We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view of the Taj from the rooftop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Taj Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Taj Plaza
Ranked #65 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view of the Taj from the rooftop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for three nights and enjoyed my stay very much:
- Great view of the Taj from the rooftop, where friendly staff serve affordable and ok food
- My room was clean, but not spotless, however for the price I wouldn't complain
- The staff are all very very friendly and happy to assist
- Easy to access the Taj grounds by foot - only ten minutes walk from the East Gate
- As written in another review, try the next door Oberei Amarvillas for food/drinks: probably THE best hotel with amazing food and beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the noisy street Go to next door Oberei Amarvillas for drinks/dinner - it is AMA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elephant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    153
    137
    77
    65
See reviews for
110
190
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Taj Plaza has excellent location near Taj Mahal. Staff is so good and helpful. Security personal there whole night. Reception Lady was so helpful, she accommodate my guests nicely prior to my check in, Thanks a lot.

From Roof nice Taj view, Restaurant is also good. Overall a nice place to stay in Taj Nagri with wonderful Hotel Staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharmaedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Chile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Taj Plaza has a privileged location between the ticket office and the east gate of the Taj Mahal, each within short walking distance. It has a restaurant in the terrace which offers a nice view of the Taj and the lobby and halls are pretty much what you would expect in a 3-star hotel in Asia.
It has a restaurant which offers unremarkable non-veg dishes but pretty good vegetarian choices; they also offer three breakfast choices (not included in the price of the room, but pretty cheap anyway) and I had the Indian breakfast, which was barely OK, with a lot of bread, a small bowl of potatoes and that´s it.
The rooms were not clean and the linen smelled. The bathrooms were unkept and looked as if they hadn´t been fully cleaned. The TV didn´t work and they were unable to fix it.
The staff at the reception were very helpful to help me arrange transport and some other things I needed.
Overall, an average hotel in a very good location. But I can´t recommend it based on the low cleanliness standards. I stayed in other hotels in India which were also mid-range and this was not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaston3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel is located on the quiet east road and in between the ticket office and east gate of Taj Marah. To me it's an excellent location not only because it has the Taj Marah view on the rooftop restaurant, but also it's just next to what I believe is the best hotel in Agra, Amarvillas, that it's very convenient to enjoy a drink there. The service is OK, we found it strange that the exchange rate is different at day time and night time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Really near the East Gate that gate opens first for sunrise visits to the Taj Mahal. The hotel is so close to the ticket desk. The hotel was very informative & helpful with taxi booking & trip advice.
The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. Shower looked dated but good power & hot water. I had Superior Taj facing from Agoda £16 and found it to be superb value. Would not be suitable for someone who couldn't manage stairs. This room was very handy for roof top restaurant, which had a wonderful view of the Taj Mahal.
The roof terrace served superb thali. Good menu at good prices. Although the food wasn't the hottest by the time they'd carried it from the kitchen on ground floor to terrace on the top!

Room Tip: Don't think you need pay extra for a Taj facing room, as terrace has such a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NICOLA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Most people only stay in Agra for 2 nights at most and the Taj Plaza is a cheap option for a short stay. No luxuries but a fantastic location only a short walk away from the Taj Mahal are what make this a decent place to stay.
Everything was okay. Clean but not spotless. No daily room service but then at this price you ain't gonna get the Hilton!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bermondsey_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is located close to the Taj Mahal, which can be seen from the top terrrace. It has basic but decent rooms, very competitive pricing and friendly staff. Recommended for backpackers and other people staying a few nights. Food in the restaurant is decent.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Don't expect too much though...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Taj Mahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#37 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#34 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#84 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#20 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Plaza

Property: Hotel Taj Plaza
Address: Fatehabad Road | Near Hotel the Oberoi Amar Vilas, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taj Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Taj Plaza offers 40 rooms which are divided into three categories i.E. Taj Facing Deluxe Room, Deluxe A/C Room and Non AC Room. The rooms are spacious and offer a beautiful view of the famous Taj Mahal to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a multi cuisine restaurant, Magic of Spice where guests can treat their taste buds with Indian, Chinese, Continental and Mughlai delicacies. There is a 24 hours Coffee N Taj Rooftop restaurant and Bar-Be-Que where comfort and taste come together in delectable food and gracious surroundings. Hotel Taj Plaza provides 24-hour a day, 7 days a week services of qualified personnels on duty at the front desk in the reception area. Also, qualified staff members are always alert and available to guests, walk-ins and attending telephone calls from all over the world 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Hotel has a well-equipped lobby with comfortable sitting area. A well established travel desk is committed to fulfill the travel requirements of guests. 24 hours power backup is provided for electricity outages. Guests can avail 24 hours personalized room service for a great stay experience. There is a nearby ATM cash machine for the convenience of guests. All major credit cards are acceptable and foreign currency exchange services is also available. A well spacious conference and banquet hall is available that can accommodate 10 to 100 people at a time. Various other facilities provided by the hotel are luggage deposit, internet station, family reading room, car parking, daily newspaper, laundry and dry cleaning, telephone and baby sitting services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Taj Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing