We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet area”
Review of Taj Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taj Home Stay
Ranked #79 of 208 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a fairly dated Hotel. As with a lot of budget hotels in India there was no heating, it is needed in January. brrrr.
Our room itself was quite nice with a large shared balcony. the bed was comfortable and there was plenty of clean bedding.
The dining room comprises of one large table with 8 chairs around. the breakfast was quite acceptable and other food was OK. Just OK.
The staff were very nice, friendly, and very helpful.
The hotel is OK for a short stay.

Room Tip: Be carful when standing out on the balcony because there are wild monkeys in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobthebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 174 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

our friend group find this hotel with good amenities and services , good place to stay , booking can be made online and looks different when checked in there with groups . found room little bit dirty but upon calling staffs cleaned them properly. good stay with good experience.

Thank Dhiman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hotel is in a quiet residential area. Budget hotel with just 6-7 rooms. Breakfast is simple and basic without choice. But the staff is friendly and very helpful. Area is safe and good place for single ladies. In house restaurant is OK for emergency eating. A sweet shop on the main road is good for buying water, cold drinks and sweets. But their snacks are not recommended for the westerners. Place is OK for 1-2 nights. Idgah Bus and the railway station are nearby. Railway Locomotives honk a lot and one can hear it in the rooms in the night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This BnB is a cheap and basic option for around $23NZD.

The rooms are large and clean but are rather dark and gloomy.

It is down a quiet road and is away from the busy hustle and bustle of Agra town.

Approximately a 7minute drive to the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiexplorers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed only one night to see the Taj Mahal. We booked through Agoda, so the price was very good (17 EUR). The room they gave us was not, what we expected, but ok for 1 night. The hotel is a big house with 7 rooms, few with balcony, some without . Our was with a very small window. The TV was Ok, WIFI – internet didn t work. The bathroom was ok, hot shower with a courtain. They have a big terrace on the top floor, which unfortunatelly had only few dirty chairs. It would be so nice to sit there in the evening. The breakfast was downstairs in the reception area on the big round table – everybody is sitting together - and was included in the room price (omlete, cofffee, toast). The hotel is in nice, quiet area.

Room Tip: They have some rooms with a balcony - those are good, we stayed ia a room with a small window, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaraindrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at Taj Homestay for two nights in Oct 2013. It was an absolutely wonderful experience as the hotel in very clean, safe and affordable. The accommodation is really a bargain for the price and most importantly the place is just 5 minutes’ drive from Taj Mahal.

The staff at the hotel were very courteous and overall service was very good. Special mention for kitchen and room service as whenever we ordered food we got it in less than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anujzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great location in the quiter Agra residential area, only 10 min from Taj Mahal. Tarun and Staff were most hospitable & informative in helping us plan out car & local sight seeing. Thanks Tarun & all at Taj home stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manoj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
3 mi away
Hotel Amar
Hotel Amar
#33 of 147 in Agra
611 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Avalon Taj
Hotel Avalon Taj
#22 of 147 in Agra
358 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 147 in Agra
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Galaxy
Hotel Taj Galaxy
#38 of 147 in Agra
202 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#28 of 147 in Agra
342 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#66 of 147 in Agra
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Home Stay

Address: 26/3, Old Idgah Colony | Near Idgha Bus Stand, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: $27 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taj Home Stay 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
welcome to the Taj Home Stay expressions of traditional Indian culture and hospitality. The scale of our accommodations allows us to cater your individual needs and wishes. Situated in the heart of Agra, just steps from the main bus stop, five minutes from Agra Cantt Railway Station, two kilometres from Agra Airport and 4 kilometres from the Taj Mahal,Facilites**********¤ All rooms have split Airconditioner of 1.5 ton each.¤ All rooms have attached bathroom with Hansa German fittings, European WC geysers to have hot/cold water, bath tub, standing showers, hair dryer.¤ 21 inches colour television in each room with satellite channels including ESPN, ZEE, BBC, STAR TV, CNN etc.¤ Godrej safety deposit locker in each room.¤ Panasonic key telephone in each room. ¤ Small Electrolux refrigerator in each room.¤ Same day laundry facility.¤ Complimentary buffet breakfast daily.¤ Backup 50 kva generator in case of power failure.¤ Doctor on call.¤ Complimentary welcome drink on checkin.¤ Complimentary tea/coffee in each room anytime desired by clients. Child policy - Children below 07 years would be complimentary with parents or else will be on extra cost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taj Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Home Stay Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing