We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent mid range hotel in agra” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Amar
Ranked #56 of 145 Hotels in Agra
kolkata
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Decent mid range hotel in agra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

I stayed for just one day in Hotel Amar during x-mas 2006.

The whole process from reservation to check out was very smooth and i
was pleasantly surprised with the efficiency of the staff of this
average sized mid budget hotel.



The email communication was very good and they also picked me from
delhi by taxi for a reasonable price of Rs 2500. The reception staff
were friendly and smartly dressed managers are there to make your stay
comfortable.



The rooms are clean and interior decor is not bad with a touch of
maharaja. No concern about hygeine of the washroom. The location is
convenient but there are a number of mid range hotels in this area and
you do have a plenty of option in this price range.



I paid Rs 2500 for one of the deluxe rooms and i felt it was reasonably
priced. There are lots of dining options in Agra and generally don’t
like to eat in the same hotel where i stay. So cant comment about food.



Overall, it is a good option in the mid range of Rs 2000 to Rs 3000.
Convenient location, clean and safe rooms, very friendly staff,
reliable booking system and good email communications.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narendsureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    175
    135
    71
    68
See reviews for
151
140
45
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Despite the reasonably friendly welcome by the manager when we arrived, the rest of the staff were thoroughly miserable! The room was fine with good facilities including a very cheap mini bar (!) and a pool although we didn't use it. Breakfast was an OK buffet.
The hotel has good wifi but quite expensive - what really ticked me off was having to pay to use a printer that was broken - however much I protested I was met with "this hotel policy to charge."
Watch out for a nice scam we came across here - if you pay for something at Reception, you will not automatically be given change - they seem to wait for you to prompt them. This cost my travelling companion 425 rps - beware!
As we left a sleazy sub manager tried to get us to use a friend of his to guide us around our next stopping point - he was persistant and really unwelcome.
One really good plus point was a local tuk tuk driver called Vijay who based himself outside the hotel - his English was fine and he drove and guided us around really well. Naturally, he took us to shops where he would get some commision but we thought he was pretty straight dealing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldo_Bonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vizag
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Date: 24Apr2010
The trip to Agra is always a memorable one. But cant say the same with a visit to this hotel. we had a presentation to make at the board room of the hotel. since the presentation was in the same hotel , we were accomodated there. You cant fail to notice the number of foriegn guests in the hotel. So we can say this is quite a popular hotel. we paid a tariff of Rs3300+tax for a standard room on MAP plan. This is the cheapest room on thier tariff card. when it was requested for an upgrade, we were faced by the absolute disinterest shown by the staff at reception. His communication skills were horrible and was infact not able to understand what we were requesting for( wonder how the foriegn tourists adjusted). So that was a big turn off.

These rooms were in the basement, so it is understood that there is a lack of proper ventilation. The rooms were pretty small for the amount being paid. Nothing much of a service to talk or mention about. The hotel boasts of a swimming pool, which is infact small. The breakfast is a buffet with limited spread and so is the lunch/dinner.

The TajMahal is at a walkable distance from the hotel, so a nice stroll during dawn or dusk would be a memorable one. There are many hotels of equal and better stature near to Hotel Amar. so finally.. u can give it the last priority in the list of star hotels in Agra.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asatyakanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agra
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

ITS A VERY NICE HOTEL
ITS A 5 STAR HOTEL
ALL COMFORTS ARE THE
cleanliness is there
all rooms have ac's
thier service is also very good
you have just ring one call and they will come at once

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sachinAgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

We booked the hotel for a two day stay at Hotel Amar... Located jus 10 mins away from the Taj Mahal its location is very good with a number of shops and hand loom emporiums near it.... Rooms were good but could have been better.... Food was very good especially the continental platters.... But the food were overpriced.... well its probably due to reason that half of all transactions there are made in foreign currencies....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

a clean, safe friendly place in a good location. Near to Taj / Agra Fort / main market.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_K_Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Reviewer: Gaurav

I recently stayed at Hotel Amar in Agra, It is a decent place to stay. Quite close to the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort it proves an ideal location for tourists visiting Agra. The rooms are comfortable and quite good to spend a night or two. The hotel is a bit overly priced, I had booked in advance through the net, but on reaching there found people bargaining great deals at the hotel itself so would suggest not to book in advance as you might end up paying more. The breakfast is just average (It was a part of my package)

Overall an OK place to stay

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanumanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#32 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#18 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rudra Vilas
Hotel Rudra Vilas
#47 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
2.1 mi away
Hotel Alleviate
Hotel Alleviate
#26 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Orchid
Hotel Orchid
#72 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amar

Property: Hotel Amar
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amar 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Amar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Hotel Agra
Hotel Amar Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing