We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Localization and low cost.”
Review of Hotel Sidhartha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sidhartha
Ranked #31 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The localization and the low cost was our main reason to choose this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is good and cheap.

Rooms were clean and the beds were quite of comfortable, but no hot water, and the smell isn't the best ones.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernandoMineo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sidhartha
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 485 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you have a look at the reviews at Tripadvisor, the main reason why we chose this hotel was … location! I got exactly what I expected.

Location: one block away from the Taj Mahal Western Gate (from where you enter the site). Handy for that purpose. On a pedestrian street (restricted traffic). Safe area.

Rooms: clean. Basic. Spartan type . Acceptable in terms of size (decent sized if compared to other budget places in India). A bit tatty, though. The blankets were wet. We asked for warm duvets as it was cold and they were provided. No heating (in winter time). A TV set but no channels in English, a mirror, a chair and table. Enough room for luggage. The door lock is a padlock and a key.

Bathroom: our room had hot water but others only have it on demand and by the bucket. The shower leaked.

Breakfast: basic but good.

Staff: polite, welcoming, friendly, attentive and always willing to help, communicative. The manager (fun and caring) helped us with some problems with had (In fact, there was a problem with the internet connection in the hotel (which seems to be quite common according to other reviews) and he let me used his computer). Staff works hard. You can see the same people from breakfast time to dinner time! Great hospitality. Maps of the city are provided.

Restaurant: Very good. Reasonably priced. In a leafy courtyard. Lots of greenery.

We couldn’t see the Taj Mahal from the rooftop as it was full of monkeys and the manager advised us not to.

Luggage storage room for free.

Yes, indeed the hotel IS very basic, but has good food & it is clean and quiet (by Indian standards). Overall a good experience. It is a budget hotel. You get what you pay for. Not for those seeking luxury. If you take things “the Indian way”, you can even enjoy your stay :)-

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We originally had a booking with another hotel in Agra but left after two days and took a look around town for a better place. We stumbled across this hotel which is just off the main street by the west gate. Its in a really good location for the Taj and it is in the low pollution zone which means less noisy traffic. We agreed with the management to take a standard double room but when we arrived he said they had a deluxe double available that was free we could have at the same price. The room was amazing, very clean and quiet. The court yard is really nice too, a great place for an afternoon drink. The food is not all that good and the waiters are kind of slow but the courtyard has a great backpacker feel and it is very cheap. The WiFi was kind of sporadic but all in all a great hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the right as you walk into the court yard seem to be the nice modern options. We were i...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It was a good stay at Hotel Sidhartha. Rooms are clean and the staff is also very helpful. Its definitely value for money being a budget hotel. Great Hospitality. Overall a good experience at Hotel Sidhatha.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I want to inform you all that i booked this hotel from 15 to 17 Jan,2013 with my family. I got the reservation confirmation letter via email. When i came here for check in the hotel reception refused to allow me check in as i am a pakistani citizen and a muslim. So i was astonished to hear it. Later i checked in to another hotel where the hindu staff was so co-operative and helpful. But this hotel is hopeless and so shameful by their acts.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Syed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The only real pro of this hotel is its location – from a rooftop area you are able to see the Taj Mahal over the wall that surrounds it. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from the west entrance gate of the Taj Mahal which makes it very handy when having to get up early for a sunrise entrance.
Now for the cons. The hotel is situated in an old, ru ndown part of Agra, away from the other hotels and in a area that cars are not supposed to drive through. Therefore, if you are travelling there by car, you will need to get a tuk tuk for 5 mins or walk for 10 – 15 mins. The hotel website boasts a rooftop restaurant and a leafy courtyard however I would say that neither of these statements are really accurate. There is not rooftop restaurant only a concrete area with old tables and chairs. And although their courtyard has some trees, it will not match the image that springs to mind when you say leafy courtyard. They do serve food here but I wouldn’t recommend eating any of it. When we ordered bottles of soda, we were presented with bottles that were covered in rust from the cap and years out of date.
The room itself is an ok size however with bars on the windows and a padlock on the doors, it feels slightly like a prison cell. Additionally, instead of sheets or a duvet, you have a rough blanket / rug to sleep under which is extremely itchy during the night. Finally, hot water is only available on demand and via a bucket.
Would not recommend anyone to stay here – although very cheap, its not an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Songi_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is recommended in guidebooks and makes no bones about being proud of that. WHY it's recommended is harder to understand. It's just a filthy hotel in a particularly filthy part of a filthy city. The city of Agra does not do the Taj Mahal justice, and the Hotel Sidhartha does not not do Agra justice. How bad your takeaway from this place is depends entirely on your expectations for a budget hotel. If you expect clean sheets and/or towels, a flushable toilet and working lights, you might be disappointed. If you expect a roof over your head and at least a door lock from the 19th century, you might be OK.

On the plus side, there is a partial view of the Taj from the roof and entertainment provided by the occasional wandering monkey. The restaurant is no worse than anything else in Taj Ganj.

Room Tip: Remember, the Taj Mahal is closed on Fridays. The Taj Ganj area is like a morgue on a Sunday mornin...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.6 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 142 in Agra
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#100 of 142 in Agra
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#69 of 142 in Agra
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#85 of 142 in Agra
380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#33 of 142 in Agra
140 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panna Paradise
Hotel Panna Paradise
#36 of 142 in Agra
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sidhartha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sidhartha

Address: Western Gate, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $11 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sidhartha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sidhartha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidhartha Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing