We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay at this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tourists Rest House
Ranked #22 of 143 Hotels in Agra
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay at this Hotel”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is very clean and the rooms have nicely tiled floors. There is a lovely courtyard where good food is served to order. Staff are very helpful. I can recommend this accommodation whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    226
    133
    39
    26
See reviews for
92
214
69
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I read a lot of nice comments about this hotel...
It was horrible. I arrived in the evening and my room (that I already payed) was given to other people, so I got a horrible small cold room, extremely dirty, with no hot water and with a broken sink (the tube was not going into the wall, so the water I was using to wash my hands was falling on my feet). I complained and the guy at the reception told me that if the room is bad is my fold because I booked on the internet (???) so I can not expect to get the room I have payed for and that the websites like trip advisor are not allowed to sell rooms (so, why did the hotel took money from my bank account and why was my name on the hotel reservation book??).
After a bad fight with the reception guy I was "upgraded" to a new room (after spending the first night in the cold horrible one), which was a bit better but terribly cold, again no hot water, dirty and with wet-moldy ceiling and walls.
The food at the hotel restaurant was disgusting.
I am really surprised that this hotel has nice comments on the lonely planet.

Room Tip: If you really want to go there, ask for a room with hot water and check if you really have hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GioLa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights. We were in one of the mid-range prices, our room was very big, very clean (we even skipped our sleepingbag). Free Wifi, clean towels, the staff was quite helpful, booked train tickets for small commision. It has a lovely peaceful little garden. OK, the food is not amazing, but is well cheap and simple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alebytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We chose this hotel after reading all the positive reviews on tripadvisor, but were in for a very rude shock. The hotel is located just 3-4 kms from the railway station, but that's about it. I have no other good thing to say. The bedsheets, towels provided were dirty and stained and the bathroom was stinking. The food was awfully bland, not something that would suit Indian taste-buds. The staff, especially the owner, was shockingly rude at every given opportunity. But, I did notice a stark change in their behavior and attitude while dealing with foreign tourists. So, for all my fellow Indian travelers all I can say is that you get what you pay for!

All in all, the entire experience left a bitter taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevanikSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Hi

I am also a travelagent and found this hotel quite good and absolutly 3 * .

Very Clean , quite place and 99% foreigners crowd.

The worst thing is food.. Not ment for indians at all.

If you are eating anything make sure add more "spice flavors" on it.

Many thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indukothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent a long time looking for hotels in Agra, there are so many places to accomodate the massive influx of people visiting the Taj Mahal everyday that it's hard to find what's actually good.
This was a delightful place, the courtyard was really tranquil and had a very nice atmosphere. Our group had two rooms and both were excellent, it's not a 5 star hotel but everything was clean and working. The hotel staff were really cool and were even willing to drive me to the shop to get beer as most hotels in Agra don't have licences. At first we found the service for the food to be very slow but it was the same everywhere we went in India, and it was worth the wait as it's all made fresh and delicious!
Definitely give this place a chance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan_Pasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

After staying in a few disappointing hotels, the 'Tourist Rest House' was a sight for saw eyes! The friendly staff were helpful with all our queries and our stay was very relaxing. The leafy courtyard is a great place to get away from the busy Agra streets and have a Chai whist checking emails on the free WIFI. Hot showers, clean rooms and at a reasonable price! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicktravel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#31 of 143 in Agra
479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#32 of 143 in Agra
140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#34 of 143 in Agra
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Panna Paradise
Hotel Panna Paradise
#38 of 143 in Agra
408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Avalon Taj
Hotel Avalon Taj
#19 of 143 in Agra
348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 143 in Agra
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourists Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourists Rest House

Property: Tourists Rest House
Address: 4/62 Tourists Rest House Kutchery Road | Baluganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Agra
#9 Family Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourists Rest House 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very centrally located in the heart of the city, close to all the major attractions, bazaars and railway /bus station. All the rooms are clean and well equipped with attached bathroom and western style toilet, toiletries are also provided in every room. The rooms are facing a central, plant filled courtyard,giving a feel of relaxation and security. We have 24 hr front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Tourists Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourists Rest House Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing