perfume store”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Grand hotel. Clearly the best by a mile off in Lucknow but they need to lay off the fake scent that seems to be liberally doused all over the place. It's sickening after a while and makes you wonder what they are trying to mask.

Why not get some fresh lillies or jasmine instead?

Staff are friendly but can be a bit over attentive. They need to be a bit more invisible until you need them rather than always coming over to see if everything is okay.

Some of the other guests are rude but that just seems to be accepted.

Overall a lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjb77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    322
    77
    30
    8
See reviews for
153
141
65
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I just love to stay in Taj Lucknow every time I am in Lucknow just for the great service and awesome food. Taj Lucknow probably has one of the best breakfast spreads in India.

Rooms are nice, have everything that you need for a good stay. Prices are a bit on the high side but may be its worth it if one gets to use all the facilities .

Staff is friendly and the manager was there personally to check if everything was fine. Definitely by far the best hotel in Lucknow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JI009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 4th July to 7th July 2013. Arrived at the hotel from Barielly by car. As the hotel is located near the local government offices, there is substantial security – a good thing. At check-in asked the receptionist if I could get an upgrade and was informed that none were available but I would be informed as soon as one became available. That was the last I heard from them as no one came back - not impressed!

The rooms are on three floors, with a basement, ground and first floor. The rooms are of reasonable standard but there is an aroma of dampness as one enters the room!

The hotel has a variety of restaurants – the one located in the lobby offers a buffet. The food offered here is varied and reasonable cost. The staff are very helpful, ready to offer advise about dishes. A good thing that staff tend to stay away from the tables and do not hover! The choice of breakfast is very good and one can get freshly squeezed juice on request.

I needed a taxi on two occasions to visit some offices in the city and it is quite expensive – around 1500 rupees for a journey of around 8kms. It is surprising that the charge is the same for an airport drop!

Checkout did some time though the hotel was informed that I was going to leave at a set time in order to catch a flight. I would suggest checking the bill as got two copies of page one instead of pages 1 and 2 – something that can be an issue if you are going to make a claim.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent service - every issue was dealt with professionally and with a smile!! This makes all the difference to an outsider. The uniforms are impeccable, even when checking in, you didn't have to wait for even five minutes - at once more reps came to the counter. Excellent property - would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohammed_k85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although outwardly opulent, and with cheery staff - nothing went smoothly for the three nights we stayed. First morning we missed our alarm call, broken phone apparently which led to much flustering of engineers, furniture moving and due to a language breakdown our room was not cleaned. Not a barrel of laughs after 5 hot hours sightseeing, to return to an upside down room with no towels. We were allocated another room, well meant but more hassle. One of the managers very kindly offered us a complementary meal in their more formal restaurant to compensate. Wonderful food .... If only I had got it. Although hardly busy, they forgot to place my
order. I had to watch my husband eat his with mine 'coming in 2 minutes' which was actually 20 minutes, by which time I was past hungry.
The final day, our alarm call was 15 minutes late and as if to seal the disappointment, our carefully ordered take away breakfast for 2, was a sad little meal for 1 without the promised fruit.
This place has all the promise of a top class hotel but lacks the follow through. PS, clean the pool as it has a froth of dirt floating on the surface.
Rooms are well appointed, if everything works, and the breakfast was great. They just need to take more care of the details.

Room Tip: End of the corridors are probably quietest. Don't rely on the wake up call!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonludditelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel, it was a super experience by me & my wife.
The staff is so good, they can go to any extent to serve you.
Breakfast was excellent.
The booking was managed vey well.
They have provided the discount, which they committed at the time of booking(telephonic)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritesh_Shivaansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

While it may still be the best hotel Lucknow has to offer, the standards of this hotel have drastically taken a hit. The hallways and rooms smell of dampness and while it may be attributed to the monsoon season, one really has no excuse to get this feeling in the rooms in a premium hotel. The rooms badly need touching up since the woodwork has lost its shine, the bed is very low and outdated and the bathroom sink doesnt drain properly. I had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel coffee shop and was left disappoiinted, largely by the service. Food quality and quantity for dinner left me nothing to complain about but the stewards at the coffee shop look disinterested. What is also lacking is the strategy behind the coffee shop. There was a pamphlet present in the room offering Chinese food in the coffee shop and one local stewardess dressed in Chinese attire but no effort made in trying to ''sell'' the Chinese specialities on offer. Staff seemed dead.
Breakfast was worse. The hotel doesnt offer two staples in any breakfast - orange juice and strawberry jam. How on earth is this a five star buffet (actually how on earth is it even a breakfast buffet??) without these two things? One thing I also didnt understand is offering ''Maggie'' noodles in the buffet. The hotel should firstly not be mentioning brands on its food list and leaving that aside, Maggie noodles and premium dining in the same sentence....enough said. Either things need to change dramatically here or once a competitior comes into the Lucknow market, I'll be heading there next time I visit the city of nawabs.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the marble swimming pool. Avoid rooms on the 1st floor (level below the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
2.5 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Lucknow
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucknow Hotel
2.4 mi away
Clarks Avadh
Clarks Avadh
#5 of 91 in Lucknow
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Lucknow
Golden Tulip Lucknow
#12 of 91 in Lucknow
380 reviews
2.9 mi away
Novotel Lucknow Gomti Nagar
1.9 mi away
La Place Sarovar Portico, Lucknow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
Address: Vipin Khand, Lucknow 226010, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow District > Lucknow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucknow
#1 Spa Hotel in Lucknow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucknow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a new wow in Uttar Pradesh's capital city. Just 8 km from the railway terminus and a mere 20 km from the airport. On the banks of the river Gomti. Right in the heart of Lucknow's business and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow Hotel Lucknow
Taj Residency Lucknow
Hotel Taj Residency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing