We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad timing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Ranked #20 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed June 17, 2014

During our stay at the Grand Imperial there was a wedding taking place in the courtyard that kept us awake all night, the food was average and we weren't allowed to use the pool because of the wedding. This simply wasn't good enough and we were not informed about any of this before arriving. I must acknowledge that this could be TrailFinders fault, not the hotels. The food was also poor. However our room and interior design of the hotel are stunning. Great live music during dinner time. Shame about everything else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lc0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you, for your candid review. We shall look into the matter, and improve on the aspects mentioned.

Thanking you
The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Imperial, Agra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 710 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed one night and were upgraded to the Meerabai suite. It was a beautiful room with lots of space and very comfortable amenities. For the price, you can't be beat. The hotel arranged our transportation the next morning, stored our luggage safely, and accommodated our late arrival time. The breakfast was generous - might not be to many Westerners tastes but this picky eater enjoyed it! Would stay there again if I am in the area. Lovely Heritage hotel.

Room Tip: Meerabai Suite rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddy_Jack159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Thanking you
The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I Stayed the Hotel for 2 Nights, Nice location, Good staff Made my Stay conferrable, But some aspects are disappointing especially the food served, It must be Improved, overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinremese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review. We will definitely look into the matter and we assure you of full satisfaction in your next visit.


Thank you,

The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here one night at this magnificent and first class
hotel. Everything from the entrance to the room was so refined.
After returning from Taj Mahal sightseeing we had a few hours
before our train out to Varanasi . Manager Mr. Vibhu Vats and his
excellent and courteous front of house team member Mr. Mohammad Vats
were kind enough to offer a room for us to freshen up after a hot and busy dsy.
A perferct example of a can do attitude from this hotel.
thanks for a great and memorable time and stay in Agra.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoyheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Our endeavor to exceed the expectations of our guests
We are delighted with your review.. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Welcomed with garland & red powder on forehead and a welcome drink. Staff are well-behaved and friendly .Food is awesome & breakfast has a wide variety, pool is fabulous but no heating. Overall a great experience.....Must visit once...

Room Tip: Chamber of Prince suite rooms are large & pool opening.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosali_elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on Trip Advissor,
We are delighted with your review.. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Grand Hotel has a lot of character, as a surviving relic of the British Raj. Whilst the pool and gardens are picturesque and reasonably well maintained, our rooms, though large, comfortable and fairly clean, were dark due to lack of windows. Whilst the a la carte restaurant menu was well presented and featured elegant food, the breakfast buffet was disappointing, lacking in freshness and variety. Service was OK but slow - room staff make a habit of watching the room's TV whilst servicing rooms!Whilst the management staff seemed accommodating and were happy to organize transport, I cannot recommend their choice of taxi service. The driver they booked to take us to Delhi arrived obviously under the influence and was unable to complete this task. At considerable inconvenience, cost and risk to my family, we were forced to abandon this ride following a minor road accident and find our own way to Delhi.

Despite many requests hotel management has still not managed to refund the cost of this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MV_courts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We have apologized for this, through phone calls to you. We did send someone to do the repayment to you in full in your Delhi Hotel, but you were not available. Inspite of repeating calls from us to you, we did not get any response. We have even emailed you , asking for details of your bank to repay the amount. We regret the inconvenience.

Thank you,
The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night. Our room was comfortable although our king sized bed had a double sized duvet placed sideways so it wasn't quite long enough.
The gardens were well maintained and attractive and the building had some style rather than being the boring sameness of the chains.
We ate in the restaurant and it was ok, nothing special as was breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for your review.

Thank you,
The Grand Imperial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
3.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
2.3 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 142 in Agra
4,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
2.5 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#14 of 142 in Agra
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Address: 32/107a Mahatma Gandhi Road, Opposite Dm Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Agra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $37 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era. The wide arches and the red Lahori brick walls are a blend of Colonial and Mughal architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. Located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly referred to as Lahori bricks, which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love - The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort. Post World War II the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played host to distinguished guests such as the crown princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and others. Its 16 chambers of princess rooms and 14 deluxe rooms are a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens, etc. Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing