We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little far off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tourists Rest House
Ranked #23 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Ulm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little far off”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Our room (non-ac, ground floor) was basic but spacious and clean. As stated in other reviews it's walls were wet and the whole thing feels more like a bunker than anything else. It takes some time (up to 3min running water) to get hot water from the shower when it works. Wifi was only available at the restaurant in the courtyard - food is not special but good (but party music totally not fits to the scenery).

Our experience with the staff was divided - the two men at the front desk were helpful (we changed the room), but it's not unusual to wait a long time for staff in the restaurant that will be unfriendly anyway.

We stayed for 3 nights (too much for Agra) because we fell sick and stayed a lot in the room and courtyard - not recommendable (TV didn't work in both rooms if you bother). Try to get one room in a hostel close to the Taj, otherwise if you just stay for one night it's not the worst place. Let them show you some rooms on different floors before you decide!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisdine90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    220
    133
    39
    26
See reviews for
89
211
69
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We came for 4 nights to stay in tourist Rest House; we got excellent service and rooms. The free wifi which is very helpful for us.(works in courtyard as well as in some rooms)
The staff is nice and helpful greet you every time and eager to know if everything is ok or not, not every hotel do the same.
The location is excellent: some minutes to taj mahal and Agra fort, 15 min to baby taj and mehatab bagh.
The hotel recommended us for Futehpur Sikri which is awesome and must see, we got a taxi from the hotel at a good price.
In the night we ate in the hotel and it was perfect Indian food as there is no wide choices, but they prepared good food in candle light and with French and English music which is really good.
We had a tour to Rajasthan for 10days and had a nice English speaking driver . They organize us the train tickets for ahead trip.
We can say that it’s an oasis in the town where you can relax and rest, that what I want to say …
We recommend this place to family and friends…

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thib_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We returned to this guest house for the second time in two years because they are very welcoming and the facilities are great. They were always happy to provide anything extra we needed and organise transport for us. They have had extra 'deluxe' rooms built on the top floor which are very attracive and comfortable with four poster beds, flat screen TV's and aircon.
The cafe/courtyard is attractive and convenient for meals, although the dinners were not up to restaurant standards. Very handy for breakfast and snacks.

Room Tip: Upper floors are away from cafe noise early or late
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The room was small but rather comfortable. It was also rather clean and all the basic amenities(such as hot water etc.) were working.


In the centre of the hotel is a garden/dining area which does look pretty good at night. The food served is average; portions are not very big but at least it still tastes decent. Atmosphere was pretty relaxing too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Guo X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on March 15-17 2014, with my whole family [ kids and my parents] Its a good place to stay especially when you are traveling with your family. Hot water facility round the clock available, staff is courteous and helpful.

The only thing is they prepare the food in the restaurant is either it is for Foreigners or for North Indians. it is not suitable for south Indian, also I felt it is some what costly but it is okay for short trip.

One more observation from my side they more concentrate on foreigner tourists. Not only in this hotel I found this kind of situation in whole Agra.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Kamaal_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

OMG such a breath of fresh air. After an "adventure" traveling through Delhi and arriving in Agra... Dealing with trains, people harassing and everyone ignoring our pleas... It was nice to find a welcoming and helpful place. Lots of travelers planning their trip here, and the atmosphere is relaxing. The staff was very helpful. The travel agent at the guest house was very helpful and informative. A true lifesaver. Thanks you! If u are a true traveler I highly recommend it. Mando

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mondo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

The guest house confirmed a driver would pick me up from Agra Fort. I gave all the train details including the carriage and seat number. A price of 70 rupees was agreed. I couldn't see a sign for me when I arrived. A rickshaw driver at the station asked where I was staying, I told him Tourists Rest House and he said that they wouldn't turn up. I have been travelling in India for 2.5 months so of course thought that this was the usual nonsense that rickshaw drivers say when you arrive at stations (particularly somewhere like Agra where one would think deception to be rife). I responded saying what would he know etc. He said, fine, wait 15-20 mins but I doubt the driver will appear. Well, he was entirely correct (and I felt mildy sheepish). Furthermore, the guest house, (with whom I had corresponded by email), didn't even bother to email me to ask where I was etc! This was not a problem and I simply got a rickshaw to Taj Ganj area for 70 rupees which is a much better location and I paid less to stay here than quoted for Tourists Rest House. If this was someone who had not travelled in India much, or perhaps was arriving at night, this could be a much more unpleasant experience. My advice for budget accommodation, as many will already know, head to Taj Ganj area where there are loads of budget places within walking distance of South Gate and often with a view of the Taj Mahal from the rooftop restaurants - which I can see now :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anilwad, Manager at Tourists Rest House, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thanks for writing the review.
we would like to draw your attention on that pickup case, as we don't give pickup from the AGRA FORT station. we have told you that it will be Rs 70 from the train station to our hotel and you need to take a rickshaw outside, we have quoted you the price so that you won't be CHEATED from them.The reason why we don't give pickup is because they used to take COMMISSION from us and they insist us to trap you for the Agra city tour.
We are working since 1965 and till now we haven't insisted customer to take a city tour from them as we want that you should have your choice(incase the tourist want to ask the fair price and any other information we give them).
THE REASON WHY RICHSHAW DRIVER SAY THAT WE WON'T TURN UP IS BECAUSE THEY KNOW THAT WE DON'T GIVE PICKUP.
As far as location is consult:
we are just 2 Km from taj mahal.
just 2 km from agra fort
just 5 km from baby taj(from taj ganj its 9 km)
All reputed restaurants just walking distance.
We want that you give us a chance to accomodate you again so that you can enjoy our services better.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#33 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#38 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Panna Paradise
Hotel Panna Paradise
#37 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.2 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#36 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#68 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourists Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourists Rest House

Property: Tourists Rest House
Address: 4/62 Tourists Rest House Kutchery Road | Baluganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Agra
#9 Family Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourists Rest House 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very centrally located in the heart of the city, close to all the major attractions, bazaars and railway /bus station. All the rooms are clean and well equipped with attached bathroom and western style toilet, toiletries are also provided in every room. The rooms are facing a central, plant filled courtyard,giving a feel of relaxation and security. We have 24 hr front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tourists Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourists Rest House Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing