We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate heritage hotel in agra ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

A real royal feeling, stayed at the chamber of princess, Meera Bai.. A great experience, the live sitar music at the restaurant, the classical dance near the pool side, a fantastic experience. The food was very tasty, experienced the authentic agra cuisine. The caring staff and the front desk were excellent.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anvar69Trivandrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are delighted, that you enjoyed the heritage experience with us.

Thank you,
Tara Sura
The Grand Imperial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 716 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is a character hotel - ideally situated in Agra - blending the spacious style with modern facilities.
Good food and service in a perfect setting - blended with a traditional charm - what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJTUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you, for your wonderful review. We endeavor to do our best.

Thank you,
Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We wanted to see the Taj Mahal - but we didn't want to go to Agra! Trying to find a hotel of any interest and character was a major task: they didn't seem to exist! However we seemed to hit a jackpot with the Grand Imperial. Full of character and charm, and still well kept. The wood and floors gleamed and the antiques throughout we're polished and fresh. We were fortunate in being upgraded to a suite so the room was extra spacious and the pedestal bath required a separate step to reach it! All very 'grand' and 'imperial'! There's a lovely looking pool - but not for late November. The bar is small but quaint and the restaurant perhaps a little faded, but still gracious. The setting for tea on the lawns was perfect and one could almost see the ladies from the past with their parasols, sipping their Darjeeling and nibbling on cucumber sandwiches. Friendly and helpful staff completed the enjoyment of our stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank curlybjsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

The Grand Imperial does takes you back to the old Colonial - Mughal era. We are delighted, that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to your next visit. Thank you very much.

Tara Sura
The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I go to AGRA for take the prewedding photo , and we stay The Grand Imperial is a good choice for us , we love the vintage style room and the hotel have a garden we also take prewedding here very nice.
The hotel staff also very helpful and nice.

we must stay in The Grand Imperial next time if we go to Agra again .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pinky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We try our best to exce the expectations of our guests.

Thank you,
Tara Sura
The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We picked this place because we wanted to stay in an old fashioned hotel after staying in a series of modern ones. The hotel is built on two floors with open arched walkways on each floor with rooms leading off them. The rooms were traditionally furnished with antique furniture and old pictures on the walls. There was plenty of hot running water and the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We found the staff at reception polite and efficient and staff in the restaurant were equally efficient and helpful. We ate lunch and dinner in the restaurant. Dinner was a buffet with plenty of choice and it was full of flavour. Breakfast was also a very good buffet and it was the only time in India I had the choice to eat porridge for breakfast. Coffee was filty, but that is not unusual if a little surprising for a country that grows it, but never mind. I would recommend staying here if you like a bit of faded gentility.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michnoquetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are extremely delighted to know, that you enjoyed staying with us, and thank you for the same. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed one night while we did the Golden Triangle tour and this was by far our favourite hotel. The rooms were decorated very nicely and the beds were clean and comfortable. We didn't use the air conditioning as it was the end of November. The staff was friendly and helpful and we were welcomed with a flower necklace and a fruit drink. The hotel hosted a wedding in the evening and the hotel manager was absolutely wonderful by making sure that we felt welcome. The rooms were large and they supplied us with everything we needed - even a hairdryer for my wife when she asked. The restaurant was good and reasonable - musicians played during the dinner. The breakfast buffet was very good as well. We don't know the cost as this was a part of a tour.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor facing the courtyard, not back around by the pool. These rooms were ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikenDeb220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you, for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. It is guest like you, who boosts the morale of our team, and make them give off their best in terms of services.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Quite a disappointment but glad I o ly stayed here for a night.
As for the hotel staff I had 2 experiences: first a guy who was more busy with texting his friend than doing his job and the next experience was a very friendly and correct boy.
The room was very dated and did not look very clean. I was glad I was here alone else we'd have to battle over whom would get the small blanket. Barely enough for myself.
I only slept some hours because of the terrible noise. I never had such a noisy room. It was as if cars were honking in my room and I had a stereo switched on.
To round up the story: absolutely not worth the money and glad I did not book an entire weekend here. It was that I prepayed, else I would have thought seriously about checking out straight away after arrival.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Dimitry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you, for taking your valuable time out to post your review on trip advisor. We take your feedback very seriously and constructively, and will take action on the same.

Thank you,
Tara Sura
The Grand Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.9 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
3.6 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#111 of 144 in Agra
1,504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#14 of 144 in Agra
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
3.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Address: 32/107a Mahatma Gandhi Road, Opposite Dm Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Agra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $57 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era. The wide arches and the red Lahori brick walls are a blend of Colonial and Mughal architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. Located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly referred to as Lahori bricks, which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love - The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort. Post World War II the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played host to distinguished guests such as the crown princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and others. Its 16 chambers of princess rooms and 14 deluxe rooms are a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens, etc. Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing