We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the 2nd Hotel part of our Golden Triangle Tour" by Go Heritage India Journeys Ltd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Ranked #20 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is the 2nd Hotel part of our Golden Triangle Tour" by Go Heritage India Journeys Ltd”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a heritage hotel. The positive aspects of the resort: 1. Great service ; the staff take a lot of pride and dedication in serving their guests. 2. Rooms are huge and spacious. 3. The resort is nice and peaceful and location is good.
Furnitures in the Room gives the feel of a heritage property

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jum_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Grand Imperial. I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team. Its an honor to be your preferred choice in Agra. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    237
    155
    53
    43
See reviews for
180
282
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a heritage hotel mirroring the architecture and culture that Agra was a part of.

The positive aspects of the resort:
1. Great service ; the staff take allot of pride and dedication in serving their guests.
2. Rooms are huge and spacious.
3. The resort is nice and peaceful and location is good.

Negative aspects of the resort:
1. Lacks in facilities ; swimming pool also very very small.
2. Rooms are a bit outdated especially the bathrooms , also if you are going to stay here in Winter it gets really really cold in Agra and the heating system employed by the resort is insufficient in my opinion , as I freezed my butt off!
3. The resort is also not very clean.

Overall I would suggest this hotel to any traveller who would want to goto Agra for a quick,simple stay ; not expecting anything really 'grand' from this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrientalTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villers-la-Ville, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2-nights during our recent tour in India.
What a palace - especially in comparison with some of the other hotels we stayed in during our trip! A nice touch was having easy chairs outside one's bedroom, facing the garden where one could sit and enjoy a drink in tranquility.
I can't say much more than to say it was absolutely excellent and I would have no hesitation in re-visiting should the occasion arise and to highly recommend the hotel to those who might be visiting and staying in Agra.
Our triple room (the Emperor Shivaji Maharaj) was enormous with a small sitting room area, a huge bathroom and all very well appointed.
The pool was a nice size and in a well secluded 'walled garden' area.
The restaurant was very nice and our thanks go to the Manager and his assistant who looked after us so well on the two occasions we dined there and enjoyed the food.
The negative point? The serving of fruit in tiny dishes at breakfast was somewhat ridiculous, considering the richness and variety of fruit that exists in India! Saw absolutely millions of mangoes on sale during our drive(s) but never had any served in an hotel for breakfast!!! Why not? On both occasions when we purchased mangoes in a supermarket and on the roadside we paid less than €1 a kilo!!!
Would have loved to have stayed longer!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Grand Imperial. I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team. Its an honor to be your preferred choice in Agra. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

WIth lush green grounds, a swimming pool, and large comfortable rooms, The Grand Imperial is a good choice in Agra. The rooms are furnished nicely, with everything you need, and once you've figured out how the air conditioning works it is quite comfortable. The restaurant has food that is average, and the service is quite slow. The staff, however, is friendly and strives to be helpful. We stayed one night, and everything was fine. No problems or issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Grand Imperial. I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team. Its an honor to be your preferred choice in Agra. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

very dirty everywhere: elevator, rooms with a strong smell of humid, little animals, bath very ancient, restaurant with the noise of mosquitos, food no good, in a word "uncomfortable".We have spent there one night, after we have gone to the Radisson hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaoclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

ok so this hotel is used to offering rooms for tourist`s that are going to see the Taj

i was there for 5 weeks, the hotel did everything to please me , they even ran a internet cable direct to my room so i could work n surf at good speed, the hotel is friendly , if you stay be sure to get one of the suites on the second floor , there very large and comfortable , i liked my stay there ,and will stay again they will even pack you your breakfast if running late for the office or site seeing
just ask
Steve

Room Tip: the suites are great with four poster beds , with a nice traditional feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here for 2 days in April 2012. The hotel looked majestic from outside, built on a grand scale. Lounge was big and beautiful,but I wondered why no guests were seen at 7PM. Went into the room and a musty smell, like that of a unclean Air conditioner, hit me. Went into the bathroom, and found out only hot water was running at the basin. It was 38 Degree Celcius at that time, and I , for sure, didint need HOT water!!!! Called up room service....never came in 45 minutes. I actually went down on my knees , under the sink, and found out that someone had closed the cold water faucet.... as it was leaking onto the floor!!! Great way to stop a leak! Didnt management know about this problem? Or they just wished it away?
The TV was a 21inch CRT TV of 1980 era with more of noise than of pictures. Switched it off in 1 minute!
Room space was average. Furniture were OLD ,needing polish. On switching ON the bed-stand light, the whole canopy with the CFL bulb and its holder fell down! Again, I found out that the canopy was precariously balanced on the BROKEN brass bulb holder. Again, didn't the management know this? Are'nt they supposed to check? What if i got electrocuted?
Food was just OK,as I was hungry after driving for 6 hours, otherwise I would have gone outside to find better grub. Expect nothing to eat after 11PM or so. if lucky you may get some stale and cold sandwich. Morning Breakfast was meager in variety, low in quality.
I got frustrated. Left by 9 or 10am next day. Drove back to Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiddoctor-delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandImperial, Manager at The Grand Imperial, Agra, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Grand Imperial I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Grand Imperial in the future. Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.4 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#14 of 143 in Agra
1,336 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
3.6 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#106 of 143 in Agra
1,493 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Imperial, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Imperial, Agra

Property: The Grand Imperial, Agra
Address: 32/107a Mahatma Gandhi Road, Opposite Dm Bunglow, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Agra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Imperial, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GRAND IMPERIAL AGRA The Grand Imperial is the only Heritage hotel in Agra, and takes you into a world of Victorian Era. The wide arches and the red Lahori brick walls are a blend of Colonial and Mughal architecture.The Grand Imperial offers enough history to keep guests engrossed for days on end. There are special rooms, old mementos, photographs and macho stories of courage and velour that can be recounted over and over again. Located in the heart of the city of Agra, the hot seat of the Mughal Empire, the 100 year old Grand Imperial is constructed of biscuit bricks commonly referred to as Lahori bricks, which were also used in the construction of the world renowned monument of love - The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort. Post World War II the Imperial Hotel, as was then known, played host to distinguished guests such as the crown princes of England and Japan, Prince Aga Khan, Shri Moti Lal Nehru, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Jai Prakash Narayan and renowned cinema personalities such as Dilip Kumar, Madhubala and others. Its 16 chambers of princess rooms and 14 deluxe rooms are a blend of the new modern comforts with old Heritage ambience. The property consists of old heritage, Victorian style arches, rooms with large areas and ceilings, wide corridors and spacious verandahs, open gardens, etc. Enjoy the Victorian-Mughal Era, in the bar, with its array of excellent wines, and beers. The multi-cuisine restaurant, bar, health club, spa, and lush lawns, makes your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Imperial, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Imperial, Agra Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing