We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive looking hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Ranked #20 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night and had a pleasant stay ,beds are comfortable ,bathrooms badly need updating but did have a bath,in it's day this hotel would have been really impressive,there was a wedding going on the night of our stay but we were'nt aware of any noise in room,average breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucywales55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We are also thankful to you for having taken out time for putting your valuable review.
PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!
We are happy to know that your overall experience was satisfactory. We are extremely sorry for the reservation issue. Please is rest assured that we have taken these issues with the concerned department.

My team joins me in sending you our sincere apology for inconvenience caused and assure you of best of our services at all given times.

I would be profoundly happy if you could give us another chance of serving you once again.

Looking forward to have the privilege of having you stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Sandeep Chopra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Imperial, Agra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 709 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here as we didn't want to stay at corporate type hotels whilst in India. As it's a heritage hotel (the only one in Agra) there is lots of quirkiness, which is what we love. If you want perfection and standardization it won't be for you - plumbing a little erratic with a wet floor periodically (though no inconvenience whatsoever!), old furniture and original tiles ( all a little worn, but really characterful). We found the staff really helpful and polite, and everywhere spotlessly clean. The laundry service was efficient, too. We didn't like the city of Agra (though would never have missed the Taj Mahal -fabulous!), so found this hotel a nice oasis just off a busy road. There seem to be different standards of rooms - we saw ones by the pool (see photos) which looked quite basic compare to our own facing the lawn. Similarly our room was quiet and we slept really well in our comfortable high traditional-styled bed. We only ate breakfast and lunch here, so can't comment on the evening meal, but we had no complaints about what we had, and the service was good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosliwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Sir

PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!

We thank you for your precious feedback. We would like to inform you that your feedback has been shared with the entire hotel team and it will help us motivate them and further enhance our service standards

We once again thank you for your precious time and hope to welcome you back again.

Thanks & Regards,

Sandeep Chopra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel was built in 1908 and retains it's excellent clean and uncluttered style of the period. The rooms are very roomy with antique furniture matching the period. Luckily, the hotel has not been "boutiqued" so it retains the British atmosphere of the era. The Imperial is in the center of noisy Agra but has excellent double pane windows and a double door so the noise is highly muted. The staff is delightful and you are greeted with full pomp and circumstance including a flower necklace and red-dot on your forehead. I will say that the third floor hosts banquets so it may get very noisy for anyone staying on the second floor - this is just a realistic assumption since no activity was happening during my stay. The breakfast buffet was OK but you can order freshly prepared egg dishes. The other meals were also OK. The grounds are spacious with a beautiful pool in the back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtpana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is our constant endeavor to anticipate guests’ requirements and fulfill the requests in the best of our abilities.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the Hotel and services provided by the team. It is truly heartening to have our efforts recognized by you in such a manner.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Sandeep Chopra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The reviews about this place being an oasis are absolutely spot on. After a long six hour drive from Jaipu and our driver getting lost in the hurly burly of Agra streets in the descending gloom we finally arrived at our destination. . This garden proved to be a haven away from the dirt, noise and dust of Agra. Some how one could never hear the noise from the streets barely yards away over the boundary wall. We stayed two nights here and when we finished our sightseeing chores we were delighted to be able to relax in the peace of the garden where we would read, eat, share a drink, play a game and just chill. The hotel is an heritage hotel as they are called in India, that is, it is not a purpose built hotel but originally a private manson converted into suites or rooms. We had one of the air conditioned suites on the ground floor which was magnificent and was bigger than all the rooms we stayed in at luxury five star hotels during our trip. fantastic personal service. Of all the brilliant five star hotels we stayed in during our trip to India we loved the The Grand Imperial the most. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: pool side rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindarose1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Sir,

PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Agra.

Thank you very much for sharing your compliments on our service, product and facilities on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you found our service of the highest standard. My team and I deem it a privilege to have served you and we are happy to read such a delightful review from you. Every guest is very special to us and it is our endeavour to make sure that they have a memorable experience.

Your compliments will certainly act as a source of great motivation for all of us to strive even further for excellence.

We thank you once again for your time and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Warm regards,

Sandeep Chopra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

An old building - very colonial - very British Raj feeling. Set far enough back from the road to not be noisy.
Lovely room, with sitting area to one side. Bed very comfortable, and room spacious. Bathroom huge, and here is where India needs to improve. The shower was over the bath, but there was no shower curtain, and the bath was a free standing bath, not set into the wall. So showering normally would result in large amounts of water going everywhere. Second morning of our stay we had no hot water. It was tepid. We wondered if the large group who were staying had used all the hot - they had left by the time we got up.
Kettle was malfunctioning and it was replaced rapidly with no fuss.
Pool chilly - unheated, but that's what they do.
Food. Not brilliant. Breakfast had fruit, some pastries, cereals and so on. But we weren't impressed. The evening food - buffet style - was just OK. Second night we ate out ( Vedic - see separate review). Tuktuk driver who waited outside the main gate knew the place and took us straight there. Haggle for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Madam,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Grand Imperial, Agra. We thank you for sparing your valuable time to share feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay and that you will recommend The The Grand Imperial, Agra to potential travellers.

Your appreciation of the hotel is very inspiring.

We have noted your feedback, and we are look forward to your continued visits and to welcoming you back to The The Grand Imperial, Agra.

Thank you,

Warm regards,

Sandeep Chopra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The check in staff was friendly and efficient. The room I stayed in was very well done. More than anything I liked the lobby, very nostalgic, colonial feeling. The food was nice. All in all I would say that this hotel has a reasonably convenient location and is an excellent value for money. My visit was short, just one night, but I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at The Grand Imperial, Agra.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for sparing your time to share your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We hope you will return soon give us an opportunity to welcome you back again.

Thank you,

Warm regards,

Sandeep Chopra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We must assume these other reviewers stayed at a different Grand Imperial to us!

It was noisy, the staff gracious but not up to the challenges faced running a hotel, the food was generally cold and if you didnt want the evening buffet, there was vitually nothing else.

In all honesty we cannot recoment this but hey, other liked it so what do we know?

Room Tip: Do NOT get one above the reception. You might as well sleep on the street! Insist on one over the re...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aden m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandimperial, General Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

PRANAM, from The Grand Imperial Agra !!
Thank you for having taken the timeout to post your review. We are concerned that you were not happy with your experience at our Hotel. I have personally looked into this and spoken to my team and can assure you that my team will leave no stone unturned to ensure that this doesn't happen in future.

The primary objective of our organization is to give you uncomplicated Comfort. However, sometimes inspite of best of our intentions things go wrong.

My team joins me in sending you our sincere apologies and assure you of best of our services at all given times.

Looking forward to have the privilege of having you stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Sandeep Chopra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
3.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
2.3 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 142 in Agra
4,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
2.5 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#14 of 142 in Agra
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Address: 32/107a Mahatma Gandhi Road, Opposite Dm Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Agra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $37 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era. The wide arches and the red Lahori brick walls are a blend of Colonial and Mughal architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. Located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly referred to as Lahori bricks, which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love - The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort. Post World War II the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played host to distinguished guests such as the crown princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and others. Its 16 chambers of princess rooms and 14 deluxe rooms are a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens, etc. Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing