We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“book it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Ranked #20 of 143 Hotels in Agra
sunnyvale
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“book it”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Clean/comfortable, modern bathroom, well-maintained grounds, roof-top diner.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your review . It is my pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. The hotel offers uninterrupted view and beautiful garden from the lobby and the rooms. I am glad that you enjoyed all guest facilities during your stay. However, we believe that it is our people who are our greatest assets, as they endeavor to create personalized experiences for our guests which translate into memories for a lifeti me. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    239
    155
    53
    44
See reviews for
181
284
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

The Grand Imperial Hotel is ideally suited for a family outing with kids to enjoy the stay Agra in heritage linked ambiance in a heritage city. Rooms are tastefully done up in fittings and furniture of olden era cleverly assimilated with conveniences and luxuries of modern times. The chandeliers, bed posts, paintings, chairs, dressing stand set in high ceiling room in air-conditioned settings give a feeling of semi-royalty of yore. Swimming pool is very neat and attractive with adjoining CHATRI. The Gym and Spa were not so good and did not live up to the rest of the standards. Restaurant settings and food is also but little pricey. Stayed for two nights and three days ( a family of four including two teenagers). Would like to repeat the experience in suite this time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goyalair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Grand Imperial. I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team. Its an honor to be your preferred choice in Agra. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This hotel is a heritaghe hotel of the times of the Raj, that has been tastefully converted and renovated to the standards of a 3star superior hotel in Europe. We had a suite so i cannot comment on the standard rooms.

Our room was well appointed, four poster bed overlooking the swimming pool. Electricity sockets and switches are a little old and should be updated for a higher H & S aspect. Bathroom had a bath (no walkin shower) but you can use the flexy shower and spray water all over the place :)

Breakfast was good for India and starts around 6:30 for those wanting to go early to the Taj Mahal. The evening meal is taken also in the same room, offering a buffet at 650 rupees or a la carte. We tried both the buffet and a la carte, it's not haute cuisine but we ate well and were not ill, so a good sign!

The only negative at this hotel is the reception staff, cold and inefficient. Also during wedding periods, there is a possibility that you will hear music being played fairly loud at all times of day and night. This is not at the hotel but nearby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pro-Travel-Buyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US and UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

When we arrived at the hotel we were given bindi and jasmine flower leis. We also received a glass of juice. there is also bottles of water provided in the room. The room was setup as a double, but they sent someone to separate the beds immediately. The hotel is located behind a gate and feels safe. The front garden is beautiful with sun chairs. The room was spacious. The staff were friendly and professional. The breakfast was good and with many choices. We had a lovely dinner in the hotel restaurant with live classical entertainment, however the power went out for a few minutes during the meal.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yedra78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Grand Imperial. I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team. Its an honor to be your preferred choice in Agra. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
3.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
2.3 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.9 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
1.4 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#15 of 143 in Agra
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Property: The Grand Imperial, Agra
Address: 32/107a Mahatma Gandhi Road, Opposite Dm Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#14 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era. The wide arches and the red Lahori brick walls are a blend of Colonial and Mughal architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. Located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly referred to as Lahori bricks, which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love - The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort. Post World War II the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played host to distinguished guests such as the crown princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and others. Its 16 chambers of princess rooms and 14 deluxe rooms are a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens, etc. Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing