We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Recommend For All” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Agra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Agra
Ranked #101 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must Recommend For All”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

Jan being a busy season in India it was hard to find accomodation in a good 5 Star Hotel. After being convinced by my Travel agent though I decided to stay in the Hotel. Upon reaching there I realised what a good choice I made. The staff was great and friendly, food was excellent. Infact, one of the best Indian foods I have ever had...would recommend anybody going to try their Nargisi Kofte.
The hotel do get noisy at times because of the weddings but all the decoration just enhances the beauty. The hotel have big lawns and my 4 year old had a great time running around.
The biggest shopping market in agra is less than 10 minutes walk and Taj is just 10 minutes drive.
We wanted to extend our stay, unfortunately because the Hotel was full could not. However, a must recommend for all. We know where we are staying again when we go to Agra.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank supersavva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    54
    37
    28
See reviews for
68
44
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2008

We had two rooms here in the lst week of Jan and were pretty happy - given we were only there for a night.

As mentioned by other reviewers, it is a few kms out of town but that was OK..

The rooms were a good size, the bathrooms adequate, plenty of hot water and restaurant food that all 4 of us enjoyed.

Didn't much care for the stained tablecloths and stained clothes of the waiters........ but we didn't fancy going out to look for somewhere to eat either. None of us got sick!

Did have an enjoyable late lunch in the pretty garden of Hotel Sheela - walking distance to the Taj. Checked out the rooms and made a mental note to stay there, if there is a next time. Quite a bit cheaper than the Grand and the accommodation looked fine.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelluda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

Souless and tired. It probably was "grand" in its day but it seems to have lost its sparkle and life. Unless you are a fan of lifeless American-style motels.

Anyway, having been so spoilt at Shanti Home in Delhi, alarm bells rang when our oh-so-insistent autorickshaw driver from the train station was allowed to loiter in the foyer to hard-sell us his day-tour whilst we were checking in. We were tired an grouchy and this wasnt what we needed.

No one at the hotel thought that we might not want to have this guy hanging around and even told us later not to trust the rickshaw drivers in Agra as "they are crooks". Ha! We asked the hotel for a driver to Fathephur Sikri - rather than the hotel organise a kosher driver for us we were given various, random numbers by the unsmiling staff and left to arrange it ourselves. It all just felt a bit weird and shifty.

The Grand was cheaper than the midrange hotels in Taj Ganj, but I wouldnt bother staying in Agra town, let alone Grand Hotel Agra, any longer than you really have to (1 night!!).

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopy_louisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed in the Grand Hotel Agra for one night, on a quick stop through Agra to see the Taj Mahal. The hotel is the Indian equivelant of your average American roadside Motel 6 or Super 8. The hotel was filled with Indians - I didn't see any other foreigners. It is not in the main Taj Ganj area where most of the tourist hotels are. It is about a 15 minute drive to the Taj Mahal, but very close to the Sadar Bazaar. The room was not what we were expecting, but it was perfectly adequate. It was clean, and the shower was hot. The bathroom could have used some updating, but overall it was fine. The staff could not have been nicer, and they really made the hotel. There are two "ballrooms" at the hotel and we were lucky enough to be there on a night when they were both being used. Soundproof, this hotel is not. It was a bit loud. Still, I cannot complain about what we got for the money.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank desconocido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

I stayed in Grand Hotel, Agra for 2 days from 2rd Dec to 4th Dec. Here are some glimps:
1. Hotel organizes Wedding and it creates noise.
2. Restaurant is very costly but food is just average. Due to contoment area , you won't get any other restaurant nearby.
3. Hotel area is big enough with garden but entire property is poorly maintained.
4. No instant Hot water. it takes 10 mints to get really hot water. you need to open tap for 10 - 15 mints.
5. Room interior is just average with Tile flooring. NO carpet.
Would recommand any hotel in Fatehabad Road or somewhere near Taj

Manpan

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank mandyDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

Stayed here Dec. 1, 2007 and was happy with the experience. The room was large & clean; actually was the best HOT shower we had in 3 weeks travel throughout India. Breakfast buffet was so/so. Didn't eat at the restaurant. During wedding season the noise can be a problem, but we found that was an issue almost everywhere we went. We asked to be placed away from the event and the staff was accommodating. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psychomom715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2007

We stayed for a couple of nights on our tour. Facilities are basic and the hotel's primary business is as a wedding venue. With this in mind you can expect noise from the events to last into the small hours and the rooms are located around the courtyards.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BarodaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#95 of 145 in Agra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alleviate
Hotel Alleviate
#26 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#22 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#94 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#18 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#32 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Agra

Property: Grand Hotel Agra
Address: 137 Station Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Agra 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of beautifully landscaped lawns lies a colonial structure whose name aptly complements its Grand style. The Grand Hotel Agra graciously combines old world charm with modern day luxury. We ensure you a truly unforgettable experience through our warm and efficient service and a friendly atmosphere with sheer comfort at most affordable tariff.Located close to the Taj Mahal and a short distance from the city’s other famous attractions, the Grand is a delightful blend of an ideal location with a pleasing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agra Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing