We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory stay”
Review of Hotel Amar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amar
Ranked #35 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotels in Agra all seem to suffer from being a bit below par. While acceptable enough, the room wasn't the cleanest we stayed in and the whole place was a bit soulless. That said, it was quieter than near the main drag, staff were perfectly helpful (including preparing us a takeaway breakfast when we had an early train), and they did us a cut price room when we showed up off the cuff.

Room Tip: Show up and negotiate if not peak season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 589 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

For the price, this place was a dump. Dirty room, and tired dirty hall ways. Our room door looked like it had been broken into many times!!

When I stay in mega budget rooms, this would of been great, but at this price point, it was unacceptable. Fridge was covered in coke and the TV was broke. When staff came to fix tv it took him ages, and he spilt the contents of the fridge all over the floor, including a bucket load of coke. I more or less had to clean the mess up myself and then he just stood there waiting for a tip!!

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpyoldpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were large and looked clean, however the coach roaches are a concern. We had booked as a tour, so complimentary breakfast was included one morning but when we asked to change this to the following day the staff were very rigid in not allowing it. Weird, what's the diff if you take a free breaky on tues or wed? Also, wifi very expensive by Indian standards. 75 rupees for half an hour. Most places its free or 100 rupees for 24 hours.... Can find better in Agra

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel Amar is at a pretty good location, modern and clean.All rooms, very well maintained, all have AC. The personal, professional and smiling, will make your stay more enjoyable. The outdoor pool, spacious, very clean and at a temperature perfectly regulated. The hotel also has a gym and Ayurvedic massage center.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was the worst hotel we stayed at in India and very poor value for money. Rooms were worn out, dated and reaked of cigarette smoke. Cleanliness wasn't the best and we had cockroaches in our room. There was traces of excrement under the toilet seat and the bed sheets were stained. The pool was ok and the sevice was on the whole good. Regrettably, this hotel has had its day and needs a renovation (with roach extermination too!) Advise to look for alternatives.

Room Tip: No tips other than to try a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

On opening our hotel room the first thing we saw were a couple of cockroaches scuttling away. I know that India is a hot country but this was not a welcome sight! On sweeping and flushing our crunchy friends the room itself was not that bad, it was an ok size and apart from the wildlife was clean. The shower in the room gave hot water but it came out in sporadic spurts which made showering interesting.
One of the main problems with this hotel is the lift which in tiny and very hidden away, with our bags we could only fit two in and that was a squeeze, I imagine that this was an instalment at a later date???
As we were late arriving in the evening we decided to eat at the hotel. The food was lovely and I cannot fault, however we paid for it on the same evening rather than putting on our room but when we went to check out we were asked to pay again but a different sum to what the bill had originally come to. Once saying we had already paid they brushed the issue aside and did not question which leaves a few questions! We only stayed here one night. Location wise it is fine, and by bus or tuk tuk the Taj Mahal is very close. There is also a few shops and an ATM right next to the hotel which is handy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curious_traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel was appointed to us by our Taj Mahal travel agent. Not a bad place but I was very disappointed that the pool closed so early. After traveling and sight seeing all day I was excited to use the pool but it closes at the stupid time of 7pm. Geez, at least stay open until 9. Also wifi is very expensive and it's such a chintzy thing to not even offer it free in the lobby. Seriously, I don't think I've ever been to hotel that it was not complimentary in the lobby. Lame.
The positive....
The food at the hotel is incredible, definitely get the rogan josh and the palak paneer. Killer. The staff is also very friendly.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TaraWelchPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.1 mi away
Amar Yatri Niwas
Amar Yatri Niwas
#49 of 143 in Agra
284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#29 of 143 in Agra
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#32 of 143 in Agra
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 143 in Agra
1,612 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#51 of 143 in Agra
89 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#18 of 143 in Agra
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amar

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $20 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amar 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Hotel Agra
Hotel Amar Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing