We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location with great staff.”
Review of Hotel Sidhartha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sidhartha
Ranked #33 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed two nights at Sidhartha, when I arrived at the Agra train station and asked a rickshaw driver if they knew it, they all did, and I quizzed them to be sure! Sure enough, it is a well known hotel, you won't have any problem finding it.

The location is exactly where you want to be in Agra, it is less than a 2 minute walk to both the ticket office and the entrance to the Taj Mahal. Extremely convenient.

I had a few meals in the Garden Restauant, no complaints and I didn't get sick, so that's good.

The staff are very nice they can give you information about things to do in Agra and how to get around.

Minor complaints: my windows, while locked, had gaps in them. Meaning mosquitos could get inside. I had the basic rooms there without AC and the rooms are close to each other so you will hear your neighbors in the hall. I would say if you had the extra cash, go for the AC rooms, as they looked nicer.

Same day laundry service was really efficient and reasonably priced.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PDXDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 500 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

I think this hotel is the best in Agra. It's really close to Taj, the hotel is clean, have it's own yard with green. The rooms are not the top like 5 star hotel, but decent. The main features are water heater (so You can have a shower at any time) and soft bed (so You can sleep well while the trip).
About minuses. It's the only one. It's not possible to Taj even from the roof of th hotel. But You will have enough of Taj while day trip ).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naushnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We booked this hotel only because of his excellent location only cca 300 m from Taj Mahal west gate and 10 min drive rikshaw to Agra Fort 20 rupies.Room was clean but very old and I never seen before water pipes ih that condition - even for this price of hotel not acceptable.One night we were so hungry and tried food at restaurant - we didn't get sick of it.Staff was polite like in every hotel.If you are picky person with some perfect standards this is not hotel for you but if you looking hotel for budget price with unbeatable location in Agra booked it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vendy_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Excellent location: 5 min's walk to Taj Mahal's Western
Gate Great value: it did not charge additional tax and other service fees.
Good sleep quality: it is quiet and nice to stay there
Fair facilities: the facilities are fair but still acceptable, especially considering the price you paid. But keep in mind that they DO NOT have Wifi at all as stated in the booking.com page. if you really need the wifi, go to the nearby Yes Restaurant for meals (they do have wifi and free of charge)
Fair service: some of staff are not very helpful.

In a word, if you care the money more than the service then it is your dish.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_Hong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Was scouring websites and skimming through numerous reviews in my endeavour to find myself a decent accommodation close to the Taj Mahal (since I only planned to use it for the night). My confidence was wearing thin when I stumbled upon the website for Hotel Sidhartha. The rooms and photos advertised on their website and the price offered seemed to meet our primary requirements. On arrival though, the photos seemed a bit different to me though and the bathrobe facility advertised might have been only on request.
We alighted at the Agra Cantonment railway station (the one you should take for the Taj Mahal). The hotel is close to 10 kilometres (under 7 miles) from the railway station. Vehicular traffic is restricted and you would have to walk 20 odd meters with your luggage in tow. An auto rickshaw / cycle rickshaw ride should not cost you more than 50 – 70 rupees.
The less said about the construction and the surrounding Tajgang area where the hotel is located, the better. But then again we were only here for the Taj and on a shoe string budget. You may book rooms online and present the confirmation receipt at the counter. We had taken the standard a/c rooms at 900 rupees per day. The A/c was working fine, the rooms were neat and spacious, linen and pillow cover were clean, bathroom was okay, hot water supply is available 24/7 and in case of power outages, the hotel staff will make arrangements for hot water. They also have a small sit out within the hotel which is advertised as a garden restaurant. Food is okay – we stuck to omelettes and aloo parathas though. Non vegetarian food is not as per the palate we were accustomed to and took a good 45 minutes to prepared (fresh) and serve.
The best part of the deal is that the hotel is 2 minutes walking distance from the booking counter at the West Gate of the Taj Mahal and this gave us the opportunity and space to explore the Taj at our own leisure. The Agra Fort too is a 10 minute cycle rickshaw ride away. This should not cost you more than 30 rupees.

Room Tip: Take the A/c room - not much of a price difference from the non A/c ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank virendrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed at Hotel Sidartha for two night Nov 2011. just back in Australia writing reviews to assist others (found it useful in planning, so giving back!)
Excellent location on west gate road.. 1-200 meters to entrance for Taj) inside police barrier so no richshaws and quite..
First things first, this is a BUDGET hotel, and for that it is excellent, paid 450 inr a night, and well worth it.. very friendly and accommodating staff, A1. rooms are basic, western toilet, we had cold shower but hot water available in bucket at request.. no biggie. layout is good, safe and secure. restaurant was fine, standard indian food at a reasonable cost, plus plenty of other eateries close by.
Bed was comfy, the usual 2 single beds together to make double (standard indian thing) . blankets, if travelling in colder weather, available. Note: when travelling india or any budget places you have to expect some imperfections, maybe sheets not pristine, some staining on flooring / walls.. but HEY, if you want 4-5 star, travel and pay how you want to travel!!!!
I think its you are less likely to be disappointed if you are that way inclined. Plus, to many things to see to be stuck in your hotel room!!!!
HINT- found the old "the two double sheets sewn together, half way up" a invaluable addition to your backpack!!!
Would easily recommend Hotel Sidhartha to all open minded travellers.. will be going back again without a doubt.. (explore Agra for longer!!) Nice

Room Tip: relax and enjoy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felloffthefloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Location is great since it is directly at the Taj Mahal. There was nothing to complain about. Room was good and there is a restaurant in the yard that serves decent food.

It is recommended to visit Taj Mahal early in the morning to avoid the tourist masses. Other than Taj Mahal Agra did not leave a very nice impression. Watch out for Rikshaw drivers that are looking for commissions.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friedrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.6 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 143 in Agra
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#95 of 143 in Agra
597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#69 of 143 in Agra
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#62 of 143 in Agra
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#51 of 143 in Agra
393 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Avalon Taj
Hotel Avalon Taj
#21 of 143 in Agra
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sidhartha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sidhartha

Address: Western Gate, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $10 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sidhartha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sidhartha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidhartha Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing