We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great view, nice rooms, but no hot water.”
Review of Hotel Kamal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kamal
Ranked #51 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, the rooms were clean and cosy, the only negative about the rooms was that there was not hot water, and cold showers are not very pleasant in north India in January when it is freezing outside!
The slightly grubby roof top restaurant has a great view of the Taj Mahal and the food was fairly good. The staff were helpful and friendly and arranged a free pickup from the train station even though our train was 8hours delayed and arrived in the middle of the night. The location was excellent, only a 5 minute walk to the south gate of the Taj Mahal which was great!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 398 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Good, simple and relatively cheap rooms. Rooftop terrace restaurant with amazing view of the Taj. Great laundry service and auto rank outside the hotel. 2 minutes from the west gate of the Taj. The only downside was being woken up by the call to prayer in the early morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AspiringNomad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Overall i think this hotel was a bit expensive for what it has to offer. Fair enough it is close to the Taj Mahal with a lovely view from the roof top but the rooms don't provide the comfort you should deserve for such high prices.
I had room D3. The room wasn't dirty at all. However i cannot say it was perfectly clean. Bathroom was spacious and water was always hot, so this is a good point.
Staff at reception was nice. Food on the roof top was very good.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Meeka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel is situated in TajGanj, inside a lane 500/600m from the main road.
We arrived late evening. Though there was ample space, our cab driver refused to go inside the lane, saying we need to hire an auto-rickshaw to go in. While we were requesting him to take us in the lane, as we had elderly persons, and a lot of luggage along with, there came in some rick drivers who peered inside the cab and with an intimidating look matter-of-fact-ly stated, "No car inside sir, only auto's". We still persisted with our can driver and he was kind enough to go inside the street to drop us off, but he refused to pick us up from there in the morning and asked us to get a rick to the main road.
The hotel in itself was average, we didn't get to enjoy any services as we just crashed to bed and went out the next morning. We mostly did pull in all our luggage ourselves as we found it was getting late for somebody to arrive and pick them up.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angshumansengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent for an early morning visit to the Taj.

The hotel staff were nice and they arranged a good tuk tuk to get us from the station.

The room was not great. The duvets smelt dusty and musty, the curtains were a sheet that needed a clean and cardboard held the air con in place. The TV did not work and there were several power cuts whilst we were there which may have contributed to the cold shower - it was definitely good we had head torches.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were looking for a "cheap and cheerful" place to stay in Agra for a couple of days, preferably within walking distance of the Taj Mahal. The Hotel Kamal turned out to be a great choice: helpful, courteous staff; rooftop restaurant with amazing view of the Taj Mahal and tasty, inexpensive food; same-day laundry service; hot water shower with good water pressure; wifi that worked most of the time; 5 minute walk to the south gate entrance of the Taj... Great value for the price!

Room Tip: Originally, we were booked in a "deluxe" room (006) but when we found the room a bit draft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filmmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had booked a reservation through cleartrip.com and got a price... but when we showed up the hotel 10pm they told us that they had given up our reservation and rented the room to someone else because apparently they said that cleartrip failed to notify us that the cut off time for check inn was 5pm... (checked with cleartrip and this is not there policy)... so we were quoted for a higher price and possibly for the same room. Rooms where your typical hostel indy.

Room Tip: A hostel room should be ~20usd but if you really want to avoid "changing prices" and not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuikuitui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 147 in Agra
505 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#95 of 147 in Agra
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#59 of 147 in Agra
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#103 of 147 in Agra
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#43 of 147 in Agra
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#29 of 147 in Agra
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Address: South Gate Of Taj Mahal | TajGanj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $11 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Kamal 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel with very well furnished, clean attached bath with hot water supplied and some rooms have a T.V. Honest, helpful and friendly staff. Very good councils will be given to you to discover India and we work very hard to ensure a pleasant stay. Stuff makers restaurant is excellent with good food of roof top Taj view terrace from where you can see full front view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kamal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing