We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor reception and housekeeping staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor reception and housekeeping staff”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

No doubt its a good place to stay and relax for a while with a much justified heritage look. We were upgraded to princess suites room no 201,202,203 for free and rooms were nice and big with excellent wooden interior. We checked in at Saturday morning i.e on 22nd of june 2013 for a one night stay just to see Tajmahal and nearby places. As planned we checked out next day around 11 and as we were paying the bill we came to know that they overcharged us for the things never there in the fridge provided at the mini bar in our rooms. It was their housekeeping staff who gave the wrong information about the missing things from the fridge and after arguing with the manager he debited that amount. So first of all keep an account of the things placed and you are consuming while your stay. Secondly, as soon as we reached delhi/home i came to know that i forgot my shoes in the room so i called up at the reception thrice but the answer was same every time "we are searching for it and we'll call you back if found". That night they never called i guess they were searching for it whole night. Next day i called up again just to confirm if they still searching for it a lady at the reception pick up the phone and told me same line they were taught while training "we are searching for it and we'll call you back if found". So they started the search again and finally when i again called up after an hour or so they told me "we didn't found your shoes". I know for sure that it was that housekeeping staff that stole my shoes as well as booze from the fridge but ultimately it harms the reputation of a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koolkruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We shall take utmost care of all things mentioned in your feedback, and assure you that we will take strict disciplinarian action against the staff concerned.

We apologize for the same.

Thank you,
Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    233
    154
    53
    43
See reviews for
179
274
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

As soon as u check in they will entertain u but after that Anybody can enter ur room ,steal n mess ur room in ur absence, even after telling them not to open your room and the manager will not also entertain u. Manish(Delhi) contact no. 9810847873

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manishvaswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for taking the time to post your comments,, however late they are.

It has been a year since your last visit, and we assure you , that your visit will be a very satisfied one.

Thank you,

Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

location is good near sadar bazar market but hotel is below expectations. rooms were in miserable condition on that time. rooms was full of foil smell. beds were not comfortable. they provide twin bed for a couple instead of a king size bed. pool was in good condition we didn't used it. staff was warm and co operative. breakfast was average just poori bhaji, omelet tea and toast. we choose this hotel as a special deal in off season. not recommendable if going for relaxing holiday since it has no value for money.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiNeeraj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review.

Your feedback is appreciated and taken most seriously and constructively., as it helps us in to improve the care and services that we strive for.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused, and assure you of exceeding your expectations.

Thank you,
Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This property is synonymous with HUGE rooms and bigger bathrooms. Loved the use of red bricks in the rooms, it gives a very royal vibe to the place. Also learnt the hotel is a heritage property used to belong to one of the Maharajas of Agra. Historically, many important personalities have visited the place. They have restored it well. The food can still be improved. Look out for the puppet plays in the evenings and the gazal sessions in the restaurant at night.
This place is apt for those who want a whiff of the royal life at affordable rates.

Room Tip: pick the big suites on the first floor. for those who want to close to the pool choose the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeghaChaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It boosts the morale of our staff, who strive to give their best to all our guests.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was our second visit in this hotel, So we went there with lots of hope and excitement but the right from entering the resort, everything turned out to be a huge disappointment-be it staff, service, hospitality, food and everything else. The food was low on both variety and quality and to make it worse, the staff was not at all courteous. Besides, the room service was as bad as it could be. There was just one swimming pool and that too quite small to accommodate the number of guests ,
We went 10 am for breakfast buffet was amply, only one boy was there to serve us .he told us Bfast is coming from kitchen you can order for Eggs . I went to egg counter is was very dirty/ unhygienic, one cook was standing without shave with very dirty apron, egg counter was full with eggs shall, oil etc , we did not order for eggs when we call chef , one person came again without shave with very dirty apron and uniform, without cap, sweating like pig , we decided not to have breakfast , we call manager .
A person came and clam that he is Manager( Mr. Nitan ) we try to complain about our experience , sorry he did not understand/ able to talk in English ,it was the only hotel in my 10 days tour where no one understand English .
Housekeeping was ok but linen was very bad, dirty ,grey ,holes is sheets, rooms was very noisy .
I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliyawoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to post your reviews on Trip Advisor. It is with regret that I note the disappointment with various aspects of our services, for which I apologise.

Your feedback is taken very positively, and seriously as it enables us to improve our services, which we endeavour to provide to all our guests.


Thank you,

Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

las vegas, nevada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This beautiful 100 year old colonial hotel still maintains its stately ambience. High ceilings, fans, double inside and outside doors, and period furniture grace the rooms. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant and the breakfast included an egg station. Service was from an earlier time when there was someone ready whenever you might need something. An easy recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdiefore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted, that the services rendered, were upto your expectations and your stay was comfortable.

I have taken cognizance of your comments, and assure you the same services and comfort on your next visit.

Thank you,

Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

recently i was there at my cousin sis wedding....after seeing the hotel i thought that hospitality should be above the marks but worst then the cheap hotel...no cold water for drinking.....no proper food service at the wedding time...waiter were bunch of fools not able to manage ....simply waste of money....in my regards one should choose if they want to burn there money

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonugud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to give us your feedback. It is with regret that I note your disappointment with various aspects of our service, for which I apologize.
Your feed is taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly improve the care and service, we endeavor to provide to all our guests,
I hope you let us have the opportunity to make amends and restore your faith in The Grand Imperial.

Tara Sura
General Manager
The Grand Imperial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
3.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.4 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#15 of 144 in Agra
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#94 of 144 in Agra
1,481 reviews
1.9 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
2.5 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Property: The Grand Imperial, Agra
Address: 32/107a Mahatma Gandhi Road, Opposite Dm Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Agra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era. The wide arches and the red Lahori brick walls are a blend of Colonial and Mughal architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. Located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly referred to as Lahori bricks, which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love - The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort. Post World War II the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played host to distinguished guests such as the crown princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and others. Its 16 chambers of princess rooms and 14 deluxe rooms are a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens, etc. Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing