We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, disgusting place to stay........”
Review of Hotel Taj Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Taj Plaza
Ranked #89 of 143 Hotels in Agra
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrible, disgusting place to stay........”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 5th and 6th Jan. Apart from the proximity from Taj, it has absolutely no other good points.
We booked the hotel thro' a third party.On arrival we came to know they have no booking for us. Anyhow they acknowledged it as we had already paid half the amount as booking charge. Then they told us to pay the full amount before we check-in...........which is totally absurd. Anyhow on doing so, they showed us our room. The room wall was damp with paints coming out from different spots.The curtains badly needed a wash and it was so light that it was not at all suited for winter in Agra. Besides the pieces of curtains were fastened with safety pins :).
Outside it was 4 degree celsius, so we tried to switch on the heater which to our horror was not working. We rang up the reception.........they told us that we have to shell out another Rs. 300 for the heater. When we agreed , the heater was put on.
Now more horrors were awaited...........I entered the washroom only to find out there was no hot water in the taps..........at 4 degree celsius .............I mean it is a torture. Secondly .....the towels ...it had yellow patches allover it....so naturally we used our own towel which thankfully we had carried.
Now about the bed.....they provided us with blankets which in India is known as "Daanwala Kambal".....which is given out to poor people during winter as charity. Anyways we had to manage with it.........when we lifted it.......my Gosh...........it was so dusty.
The food was served in our room...........the food was tasty but the price was on the higher side compared to the amount.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minu_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    153
    139
    77
    69
See reviews for
110
194
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night with the sole purpose of visiting the Taj Mahal.

The location is very close, only 600m from the Taj. Dinner also very tasty in the downstairs restaurant.

Quite noisy throughout the night, perhaps there could be some permanent dwellers who stay in the rooms and the corridors echo throughout all levels. There were quite a few young males around at all times which did feel a little unnerving at times.

Rooms are basic, no hot water and very flat pillows but you get what you pay for. Heater provided in the room was great and the welcome was warm.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValeriaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

clean and good. friendly service. were helpful in arranging transportation for us
can do money exchange there also
the restaurant there is not bad either
within walking distance to the Taj Mahal
not much more to add...
have fun and enjoy the taj

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank italian-wine-tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked this hotel a couple of months in advance- and arranged for a railway station pick up and for a tour guide to take us to Fatepur Sikri. There was no one there to pick us up when we arrived and our tour had not been arranged. Having said that, the staff were generally nice and responsive. We had a Taj facing room and on the one day that it was clear enough (January in Agra is really foggy), it was beautiful. (Tip: you can get an even better view of the Taj from the rooftop restaurant so the extra money that you spend for a Taj facing room isn't worth it- especially if you are visiting in the month of January). The restaurant in the hotel is mediocre- there are many other much better eating establishments in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethanyJoyOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The room I stayed was a NON AC room. However the room was quite big and is value for money. Person named AQIL at Reception is a very helpful person. He will provide you with all necessary help so that your stay is comfortable enough.

Room Tip: Any room is OK. However if you want to view TAJ you can go to terrace and can see it. Nice terrace t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARIJIT29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Easy access to the taj mahal but thats the only good point im affraid - lucky i only stayed 1 night. The rooms were a fair size but the beds were uncomfortable, the paint was flaking, mould was growing around the windows and the tv didnt work but that didnt matter anyway as there were so many power cuts you wouldnt be able to watch. By far the worst point though is the bathroom. The shower described to us was infact a tap - we had to request a bucket, the sink wasnt secured to the wall, there was a large gap at the top of one of the walls leading to the next room's bathroom where a group of me were staying - made washing very uncomfortable and the room itself was tiny so washing was a massive task. Very disappointed as the price wasnt particularly low.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malaa186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel offers location benefit to all travellers. All those who wish to Visit Agra (specially Taj Mahal just 200 mtrs from hotel) and just want to have over night stay this is the right Hotel. This is not and 5/3 star hotel so dont expect great service. Rooms are ok with hard beds and not too bad toilets. we stayed here just for one night and had morning BF with view of Taj from its roof top.

Dont stay if you plan to stay more than one night...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmolP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#18 of 143 in Agra
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#86 of 143 in Agra
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#31 of 143 in Agra
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#100 of 143 in Agra
583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#65 of 143 in Agra
44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#34 of 143 in Agra
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Plaza

Property: Hotel Taj Plaza
Address: Fatehabad Road | Near Hotel the Oberoi Amar Vilas, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taj Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Taj Plaza offers 40 rooms which are divided into three categories i.E. Taj Facing Deluxe Room, Deluxe A/C Room and Non AC Room. The rooms are spacious and offer a beautiful view of the famous Taj Mahal to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a multi cuisine restaurant, Magic of Spice where guests can treat their taste buds with Indian, Chinese, Continental and Mughlai delicacies. There is a 24 hours Coffee N Taj Rooftop restaurant and Bar-Be-Que where comfort and taste come together in delectable food and gracious surroundings. Hotel Taj Plaza provides 24-hour a day, 7 days a week services of qualified personnels on duty at the front desk in the reception area. Also, qualified staff members are always alert and available to guests, walk-ins and attending telephone calls from all over the world 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Hotel has a well-equipped lobby with comfortable sitting area. A well established travel desk is committed to fulfill the travel requirements of guests. 24 hours power backup is provided for electricity outages. Guests can avail 24 hours personalized room service for a great stay experience. There is a nearby ATM cash machine for the convenience of guests. All major credit cards are acceptable and foreign currency exchange services is also available. A well spacious conference and banquet hall is available that can accommodate 10 to 100 people at a time. Various other facilities provided by the hotel are luggage deposit, internet station, family reading room, car parking, daily newspaper, laundry and dry cleaning, telephone and baby sitting services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Taj Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing