We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Villa Homestay
Ranked #42 of 207 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The best place we stayed in India. Family run and out of the city centre. A quiet and cosy escape. The room was clean, the service excellent and it felt very safe. The owner was so nice and helpful. He gave us a warm welcome, provided travel advice, arranged a rickshaw driver for us, let us use his computer, and his wife cooked us a lovely meal. We felt so relaxed and looked after. Would definitely recommend. The rickshaw driver we had was called Bharat and was the best driver in India! Get him if you can!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 292 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

slightly out of Agra but this was a bonus as it was very quiet. Lovely garden and a welcoming host. We ate at the homestay and the food was excellent. Clean sheets and towels added to the positive picture. Pick up taxi for around 250 rupees is really necessary as the location would be difficult to find. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The homestay is located away from the city chaos and is peaceful and quiet. Mr Ranjbansh arranged for an auto driver Guddu (who was punctual and very helpful) to pick us up from the train station. The room was clean and spacious with 24 hrs hot water, clean sheets and towels, AC etc. Mr Rajbansh arranged for us to see all d historical sights with Guddu who gave us useful bits of information and even introduced us to some of the local Agra food. All in all it was an enjoyable trip. Highly recommend Garden Villa homestay for a comfortable stay at Agra :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights. Thank god it was only 2 nights. When we arrived, the owner said he thought we were one person (??) and only had a single room available for us. We had a confirmation through our tour operator for a twin room.

We called out tour operator so he could figure it out. The owner then came back upstairs and was very defensive. He said, "so why did you call your agent?"

He said he was fully booked and would try to get us the room we booked for the following night. When we came home that night, the twin room which we said was booked was still empty. He then came up a few minutes after and said we could have it. I just don't understand who he was keeping it for.

The room was much more comfortable than the one he had out us in originally, but that doesn't say much. The beds were uncomfortable and hard. The bathroom was very cramped. There was no hot water. The breakfast was very sparse - toast or omelet.

It's called the garden villa but it's not very garden like. We had a balcony which was just a cement floor - not even a plant in sight.

Then the roof top are outside our window looked like a prison yard. Just cement. This place could be a lot nicer with some minor cosmetic upgrades.

We felt really uncomfortable there - like we were intruding. We came home one night and the owner had friends over. We had to walk through the living room to get to our rooms. It was really awkward.

He also asked for our passports when we arrived. Very odd.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammyNPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Agra downtown is not very nice and definitely and the kind of place to walk around. The hotel is situated in a residential area which is nice and quiet so it is perfect for resting after a long day of sight seeing. The room and bath room are nice and clean. Mr.Rajbansh has been very helpful arranging a nice transport for our family to visit TaJ Mahal & Fatehpur Sikri. The breakfast is very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in the Garden Villa. The rooms were confortable and clean. Our host was very friendly and gave us excellent advise about what we could visit the next day. The only small drawback is that it's a bit far from the centre of town (only 10 min in rickshaw). The host can book you a tuktuk on request, though.

For French speakers, the host lived in France and speaks an excellent French.

We loved the place and would come back without an hesitation.

Room Tip: Be very specific about wanting a double bed, because they give us two joined single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaaavidH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The first time I went to Garden Villa was with my family and we had a really good experience so I came back with my husband. Mr. Rajbansh and his wife are always a treat as hosts. The first time I came to Agra I had terrible food poisoning and they took care of me like my own family. The care, comfort, and hospitality at this home stay is unmatched. I wouldn't imagine staying in another place. Mrs. Rajbansh is a great cook as well and each room has a nice theme an decor. In my experience it was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicawhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 143 in Agra
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Villa 21 Agra Homestay
0.3 mi away
Khas Mahal Home Stay
Khas Mahal Home Stay
#19 of 207 in Agra
13 reviews
0.9 mi away
N.Homestay
N.Homestay
#6 of 207 in Agra
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Villa Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Villa Homestay

Address: 11 Garden Villa Homestay Kaveri Vihar, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Villa Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Villa Homestay Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing