We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tourists Rest House
Ranked #23 of 145 Hotels in Agra
florence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cheap and nice”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed only 1 night to visit the Taj Mahal and it was a very good experience. The room was big enough and had attached bathroom. It was very simple, but for the price you would not expect a 5 star, and most importantly it was clean.
The hotel has also a nice and peaceful courtyard where you can have decent food and meet other travellers, mainly backpackers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    220
    133
    39
    26
See reviews for
89
211
69
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here from the 29th of April untill the 4th of May.
Our room was a bit small but it was clean and had an attached bathroom also it was very cheap! The hostel has a really nice courtyard with free wifi.
It is situated in a more quite part of Agra (if that is possible in India) and the Taj Mahal, Cantt/fort railway station are only a five minutes away by tuc-tuc! Cheers! Joeri

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank backpackingJandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agde
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very peacefull place, very clean, very nice guy....
A place making you forget the terrible noisy city..
Boss speak both english and french..
Rooms are good, garden restaurant so lovely, food good as well and soon a top restaurant.
It's a place, I advice strongly....
Enjoy it, you do not regret it...
Even you have already booked an hotel come and try the restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean baptiste s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleamike
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Tourist's Rest House came recommended as the pick from Rough Guide. Why, I don't know. Even before I had bugs on the walls and pillow next to me when I turned the lights off, the place was disgusting and overpriced. It's also quite far from the Taj Mahal and the food is terrible. I left my luggage in the "Luggage Room" and was worried about it all day, as it's actually the common internet room (also corroded, mosquito infested, with 2 broken, dust covered computer and one working computer). All in all, the worse place I've stayed at in India, especially since I got no sleep having decided to keep the lights on to keep the bugs away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

agra india
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2012

When you arrive at the rail station no problem : they wait about you and it's very appreciable after one night in the train ...
You arrive and it's an other world in this place : flowers, trees, cleanliness ...
A team always cheerful and helpful.
The food is good and you can eat almost at what time you need and want.
I would like that the others hotels are like that !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was here march 9th for 2 days.I was pleasantly surprised with how decent and clean this budget hotel was.
It was cheap,the food was tasty,the staff were very helpful.
Not close to the Taj,but one of their staff drives a rickshaw and he is very nice and very reasonable...even after I broke a bottle of beer in his richshaw ;P lol
I will stay here again when I return to India:)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbellriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here with my friends for two nights. It was a pleasant escape from crazy agra. We asked for an extra matress and that was no problem. Good food and free wifi. The rooms are not fancy but ok, it has everything you need.
It is not that close to the taj but the courtyard makes it a perfect travellers hang out!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#32 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#38 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Panna Paradise
Hotel Panna Paradise
#37 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.2 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#36 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#68 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourists Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourists Rest House

Property: Tourists Rest House
Address: 4/62 Tourists Rest House Kutchery Road | Baluganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Agra
#9 Family Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourists Rest House 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very centrally located in the heart of the city, close to all the major attractions, bazaars and railway /bus station. All the rooms are clean and well equipped with attached bathroom and western style toilet, toiletries are also provided in every room. The rooms are facing a central, plant filled courtyard,giving a feel of relaxation and security. We have 24 hr front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tourists Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourists Rest House Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing