We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean basic room, Good value and great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maya Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 194 Agra B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean basic room, Good value and great restaurant”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Very close to taj and surrounding town. Room was basic but clean and the rooftop restaurant was great. Good place to stay for a night or two. Overall good stay and would recommend for those wanting a good value option.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scunni631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    144
    86
    27
    17
See reviews for
30
138
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night when visiting the taj mahal in July, arrived from the train station about 8am and was allowed to check in straight away so we could head straight out to explore. Room was a good size with air con and good wifi so I could call home on Skype. We walked to the taj mahal and then got a tuk tuk to the fort and back again which is really worth seeing if you had time. Food was ok at the restaurant but expected more for my money. We had to leave at 4am to get a train to Jaipur and was assured tuk tuks will be out and about that earlier to take us to the station but this wasn't the case the streets were desserted and after a while walking with heavy bags we found one with a few minutes to spare.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaisalmer, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Taxi driver took us here. Maya Hotel & Restaurant is located on a busy street just 5 minutes walk form the Taj Mahal. The room was acceptable clean, cosy and simple nothing really special. I personally like the setting of the restaurant, under the big tree. It was such a good atmosphere..also with a free Wi-Fi. Even though the food was a bit expensive but it was quite good, service was also not bad. I spend most of my time in the restaurant than in the bed room.If you're not staying there. It would be nice just dropping by the restaurant for a few bite or a few drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intaraj_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Arrived at reception to be greeted by grunting receptionists who refused to believe I had a booking despite my voucher. Hot water wasn't working and my balcony was filthier than the Agra streets below. That said, can't complain too much given the price. It did its job for a cheap overnighter. The room itself was sufficiently clean.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyGlobalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

As part of the hotel's SOP, we had to call them an hour or two before 4pm if we are pushing thru our reservation, and so we did. We also arranged for our pick up from Agra Cannt Train Station. Jamil, the hotel's tourguide picked us up from the station and also was our tour guide for our 2day stay in Agra.

The hotel was not able to trace our reservation thru booking.com good thing there is a room available for us for the night (a bigger one) though the owner told us that we'll transfer to a double room after one night. That was a kind move of him. The first room was indeed bigger (good for 4). Other than the showers that did not work well and a bit rusty, the rest about that room was fine. Next day we had to transfer to our double room. Again, aside from the shower and some soil particles in the bathroom, everything was alright.

Food was good and the dining experience at the balcony (you have to make a reservation a day before coz it gets full) was one good memory.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After reading many reviews for hotels in Agra, we decided to stay here and hope for the best as this hotel hasn't had the best reviews! We were pleasantly surprised - although basic, it was clean and relatively spacious (although we could see that someone had painted over mold that was growing on the walls). Check-in staff weren't the friendliest, but the people working in the restaurant were lovely! We had dinner on the balcony and both my husband and I enjoyed our meal - although it was a little bit pricey!
We also had a few issues - our tv didn't work and when we went to speak to someone about it, we were told that the TV will be replaced with another from a room that was empty - that never happened. On our last day, we came back from a day out and found half the room flooded (we assume that water was coming in through the ceiling). After speaking to management, they sent someone up to come and clean up the water, but did nothing about the leek - until we mentioned that water was still dripping into our room! We also had a few power outages (only in our room, so not the common Indian load shedding)

The best thing about this hotel is that it is close to the Taj

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights.
In general we found the hotel; clean, excellent food and good location to the Taj Mahal.
We stayed in a 4 person room (double bunks) and found the room big enough.
The roof top restaurant had beautiful food and a nice atmosphere.
We stayed on the ground floor and found it was extremely noisy (traffic).
The restaurant staff were pleasant , however, the reception staff were rather arrogant and unfriendly.
Overall we would recommend here if you are visiting the Taj... 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levi123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#20 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Maya Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 18/184,Purani Mandi Circle | Fatehabad Road, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maya Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel And Restaurant
Maya Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing