We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Believe their Web Site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tara Grand Agra
Ranked #121 of 202 Agra B&B and Inns
Sharjah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Believe their Web Site”
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Close to where you buy the Taj Mahal tickets, the location is the only positive thing about this hotel. I read that it was a non-smoking hotel - it stinks of stale cigarette smoke. I read that it has 24 hour hot water - it doesn't. (I got 1 hot shower in 3 days at times that the hot water was requested to be on - and it's very cold in Agra in Dec!) I read it offers money exchange - but only when the money exchange guy can be bothered visiting the hotel. It was cold, the linen was dirty and the rooms very noisy. The phone didn't work in the room. The tv remote didn't work. The breakfast was awful. I witnessed several heated arguments between disgruntled guests and hotel management. I regretted paying in advance as I would have gone elsewhere. My advice is not to book this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharjahMilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
7
6
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The Tara Grand is a shocker. We felt unsafe and changed hotels as quickly as we could. Unfriendly, unhelpful staff. There is a bad feeling in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwipeters_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We have stayed in 4 rooms with our family really we feel like our home
a/c and all cool running because of new hotel ,very neat & clean tiled flooring ,we did not had food apart from breakfast

we recommend really a good budget hotel near by eartern gate taj mahal ,just walkable disance ,in the roof top now they have made all the arrangement for enjoy the evening for their guest , small seating arrangement with table

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mondada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

While I was there, i was in the newer front area. There is a older area at the back, so not sure what tha was like.

My room was spacious, clean and modern. The A/C was good and quiet. You are not from the Taj Mahal booking office (about 3 minute walk) which then offers a free drive to the Taj Mahal. There are plenty of tut tuts always out the front. It is not really in the heart of the Taj area, which some people may like as it is away from the main bustle and the noise. Though it is close the the eastern gate.

The management are very keen to make sure that you are happy here and go out of their way to help.

This is a good clean basic hotel that will look after you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Disappointed upon arrival to the hotel. I was given a room beside the main road. The room was not sound-proof and crazily noisy at night. The hot water only works in the morning & i had to bathe in cold during my 2 night stays. The tv was in diagonally facing the bed & not responsive to the remote at most times & bad reception. The hotel comes with a terrace roof top but only can see the tip of Taj Mahal.
The only good about the place is probably the location which is around 500m from the East Gate entrance, away from the crazy hard selling bazaar, but you have to get down to Ship Gram to purchase the ticket first.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Staff was friendly but cleanliness was very poor. The room was not cleaned even once in two days and strange smell was coming from the toilet. The water was very salty and was not good for bathing. The main advantage is the location, which is only 5 mins walking distance from Taj. not worth the money it charges.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swati17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Con's
No hot water for the two nights we stayed there
No included train station pickup - we were charged 350 rupees from the Agra Fort station
Reception staff are not that friendly - we left to go to the ATM to get the $$ to pay the bill (prior to checkout) and they got quite angry that one of us didn't stay in reception (even though our bags were in their luggage storage) - plus we used another rickshaw driver which they didn't seem to like
Expensive considering no hot water
the front rooms overlook a street cafe which blares through a loud speaker indian music at very high volume from 7am-10pm each day which will impact on your sleep!
There is a roof top where you can view the Taj (from a distance) however this is still a bit of a construction site (or never finished) with no chairs/tables etc. so you can stand and look only.

Location - only 5-10 mins walk from the Taj Mahal
Breakfast included
Clean room (though we had to ask for a second towel and sheets for the bed as room wasn't fully made up)
Airconidtioner is brand new and first class

Would I recommend: No. There are better value rooms available elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdbkathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.9 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,954 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
2.7 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#22 of 143 in Agra
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara Grand Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara Grand Agra

Property: Hotel Tara Grand Agra
Address: Grand Rread Road | Taj Mahal East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tara Grand Agra 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC deluxe budget hotel near Taj Mahal, only 200 m away. Only walking distance 10 minutes. You can see Taj view from roof top restaurant.of Jalma Hospital – Agra , This hotel is ideally located from the railway station its just 15 Min drive to our hotel its near Famous city centre TDI Mall & BIG BAZAR in Fatehbad road .Hotel Tara Grand offers Deluxe & Standard rooms fully adorned with all international facilities, All the rooms are air-conditioned and attached toilet /bath with 24hrs running hot and cold water, LCD Television, Mini Fridge , Telephone with direct dial & complimentary WIFI usage ,the designed rooms are getting very spacious & the different colored décor walls getting more attraction to the rooms matching furniture .It also has a restaurant which serves delicious Indian and Continental food. It is situated just 500 metres from Shilp Gram which is a handicraft village developed by U P Tourism and has plenty of options for dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tara Grand Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing