We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, cheap and cheerful”
Review of Hotel Sheela Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sheela Inn
Ranked #105 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location, cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Rooms aren't great, but for one night (all you really need in Agra), it's a great backpacker option. Nice gardens and ok breakfast/ internet. The location is pretty awesome as it's right next to East gate and a short walk to South gate for the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    44
    24
    23
See reviews for
15
39
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

In agra it is hard to find a cheap and good hotel - we had a look to about 10 different hotels, but almost all of them were bad. Compared with the sister hotel (sheela, without "inn"), the location is a bit less good, but the rooms are much better in sheela inn - they are dry, we got enough blankets and the mattress were more comfortable. They told us that hot water is available 24h (the weather was very cold), but the hot water was not hot - but after asking twice, we got a bucket of hot water.
Conclusion: It's hard to find a good and cheap hotel in Agra, but this one is probably one of the best, compared to others...

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank whoever_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights, and found it a decent budget hotel.
Good points, friendly staff and small orange dog, the location, breakfasts (had one at 6am for an early train), decent sized room.
Not so good points, all that marble means noise does echo around the corridor, WiFi can be patchy as can the hot water (had to have a bucket of hot water delivered for a bucket shower, but as this is my 5th time to India I am not bothered by this).
I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I think hotel is under construction, TV was not available in the room and hot water was available only in the morning. But Taj Mahal is at walkable distance from this hotel
Overall it is a nice hotel to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Vikrant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute following a recommendation in the 'Rough Guide' to Rajasthan book. It certainly was rough.

The staff greeted us by doubling the pre-arranged price from 4000 Rs to 8000 Rs for a twin room.

The room itself, once we'd run against the wedged door to gain access granted had beds, but the unsmiling hotelier watched as we rearranged the room to form the requested twin formation.

The sheets were the dirtiest I've ever seen, peppered with off-putting stains, hair and grime.

The bathroom had a toilet. That was pretty much it.

The worst feature however was the Siberian chill. The 5mm thick blankets did nothing. At 4am we decided enough was enough and we checked out. It was significantly warmer outside.

Avoid this hotel, even if booking last minute.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great food, very near to the shops and craft market. Cute little dog and helpful staff. Roof top restaurant and would definately recommend! Listen for the gunshots to scare away the monkey and look down on them from the rooftop and watch them grooming one another! So entertaining

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Br0wnOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I will recommend this hotel. it is situated in an excellent location just a few steps from the TAJ eastern gate ticket counter(shilpagram). It is just 800 metres away from the TAJ. The room was large and clean also the toilet. The staff of this hotel is very helpful.The cuisines in the rooftop resturant is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RINTU73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#90 of 144 in Agra
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#67 of 144 in Agra
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 144 in Agra
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#73 of 144 in Agra
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#40 of 144 in Agra
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#82 of 144 in Agra
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheela Inn

Property: Hotel Sheela Inn
Address: | Opposite Jalma Hospital (Near Shilpgram parking), Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sheela Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sheela Inn is located in Agra. It is 800 m from the UNESCO World Heritage of Taj Mahal and 300 m from Taj Nature Walk. Free Wi-Fi access is available. The property offers free parking. The property is 6 km from Agra Fort. The Agra Cantonment Railway Station is 9 km while Agra Airport and ISBT Bus Station are 14 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sheela Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheela Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing