We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amar Yatri Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amar Yatri Niwas
Ranked #100 of 145 Hotels in Agra
dehradun
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“worth a stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

this is a very cheap hotel and with the ind of location and facilities it is a great bargain
taj mahal can be seen from the window itself and the walk to taj mahal is just 5 mins
the hotel is ok but not that good
for those who want more they can go to the coffee house in the basement or the pizza hut next door

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rounddworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    76
    62
    52
    49
See reviews for
67
60
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

To start: there are newer rooms and then there's the wing we stayed in. To be avoided. The room was old, worn, not very clean (the sheet had 'stains'), small and dark. The location is fine, as it has a coffee place attached and a Pizza Hut, for those tired of the spicy foods of India, and the breakfast offered was okay. Staff are nice, but after staying in a much nicer hotel with another tour group on the same trip, there are better options and places to stay for the same money. Unless you get a new room, avoid this place, or keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catnapbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Gurgaon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

We Landed in Agra in hot temprature but the as soon as we entered the hotel it was awesome.Hotel was well maintained even the staff was well manned and polite.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gauravjpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

I did not like this hotel. It is adequate in a budget-traveller-kind of way but depressing and dated. The lobby was a bit tacky, the lift ghastly and filled with 1970s porn music. The room made my heart sink and was simply depressing and not air conditioned. It was dark and gloomy and I had to think twice before showering. Mobbed by touts as soon as I emerged into the street which is so claustrophobic and depressing I felt desperately homesick. The plug sockets hung limply and I needed to prop a book under the flex to get it to work. I ate at the restaurant and it was adequate and the one place where I felt the service was genuine. I had a bad case of the runs around the time I was checking in and needed to ask for loo paper upon which the member of staff hung around until tipped.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyWildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

On arrival at the hotel, we noticed that it was next to a Costa Coffee and Pizza Hut. This was great as it provided some home comforts if required, and as my partner had come down with delhi belly, he was grateful for some food he knew. The hotel is however, on a busy road, so if you end up with a room facing the street, you may find it hard to sleep peacefully although we had no problem. The reception was clean, air conditioned and inviting. The reception staff dealt with us satisfactorily - only niggle was that when we filled out the registration form we noticed it was 70 INR to use the internet. When we did come to use it, it was 100 INR - although we aren't talking lots of pennies, it was just a bit strange. The internet was rather slow on connection, but overall, we did manage to do simple things like checking emails. Our room was on the top most floor and it was a nice size room with tv, phone, coffee table, 2 chairs and a wardrobe. The bathroom was a wet room, but it was satisfactory (hot water available). Only downside to the bathroom was it had a small frosted window to the outside, which allowed mosquitos into the bathroom! Also, the room did have air condition, but not one that we could control. We felt that the room was relatively still too warm for our liking! We didn't have breakfast included in our room rate, so did not venture into the hotel restaurant. Overall, it was a good value hotel with all the necessary mod cons.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london_to_sahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

I stay in the hotel for two days.Good location for the Taj Mahal, and it has a Costa Coffee and Pizza Hut next to itgood part was that the breakfast was a good

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiRajart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

Dear Travellers,

We've stayed there while we were in Agra. The hotel is kinda old, the room isn't clean also. There's a window but had no idea why bother having one (it's more like a little storage place outside the window with a ladder and some other stuffs.)

We had breakfast at the restaurant, we couldn't eat much at all because there're nothing to eat. While we were eating, someone was spraying some chemical onto the floor. It smelled really badly and made us wanna puke. So we left...

Please think again before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kakui_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amar
Hotel Amar
#62 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Panna Paradise
Hotel Panna Paradise
#36 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#65 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maniram Palace
Hotel Maniram Palace
#98 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#30 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amar Yatri Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amar Yatri Niwas

Property: Amar Yatri Niwas
Address: 181/1, Tourist Complex Area, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amar Yatri Niwas 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Amar Yatri Niwas you can feel the warm hospitality extended to its guests in the true "Amar" tradition. Our 41 well furnished centrally air-conditioned rooms with modern amenities are designed for sheer comfort. we have one multi cuisine restaurant, Backed by our caring personalized room service we promise to make your stay at Agra, a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amar Yatri Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Yatri Niwas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing