We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great roof”
Review of Hotel Kamal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kamal
Ranked #87 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average hotel, great roof”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Our double room had one bed and the windowless room was more like a jail cell.
That said, we were up early for the sunrise at the taj (five minute walk) and out sightseeing around town most of the day. Since we were only in and out of Agra in 30 hours (all you need) all extra time should be spent on the spectacular roof watching the Taj... It really is the Taj Mahal of Taj Mahals.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    115
    111
    59
    53
See reviews for
43
148
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were there early this year in February 2013. The hotel was average in that it was nothing fancy. Clean, semi comfortable rooms. Perfect for a short trip to visit the Taj Mahal as it was very convenient. Great rooftop view of the Taj. Good bang for your buck.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelbugpairz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Location, location, location. Hotel Kamal has got it, although so do many other, cheaper places in Taj Ganj. It is located close to the south gate of the Taj, close to the backpacker restaurants and souvenir shops.

My private room was fine, but the bed was dirty. I mean seriously dirty. Footprints-on-the-blanket dirty. The bathroom was fine, and staff were reasonably friendly.

Wifi wasn't available in the private rooms block, though it seems to be available in the other part of the hotel, which was slightly infuriating. Hotel arranged pickup from Agra Cantt station at below-government rate, which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We just had one night at Hotel Kamal. Where you can see full front view of Taj Mahal, pretty convenient for the Taj Mahal,about 10 minute walk away.

Kamal hotel is simple budget hotel for tourists doing in Agra. Having the option of sitting in plastic chairs on the concrete roof is a nice option though, as Hotel Kamal has a rather good view of the Taj Mahal.Food is okay not that much good. Something worth noting is that there was a fair amount of variation in what other guests were paying at the hotel. If you want a budget hotel near the Taj Mahal, go for this and party aheard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeepthiagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We rolled into Agra like pimps, looking for somewhere to consume beers and take silly photos of the Taj. We checked in here and headed up to the rooftop, where the views are spectacular and the guys smuggled us some beers.

That's about all of the positives. Actually, it had decent wifi.

The negatives:
- Room was dirty and hot.
- Power points in ridiculous locations which required earthmoving equipment to get to.
- Bed was made from granite or possible marble.
- Shower head drenched everything aside from me.
- Brother got insane food poisoning from here, was the only place on our trip where this happened. And we started in Bangladesh.

Room Tip: Get an A/C room for god's sake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

the whole stay was reasonable, although average compared to our other experience, however after spending a month in India my friend got food-sick in this hotel restaurant. The view from the rooftop restaurant is great but beware of having lassi or other temperature-prone foods. The room was reasonable, although shower wasn't much and our aircon wasnt working (so we nearly baked ourselves). Recpetion was not helpful, they deliberately let the taxi driver try to take us on an overpriced tour. I woulnd recommend this hotel, but am afraid there is not much better in Agra in this price range. If you only stay one night, this is sufficient for the money, just watch out with food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The rooms are basic, but ok! The place is very good to make a visit to the Taj mahal. only five minutes walking to the gates, so easy for a morning visit.
We loved the view up the terrace. You can have a drink with the beautiful Taj in sight, bigger than I expected. They serve nice meals and drinks. We tried other places to eat or drink, but the rooftop terrace is a great place to sit in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#102 of 143 in Agra
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#31 of 143 in Agra
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#80 of 143 in Agra
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#89 of 143 in Agra
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#38 of 143 in Agra
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#94 of 143 in Agra
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Property: Hotel Kamal
Address: South Gate Of Taj Mahal | TajGanj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Kamal 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel with very well furnished, clean attached bath with hot water supplied and some rooms have a T.V. Honest, helpful and friendly staff. Very good councils will be given to you to discover India and we work very hard to ensure a pleasant stay. Stuff makers restaurant is excellent with good food of roof top Taj view terrace from where you can see full front view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kamal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing