We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the coziest of accomodations”
Review of Hotel Amar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Amar
Ranked #45 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Hoopa
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not the coziest of accomodations”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My daughter and I stayed 3 nights in this 3-star government approved hotel that was booked for us by our tour agency. It is centrally located in Agra which made it convenient for sightseeing. (http://hotelamar.com - Phone +91 - 562 – 233-1884 to 89). However, ambiance was seriously lacking.

Our room was starkly modern with décor that was a bit garish for my taste – neon signs and brightly colored designs painted onto glass light panels in one area of the ceiling. Wi-fy was not free – charges were by each half hour. No free wi-fy was a deal-breaker for us. We liked go go through our tablet each night to update our photos.

The cable service for our room’s TV never did work, in spite of several calls to management. No programs in English. We enjoyed watching local news during our stay in India and this was a disappointment.

Complimentary breakfast were so-so. Not much in the way of Indian dishes. The lobby was welcoming and nicely decorated. People behind the front desk were a bit distant and not particularly helpful. I would recommend choosing another hotel for your stay in Agra.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    195
    141
    75
    70
See reviews for
170
145
47
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in March 2014.

Room was okay, desk staff weren't exactly inviting. Hallway stank of smoke.

We were disappointed to have to pay for wifi 500 Rupees for 12 hours is ridiculous for India.

On the plus side the pool was nice and staff by the pool were lovely, the food was also good and the shower was hot and powerful.

Would I stay here again? No, probably not.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrsOlejnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

hotel amar is a good hotel little bit costly but staff is very polite.It is at good location nearly 1.5 kms from Taj.Its spa is very good light is 24 four hours hot and cold water also available.The rooms are well done but feel a bit claustrophobic because of completely sealed windows and stone walls in the rooms. The restaurant food was quite good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali98211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Location is walkable from TAJ MAHAL, nice experience to visit TAJ. Hotel is very average, bed given was two single beds connected, bathroom was not clean, room service is very poor.

I have also taken the cab from same hotel to Fatehpur sikri, driver has full links with all guides and not cooperative. I really regret on hiring cab from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onwheels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Like most hotels in Agra, Hotel Amar is ideally located near the Taj Mahal. The rooms are well done but feel a bit claustrophobic because of completely sealed windows and stone walls in the rooms. The restaurant food was quite good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

HOTEL AMAR is the worst hotel I have ever seen.The quality of food is very poor and it is overpriced.Their rate for side scene is double from market price.The front office is very rude,they don't know how to deal with customer.Mr Sharma and Mr Verma of this hotel are money sucker...when we told them that their price for side sceen is too high,they replied 'We are here to make money'!!!!There are many hotels in Agra ,please avoid to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurnaBandyopadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.1 mi away
Amar Yatri Niwas
Amar Yatri Niwas
#52 of 143 in Agra
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansingh Palace, Agra
Mansingh Palace, Agra
#23 of 143 in Agra
808 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atithi, Agra
Hotel Atithi, Agra
#69 of 143 in Agra
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Alleviate
Hotel Alleviate
#27 of 143 in Agra
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 143 in Agra
622 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#33 of 143 in Agra
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amar

Property: Hotel Amar
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amar 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Hotel Agra
Hotel Amar Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing