We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Lucknow
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with attention to detail”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed at the Taj Vivanta for five nights and it was an excellent choice. The room was very spacious on the second floor (no need to use the elevator) with a very nice bathroom and plenty of space to work in. It is right across the street from one of the new monumental parks that the Governor of Uttar Pradesh has put in and is spectacular to see especially at night. The breakfast is included in the room price ($200 with discount included) for a king bedroom is a steal and well worth it. The quality of the food is equally good in the simple restaurant near the lobby. I did not go into the fancy one that is also there. There were many wedding receptions while we were there (the week after Diwali). The people who run the hotel are responsive and quick to deal with any issues, indeed the manager is especially interested in keeping everyone very happy and has instilled a sense of high professionalism in all levels of staff there. I appreciate that kind of attention when traveling. A friend of ours in our party slipped and injured her knee on a site seeing tour and when we returned to the hotel, she was instantly offered a wheel chair and a doctor appeared within minutes. The details of the hotel are very well done such as the magnificent marble staircases and the inlaid marble floors that seem to be everywhere. You put up a laundry notice on your door and within minutes you hear a subtle knock on the door with the earnest laundry man inquiring about your needs. When returned, the clothes look new and are packaged as if you just got home from the store. You do not get this kind of service at just any hotel. There is a reason it is so highly ranked. The garden is nice and large but they need to pay attention to the quality of the water in the swimming pool. It was a bit murky and not inviting at all to anyone who wants to be able to see the bottom as if there is no water at all (very easy to do if you know what you are doing). I watched them clean it every morning from our room window ( as staff of perhaps 5), but I think some investment in the filtering system is in order. The water should be crystal clear given the status of this hotel. I would have given it an excellent rating, except for a mishap with their chauffeurs who replace taxi men who are really not allowed to line up outside the establishment. My wife took one of these hotel supplied "taxis" and was assured that they knew where they were going, when in fact they did not and she got lost in Lucknow searching for the conference site where I was. It took almost an hour for a ten-minute trip. The manager later apologized for the incident, but I think that they should screen their drivers more thoroughly in the future. In the end it was well worth the money and provided an enjoyable backdrop to the conference I was attending.

Room Tip: I only saw two rooms on the first and second floors and they were identically the same, so I think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaleRachmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    320
    75
    30
    8
See reviews for
151
140
64
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Situated at the most post area of Lucknow, Vivanta is the best place to stay in Lucknow. Our room are spacious and well decorated and was facing the pool. Food is amazing and the staff helped us with some special Lucknowi items including kababs.
The garden is beuatuful and large and in the morning we used to hit the gym.
If you have money in your pocket (ours was sponsered by co), do definately stay at Taj Vivanta....you will remember it forever.

Room Tip: Rooms are great and service excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debapriyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel has been decorated very tastefully. It gives you the feel of staying in the palace. The food is good. I just felt in love with the property and the decor. Lobby is beautiful.
It is a big hotel and the rooms are spacious. The staff if very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henna4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Taj at Lucknow reeks with the andaaz. The famous Lucknowi andaaz. You have to go there to feel it and believe in it. Food is great . Never forget to try the kebab's. Its a delight to be there. Definitely looking forward to go there again.Taj at Lucknow reeks with the andaaz. The famous Lucknowi andaaz. You have to go there to feel it and believe in it. Food is great . Never forget to try the kebab's. Its a delight to be there. Definitely looking forward to go there again.Taj at Lucknow reeks with the andaaz. The famous Lucknowi andaaz. You have to go there to feel it and believe in it. Food is great . Never forget to try the kebab's. Its a delight to be there. Definitely looking forward to go there again.Taj at Lucknow reeks with the andaaz. The famous Lucknowi andaaz. You have to go there to feel it and believe in it. Food is great . Never forget to try the kebab's. Its a delight to be there. Definitely looking forward to go there again.

Room Tip: corner room are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brijeshnegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My family and I have recently completed an 18-day tour of northeastern India. After our stop at the Oberoi Grand in Kolkata, we were a little concerned about the quality of accommodation once we got to Lucknow, but that fear quickly went away when we first caught glimpse of the Vivanta by Taj Gomti Nagar in Lucknow.
The building looks like a palace from its domed roof to the white facade of the building. Once again, we were greeted by very friendly staff. We were greeted and helped by one of the hotel's managers (I think she was a manager) and we were treated like family.
The Vivanta has two restaurants — Latitude (à la carte and buffet) and Oudhyana. The staff in Latitude were hard-working and made sure we had everything we needed. You only had to mention you wanted coffee once and they were at the ready to make sure you had enough. On the first night, we ate at Oudhyana, which specializes in Awadhi and North Indian cuisine. Here, our chef came to our table and personally recommended some of his favourites and cooked us a custom-made dinner which was amazingly delicious.
The hotel itself is amazing. The rooms are very large and the grounds opulent.
I must note that one of the night door men took time from his duties to point out the flora and fauna of the hotel and the best angles for photography as I'm a photo buff.
Well worth the money to stay at Lucknow's best hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Nice big rooms, lovely food and very firendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Recommended by friends and family as ideal for a short weekend getaway, this converted royal residence delivered pretty much all that it promised. Starting with the stately entrance and the efficient check-in, our experience was that of a well-run, elegant heritage property under professional management.

The lush green expanse of garden with a sweet little lake was a visual treat.

The buffet meals were terrific.

The gym and spa lived up to expectations - the only disappointment was the non-availability of tennis racquets.

The little oak-panelled reading area and book collection in the business centre was a pleasant surprise.

The tour guide was informative and knowledgeable, with insights into history, culture and architecture that transcended what one typically gets in tourist towns.

As for location - the property is far from the town and main attractions, but a small mall and movie theatre a few minutes walk away provide some options for dining out and entertainment.

All in all, well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Stay on Level 2 or 3 for a better view of the rich greenery all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixie0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
2.5 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Lucknow
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucknow Hotel
2.4 mi away
Clarks Avadh
Clarks Avadh
#5 of 86 in Lucknow
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Lucknow
Golden Tulip Lucknow
#13 of 86 in Lucknow
380 reviews
2.9 mi away
Novotel Lucknow Gomti Nagar
1.9 mi away
La Place Sarovar Portico, Lucknow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
Address: Vipin Khand, Lucknow 226010, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow District > Lucknow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucknow
#1 Spa Hotel in Lucknow
#1 Business Hotel in Lucknow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a new wow in Uttar Pradesh's capital city. Just 8 km from the railway terminus and a mere 20 km from the airport. On the banks of the river Gomti. Right in the heart of Lucknow's business and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow Hotel Lucknow
Taj Residency Lucknow
Hotel Taj Residency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing