We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3-star (or worse) experience at 4/5 star prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Lucknow
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Lucknow
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Tulip - sorry, Tulip Inn (recently converted to 4-star Golden Tulip which is essentially a new building adjacent to the 2/3-star old inn) - for 2 nights and were completely disappointed. The list is endless: 1) we were asked to stay in the old Tulip Inn building saying that the new building is not operational - which we later found out was up and running and was being offered to only foreigners. 2) My room was stinking when i entered for the first time as if someone had smoked prior to my entry - even though it was a non-smoking room! The floors were stained and dirty - making the entire appearance disgusting. 3) The AC was not functioning properly and was stuck at a very high temperature. 4) The cable was automatically switching off and on during our stay - and there was no redressal to our complaints. 5) Service was poor during breakfast - we ordered for tea and it did not arrive for at least 10 mins - eventually, we had to leave w/o it. Overall, I recommend to avoid this hotel as it tries to fleece Indian travelers in the name of a 4/5 star property. Only if they promise you a room in the new building, you might eventually manage a better experience.

Room Tip: Probably, some rooms in the new building might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanat_Satyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipLucknow, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Lucknow, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings From Hotel Golden Tulip, Lucknow !!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience faced at our hotel.

Thanks for the feedback. we would like to assure you that we have already acted on the feedback and the rectifications has been done.

It is very much true that the new wings is not yet ready to stay, and the guest you have seen staying there were specially requested by us to stay and give feedback, on which we will act and ensure the rooms are in perfect sellable condition before renting. We are yet to open these rooms for selling.

As you said the new rooms once open will be a delight to stay.

We would request you to see this as an isolated incident and stay with us on your next visit to Lucknow. I will personally ensure you a have wonderful stay with us.

Regards,

Sanjay Mukherjee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 396 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

The two night stay (24-25 Oct, 2013) at Tulip Inn (rebranded/upgraded as Golden Tulip) for me was a literal nightmare. The worst part to start off with was that starting from our check in at every point the staffs of the hotels were giving incorrect information.
1. At the time of check-in the front office staff told that the new tower is not functional except for reception. Where as the fact is that the new tower have few better rooms which they give at their own discretion, mostly to foreigners
2. The room AC temperature controller was not working and they were aware of this when they gave me the room. I called the maintenance and front office in the midnight, yet they failed to address this by the second day. They chose to ignore it. As a result, I barely manage to sleep those two nights.
3. Room's TV was not functional at times.
4. When I inserted my mobile charger in the power plug, the plug came out. I was afraid of charging my mobile after that.
5. Wi-Fi was not working.
6. I needed to take print-out of one email attachment. I contacted the staff there. He tried for some time but failed to connect his system to internet. And finally, I walked through the crowded streets in the evening to find a cyber café to take the print-out.

Overall I failed to find a single positives in this hotel. I would strongly urge every fellow travellers to avoid this hotel. It is completely worthless. You may be happier by staying at some smaller and less known hotels.

Room Tip: Despite my terrible review if you are staying at this hotel, ensure that you take rooms in the new t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ask4avinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipLucknow, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Lucknow, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings From Hotel Golden Tulip, Lucknow !!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience your faced at our hotel.

It is very much true that the new wings is not yet ready to stay, and the guest you have seen staying there were specially requested by us to stay and give feedback, on which we will act and ensure the rooms are in perfect sellable condition before renting. We are yet to open these rooms for selling.

We would also like to inform you that very soon we are to start our Club wing with more facilities and latest design.

We would request you to see this as an isolated incident and stay with us on your next visit to Lucknow. I will personally ensure you a have wonderful stay with us.

Regards,

Sanjay Mukherjee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

stayed for a night , the new wing yet to start, so the old wing rooms are old... duh! food was good, try seeekh kebab.... location is gr8! free wifi however didnt work! the staff was good and polite... but somehow i feel the tulip jaipur is far better!!

rest ,, no complaints!

Room Tip: good location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anujdubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipLucknow, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Lucknow, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings From Hotel Golden Tulip, Lucknow !!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you faced at our hotel for the Wifi.

Thanks for your feedback, it will encourage us to work harder to ensure a much better stay for you.

We would also like to inform you that very soon we are to start our Club wing with more facilities and latest design.

Thank you for your continuous patronage towards Golden Tulip, Lucknow. we would like you to stay in our new rooms in your next visit to Lucknow.

Regards,

Sanjay Mukherjee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This Hotel is made recently and is well kept. It is located on the station road and takes about 30 minutes from the airport to reach here. The rooms are of decent size and comfortable . The good part is that Wi-Fi is free which takes care of your connectivity. The food is good and the service is quick. Overall, its a good choice to stay in this hotel if you are on a limited budget.

Room Tip: Select a room on a higher floor away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipLucknow, Manager at Golden Tulip Lucknow, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings From Hotel Golden Tulip Lucknow !!!

We thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting Lucknow.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed and appreciated the standards of service and quality that we strive to provide our esteemed guests.

We would also like to inform you that very soon we are to start our Club wing with more facilities and latest design.

Please do let me know in case you would like anything else to help us make your stay with us an unforgettable experience the next time you visit us at the phone number and email address given below.

We look forward to your continued patronage

Regards,

Sanjay Mukherjee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Hotel is located right on the station road new Burlington in Lucknow. The hotel has one building which is complete and the other one is coming up. Beware of using the lawn as still some construction material is spattered on it.

The Hotel staff is courteous and greets you when you check in. Carry an ID card for Primary as well as secondary guest as they will ask you to show the same while checking in.
Rooms are nice and the washrooms are clean. One recommendation I would have for them is to have bathroom mat outside the washroom.

The buffet breakfast offered is sumptuous and you could fill yourself with choices ranging from North Indian, South Indian and Continental.

All in all a good experience and would surely stay with them again in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abhimishra1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulipLucknow, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Lucknow, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings From Hotel Golden Tulip Lucknow !!!

We thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting Lucknow.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed and appreciated the standards of service and quality that we strive to provide our esteemed guests.

Please accept our sincere appreciation for your suggestions and feedback. Providing Bath Mat is part of our regular amenities, our apologies for not providing you the same.

We would also like to inform you that very soon we are to start our Club wing with more facilities and latest design.

Please do let me know in case you would like anything else to help us make your stay with us an unforgettable experience the next time you visit us at the phone number and email address given below.

We look forward to your continued patronage

Regards,

Sanjay Mukherjee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Tulip Inn Lucknow and enjoyed our stay very much. It was comfortable and very clean. Morning breakfast was great with hot coffee. We liked the nice bathrooms, room linens and cleanliness of the hotel. Food was very tasty and fresh at the restaurants. Parking the vehicle at the hotel was fine and safe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asimabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachit G, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Lucknow, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Lucknow,

We appreciate your feedback. These feedback helps us to perform better.

Thanks and regards

Sanjay Mukherjee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well this is one of your classic 'next to railway station' hotel and don't let the Golden Tulip brand fool you. The hotel rooms are small and cramped with basic facilities. I found the bathroom dirty and even the towels kept were wet (not sure if the washed ones were not dried properly or they just folded up used ones). The breakfast is basic (which is alright) but doesnt look appetizing from any angle, you are better off eating at a coffee shop outside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank regulus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachit G, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Lucknow, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Sir,

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. This is certainly not the level of service and standards we are known for and I understand your disappointment regarding the same. It is to our utmost importance that our guests are comfortable & met with the requirements.

Rest assured, I have personally addressed the issue with the head of the department & concerned person for improvement and to avoid any future disappointments.

We would like to thank you for bringing your valuable concern to our attention and thereby giving us the opportunity to take corrective action.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. This is certainly not the level of service and standards we are known for and I understand your disappointment regarding the same. It is to our utmost importance that our guests are comfortable & met with the requirements.

Rest assured, I have personally addressed the issue with the head of the department & concerned person for improvement and to avoid any future disappointments.

We would like to thank you for bringing your valuable concern to our attention and thereby giving us the opportunity to take corrective action.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucknow hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Levana
Hotel Levana
#9 of 94 in Lucknow
363 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Place Sarovar Portico, Lucknow
11.9 mi away
Ramada Lucknow
Ramada Lucknow
#13 of 94 in Lucknow
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Gomti Nagar, Lucknow
5.0 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Lucknow
1.2 mi away
Clarks Avadh
Clarks Avadh
#5 of 94 in Lucknow
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Lucknow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Lucknow

Address: 6 Station Road, Lucknow 226001, India (Formerly Tulip Inn Lucknow)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Lucknow District > Lucknow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Lucknow
Price Range: $53 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Lucknow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Louvre Hotels Group, 5th largest hotel company in the world, with 6,000 hotels worldwide, offering 6,50,000 rooms across 61 countries is a major player in the global hotel industry which operates a complete portfolio of 6 brands ranging from 1 to 5 stars: Première Classe, Campanile, Kyriad, Tulip Inn, Golden Tulip and Royal Tulip. Louvre Hotels Group is owned by Jin Jiang International Co. Ltd., one of China’s leading travel and tourism conglomerates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Tulip Lucknow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing