We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable views, average room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanti Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanti Lodge
Ranked #112 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unbeatable views, average room”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a couple of nights here in May 2013 and our room was o.k. After 4 months in India it was by no means the worst budget experience. The manager was helpful with the basics and of course the views from the rooftop restaurant are enough to keep one happy (although we chose not to eat there because it was a bit overpriced).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bell1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    33
    52
    40
    48
See reviews for
11
64
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We only stayed one night and the room was fine, nothing special really but realistically the price you pay here is for proximity to the Taj. Great view from the roof top restaurant and the food was ok. Not much more to comment on as we were there so briefly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The rooftop restaurant of this hotel has the most amazing views over the Taj Mahal. It's really worth staying here for that. It's also within short walking distance of the Taj Mahal.

As for the hotel it's self it was a good price and our room was very clean (as we arrived very early, we actually saw the cleaner hard at work cleaning it for us), our bed was comfortable and we had no problems. It's a very secure hotel too, and offers a laundry service.

I'm reading some of the other reviews and wondering how they survived India. This is a budget hotel in India, not a 5* £300 a night London hotel. We were delighted with this hotel and would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: In India hotelkeepers are only to pleased to show you the room before you decide to stay. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay here despite what your guidebook says. I haven't looked at the rough guide since staying here. Cheap rooms which offer basic backpacker accomodation. We didn't expect a room with no light. When we asked to move the manager took us to another room that still had mouldy crap in the toilet.
I asked for my money back and he took me to another room that was just passable.
DO NOT STAY HERE!! Try the Taj Plaza which looked good from the outside or Pyrenees guesthouse which has good service!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaseNMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

zagreb
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The dirtiest hotel I saw in my life.
Literally, we found a big piece of crap on the floor of our room, and on the stairway.
The manager didn't care.
The brown toilet has NEVER been cleaned and you cannnot flush because it's broken.
The sheets are disgusting.
And, unbelievebly so, after coming to Delhi we realised that the waiter in the rooftop restaurant gave us a 500 rupee note that is fake!!!!!!
Shanti Lodge should be shut down, not recommended by the Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ivanap430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I'm reading a lot of bad experiences and I do not deny them. In fact, while standing in the lobby, I heard someone walk in and ask the reception for new sheets because he found bedbugs in his bed. So going by that alone, you should probably avoid the place.

BUT. . . we had a room with a view of the taj. The wifi was good, but it shut down at 11:00pm. The room was not clean by any means, but not dirty enough to bother me. The TV didn't work. Again, didn't bother me. We definitely did not see bedbugs ourselves. So yes, it's a cheap room with a view of the Taj, but not really much else.

Room Tip: Ours was on the roof, pretty filthy and it faces the bar so it's noisy; but like I said, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

While the rooftop view of the Taj is indeed great, and it's close to South and East gate, everything else about this hostel is horrible. Don't listen to the guidebooks that recommend this place -- I have no idea how they missed the crooked management who'll nickel and dime you for everything (including backtracking on what they'd previously promised), the room that was dingy and had stains, the restaurant staff that will hustle you out of there even though there's no one waiting for a table. Look, I'm a seasoned backpacker and I know what 400 rupees will get you, and this was abysmal. Stay far, far away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.1 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#92 of 145 in Agra
574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#84 of 145 in Agra
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#37 of 145 in Agra
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#34 of 145 in Agra
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shyam Palace Hotel
Shyam Palace Hotel
#74 of 145 in Agra
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Lodge

Property: Shanti Lodge
Address: Chowk Kagjiyan South Gate | South Gate, Taj Mahal, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Shanti Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Shanti Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing