We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Style Charm, Facilities Not Up to Expectation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Imperial, Agra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Ranked #25 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Style Charm, Facilities Not Up to Expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel has a nice ambiance. The rooms are nice looking, elegant, and spacious. The bed was relatively comfortable. However, they left a few things to be desired. We were there at the end of January, and were freezing in the room. They provided a small (and very old) heater, not nearly large enough to heat the room. The bathroom was in desperate need of renovation. The shower was difficult to use, had terrible water pressure, and did not provide much warm water. When we turned the sink on for the first time, we had to let the brown water empty before actually using it.

The breakfast spread was good and the staff were friendly (though didn't speak the best English so some of our requests weren't entirely met).

Overall, a solid and comfortable hotel to enjoy Agra and the Taj Mahal from, but it could definitely use some updating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffwachter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest


Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your feedback on this forum.We have shared your review with the team at the hotel and they are delighted to know that you found the service up to your expectations and your experience at the hotel was a positive and memorable one.

We have taken note of the issues that you faced in regards to the plumbing & heating as well as the Instant service. Our sincere apologies for the same and we hope you do not hold this against the hotel.We have also gone ahead and rolled out an even more aggressive preventive maintenance program with our engineering team to avoid such incidents in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements

Warm Regards,
Sandeep Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    217
    151
    53
    41
See reviews for
170
256
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Delightful room, old wooden furniture with quirky features, lovely old floor tiles. Additional heater which was welcome in February 
Staff all friendly and welcoming BUT
Bathroom in serious need of upgrade if want to attract repeat custom from western visitors. Towels were horribly grey. 
Shower basically didn't work as rusted up but got need head after dragging reception to see it and getting maintenance. But every time flushed loo floor flooded with water as it did when taking a shower. Old cast iron bath seriously dilapidated but as taking a bath in india would not be respectful to the serious lack of water here I didn't use it anyway.
Buffet food ok but expensive for what it was and the old water scam on bill was tried.
Garden lovely to sit in away from frantic Agra but hassled by puppeteers. A hotel should be somewhere one can escape hawkers. 
Paying for wifi unacceptable today 
Shame because this sort of thing means I will not book here again and this hotel could be a real gem if some investment in plumbing was made, towels replaced and puppeteer told not to hang around rooms trying to sell. As the only really old hotel in Agra they need to take some lessons from the wonderful heritage hotels in Rajasthan and then they would have a gold mine .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We are also thankful to you for having taken out time for putting your valuable review.

We are extremely sorry for the reservation issue. Please is rest assured that we have taken these issues with the concerned department.

The primary objective of our organization is to give you uncomplicated Comfort. However, sometimes in spite of best of our intentions things go wrong.

My team joins me in sending you our sincere apology for inconvenience caused and assure you of best of our services at all given times.

I would be profoundly happy if you could give us another chance of serving you once again.

Looking forward to have the privilege of having you stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Sandeep Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Even though I only had a short stay here I was overwhelmed by the place. The building and the rooms were fantastic. I would have loved to have stayed a bit longer here but I was with a tour group. Thank you again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vooman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hi,

PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!

We are extremely delighted to read your comments and would like to thank you for having taken time out to post your review.

I am pleased to know that you had a good stay with us and you liked the facilities and our hotel.

Your positive feedback keeps us motivated and our endevaour is to ensure that we continue giving you our best.

We look forward to have you again with us.Once again along with all my associates we thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to your future stay.

Warm Regards,
Sandeep Chopra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at this heritage hotel so as to be near to the Taj Mahal and was not disappointed with our choice.We stayed in one of the suites which had a door opening out into a courtyard area with nice pool. What a beautiful hotel with lovely grounds, tasteful furniture and soft furnishings in the rooms, our bathroom was spacious with a super free-standing bath and all the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly.
We ate in the diningroom which was a pleasant experience as traditional music was played as background music.Breakfast was ideal for me as I like lots of choice and I especially liked having an omelette freshly made to order.All in all it was an excellent experience staying here and a real luxury.

Room Tip: The rooms looking on to the pool are superb and great for families as they can open their bedroom do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!

Thank you so much for your patronage and support. We are indeed happy to know that you liked our hotel and our services and are satisfied with your stay with us.

We strive very hard to ensure that each and every guest who visits our hotel goes home with fond memories.

Your positive feedback keeps us motivated and our endevaour is to ensure that we continue giving you our best.

We look forward to have you again with us.Once again along with all my associates we thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to your future stay.

Warm Regards,
Sandeep Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We planned our trip staying at heritage hotels, and this seemed to fit the bill.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful. But the hotel doesn't make the standard. Cold shower. Water went everywhere because it was a free standing bath. I was very suspicious about cleanliness.

The bed was hard. The phone kept ringing through the night .. I felt that reception was ringing in each room!

I had a ground floor room by the "puppet show". This was a bunch of unmelodious children that went on till almost 10pm.

Looked good from the outside, but didn't deliver.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We are also thankful to you for having taken out time for putting your valuable review.

We are extremely sorry for the reservation issue. Please is rest assured that we have taken these issues with the concerned department.

The primary objective of our organization is to give you uncomplicated Comfort. However, sometimes in spite of best of our intentions things go wrong.

My team joins me in sending you our sincere apology for inconvenience caused and assure you of best of our services at all given times.

I would be profoundly happy if you could give us another chance of serving you once again.

Looking forward to have the privilege of having you stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Sandeep Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very very nice and big rooms - this hotel does really give you the feel of living/sleeping in large, nicely customised, furnished rooms, which on the ground floor all have a direct access to the pool, which is not as deep as it looks !!!
Cant comment about the dinner, but the breakfast was ok.
What a fantastic "colonial" hotel - Would stay there again if I was going to have a look at the Taj again

Room Tip: ground floor - with direct access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumbaibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!

Thank you so much for your patronage and support. We are indeed happy to know that you liked our hotel and our services and are satisfied with your stay with us.

We strive very hard to ensure that each and every guest who visits our hotel goes home with fond memories.

Your positive feedback keeps us motivated and our endevaour is to ensure that we continue giving you our best.

We look forward to have you again with us.Once again along with all my associates we thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to your future stay.

Warm Regards,
Sandeep Chopra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Quite modern and well organized. The staffs can speak good English and offers a variety of amenities / facilities. Spacious & clean room. Food was good with reasonable price. We like the fact that the staff seems to be very helpful & polite.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Janica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Sir,
PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Agra.
Thank you very much for sharing your compliments on our service, product and facilities on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to note that you found our service of the highest standard. My team and I deem it a privilege to have served you and we are happy to read such a delightful review from you.
Your compliments will certainly act as a source of great motivation for all of us to strive even further for excellence.


Warm Regards,

Sandeep Chopra
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
3.6 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#76 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Property: The Grand Imperial, Agra
Address: 32/107a Mahatma Gandhi Road, Opposite Dm Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Agra
#16 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era. The wide arches and the red Lahori brick walls are a blend of Colonial and Mughal architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. Located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly referred to as Lahori bricks, which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love - The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort. Post World War II the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played host to distinguished guests such as the crown princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and others. Its 16 chambers of princess rooms and 14 deluxe rooms are a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens, etc. Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing