We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View”
Review of Hotel Taj Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Taj Plaza
Ranked #93 of 143 Hotels in Agra
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a View”
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Yes the hotels decor may be a little faded but WHAT A VIEW. We paid Rps1600 for a room whose windows looked straight on to the east gate of the Taj. And aren't you in Agra for the Taj?

I agree the terrace is totally under utilised. It is a flat roof with a few plastic tables and chairs. But it is the only place in Agra to be in spitting distance of the Taj for a sunset beer.

We found the service on the terrace extremenly pleasant and the food spot on at breakfast. The terrace closed after sunset when we were there and we didn't fancy the restaurant downstairs. So ate round the corner in the backpackers restaurants.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Decor a bit jaded
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HolidayNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    153
    139
    77
    72
See reviews for
110
195
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Its bit costly side compared to the facility. The room service is very poor. You need to call them multiple times to get things done. Rooms are ok type if you choose not stay in the room much. The Taj view from terrace is wonderful. But if you need a Taj view room you need to pay extra and also in winter its dicey to see it in fog. The resturant food is atrocious and service takes ages to serve the food. But the staffs are nice and polite. They reply you back if you e-mail them.

  • Liked — Proximity to taj
  • Disliked — Poor room service and costly resturant
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandipanMallick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

uk
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

The best thing about the Taj Paza is the view of the Taj and its close proximity to same. Apart from that, we found the hotel to be rather disappointing. The place is in need of refurbishment, the rooms rather dingy and not very comfortable. Cleaning of the room and general housekeeping was not good. Our Taj view room lacked a balcony to enjoy the view. The rooftop restaurant seemed to be in the process of being revamped and wasnt really functioning....its fine location is begging to be made something of. The restaurant on the ground floor was unexciting and the food mediocre, and there is little other choice in walking distance. Had it not been for the attentive and kindly "Mr Deep" of the hotel management and the welcoming military presence of the doorman, the hotel would have rated poorly.

  • Liked — Location near to Taj Mahal and rooftop views
  • Disliked — Poor standard
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pandc2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

The Taj PLaza is a nice and cheap place to stay. The rooms are OK but only a few face the Taj. The suite room is big enough for a family of five.

The staff are helpful and the meals are OK there.

The best bit is it is near the Taj and near the Taj nature walk. They have maps of Agra itself and are helpful in sorting out how to get to places.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Long stairs
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Red-110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

The hotels in the Taj Mahal area are more expensive than they ought to be because they can be. Who doesn't want to see the Taj Mahal? The Hotel Taj Plaza is just adequate, nothing special, but you can get a Taj View room you can probably afford (right next to the Oberoi, same view, without the painful 600 dollars plus price tag). The rooms are tolerable, no more. Clean enough, with an adequate bathroom, weird but useable shower, and like many Indian hotels, stingy with the TP for westerners. Smells funky (many rooms smells of mothballs in India it seems--a mosquito abatement plan I think). But the people are nice enough (a little too much service from too many people, a common occurrence in Indian hotels as well). They'll try to sell you guides, trips, whatever, it's up to you to only accept what you want. The place has a nice rooftop restaurant with decent food and of course, an amazing view. They'll get you beer or whatever you'd like to drink even though it isn't on the menu, and they do make an effort to provide good service. The hotel itself is steps away from the Taj, and it's the only reason to go there. The neighborhood can be intimidating at night, but be brave and smart. On that same street is the Hotel Sheela, I might choose that one if I had it to do again though.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Bit run down
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gratonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the Taj East Gate BUT rickshaws are so inexpensive that even this does not make the prospect of staying at this hotel attractive. We booked a Taj Facing roon and paid for 4 months in advance and we did not get this. The room we did get was very small and not facing the Taj Mahal . The view from the restaurant was dependent on how much smog there was from the pollution and fog.
It was overpriced , and very very dirty. The towels were wet and the bathroom filthy. There was no hot water. The door was rotting and we could not shut our room door properly. The photos other travellers have posted of the bathrooms are a true representation. The rooms open onto an open stairwell and the noise that the staff made was incredible. The heater did not work. All the manager wanted to do was sell you daytrips at a huge cost and when you did not agree, he became quite rude and had no customer skills at all. We asked him to book us a taxi to rail station and the price went up and up and up. This hotel would ruin any trip to Agra.

  • Liked — restaurant ok
  • Disliked — filthy and rude noisy staff
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreakim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

They promised a bus station pick-up that didn't happen -- we emailed twice and called them before we arrived to confirm this. The hotel didn't apologize, only gave excuses as to why they didn't pick us up. Next, the room they gave us had some problems -- the door and the tv were broken. When I asked if we could switch rooms they told us we couldn't because the hotel was full -- it wasn't and I when I asked about this they said, "Oh, maybe we do have another room." The day before we left we asked if they could buy us tickets to Delhi, which they said they could. We told them the time we wanted to go and we paid them. The price was higher than we expected, and they threw on a hefty "reservation fee." After dinner that night we asked again if they got the tickets -- "yes, yes, they'll be here in the morning when you leave." The next morning we ask the front desk about the tickets and they tell us they have no idea about ordering us any tickets, so we ask to speak to the manager who calls the guy who was working the day before and he tells us, "oh, no problem, we called ahead and reserved the ticekts". This way a lie and I knew it -- when the hotel driver was ready to leave I saw the guy at the front desk hand him the money and tell him to buy two tickets to Delhi. I called him on this and totally busted him. They had no intension of buying our tickets beforhead -- even though they charged us the 100Rs "reservation fee" which was on top of the already overpriced tickets. Again, no apologies, just excuses. I managed to get all my money back and we took an autorickshaw on the street instead of their driver. It was almost 300Rs cheaper to do it ourselves. Absolute shysters!

On a positive note, the hotel had a very friendly doorman, and the guys working up on the rooftop restaurant were nice too. That, and it was a very short walk to the Taj. For these two reason I give the Taj Palace Hotel 2 stars.

Bottom line, I would avoid this place based on the front desks' dishonesty and lack of customer service skills. I'm sure there are other, better places in town.

  • Disliked — Dishonest and unprofessional front desk staff
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceclix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 143 in Agra
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#86 of 143 in Agra
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#31 of 143 in Agra
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#102 of 143 in Agra
583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#65 of 143 in Agra
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 143 in Agra
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Plaza

Property: Hotel Taj Plaza
Address: Fatehabad Road | Near Hotel the Oberoi Amar Vilas, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taj Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Taj Plaza offers 40 rooms which are divided into three categories i.E. Taj Facing Deluxe Room, Deluxe A/C Room and Non AC Room. The rooms are spacious and offer a beautiful view of the famous Taj Mahal to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a multi cuisine restaurant, Magic of Spice where guests can treat their taste buds with Indian, Chinese, Continental and Mughlai delicacies. There is a 24 hours Coffee N Taj Rooftop restaurant and Bar-Be-Que where comfort and taste come together in delectable food and gracious surroundings. Hotel Taj Plaza provides 24-hour a day, 7 days a week services of qualified personnels on duty at the front desk in the reception area. Also, qualified staff members are always alert and available to guests, walk-ins and attending telephone calls from all over the world 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Hotel has a well-equipped lobby with comfortable sitting area. A well established travel desk is committed to fulfill the travel requirements of guests. 24 hours power backup is provided for electricity outages. Guests can avail 24 hours personalized room service for a great stay experience. There is a nearby ATM cash machine for the convenience of guests. All major credit cards are acceptable and foreign currency exchange services is also available. A well spacious conference and banquet hall is available that can accommodate 10 to 100 people at a time. Various other facilities provided by the hotel are luggage deposit, internet station, family reading room, car parking, daily newspaper, laundry and dry cleaning, telephone and baby sitting services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Taj Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing