We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, shabby worn out hotel”
Review of Hotel Amar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amar
Ranked #47 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Dirty, shabby worn out hotel”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

For the price, this place was a dump. Dirty room, and tired dirty hall ways. Our room door looked like it had been broken into many times!!

When I stay in mega budget rooms, this would of been great, but at this price point, it was unacceptable. Fridge was covered in coke and the TV was broke. When staff came to fix tv it took him ages, and he spilt the contents of the fridge all over the floor, including a bucket load of coke. I more or less had to clean the mess up myself and then he just stood there waiting for a tip!!

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpyoldpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    186
    140
    73
    69
See reviews for
162
144
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were large and looked clean, however the coach roaches are a concern. We had booked as a tour, so complimentary breakfast was included one morning but when we asked to change this to the following day the staff were very rigid in not allowing it. Weird, what's the diff if you take a free breaky on tues or wed? Also, wifi very expensive by Indian standards. 75 rupees for half an hour. Most places its free or 100 rupees for 24 hours.... Can find better in Agra

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
164 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel Amar is at a pretty good location, modern and clean.All rooms, very well maintained, all have AC. The personal, professional and smiling, will make your stay more enjoyable. The outdoor pool, spacious, very clean and at a temperature perfectly regulated. The hotel also has a gym and Ayurvedic massage center.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was the worst hotel we stayed at in India and very poor value for money. Rooms were worn out, dated and reaked of cigarette smoke. Cleanliness wasn't the best and we had cockroaches in our room. There was traces of excrement under the toilet seat and the bed sheets were stained. The pool was ok and the sevice was on the whole good. Regrettably, this hotel has had its day and needs a renovation (with roach extermination too!) Advise to look for alternatives.

Room Tip: No tips other than to try a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

On opening our hotel room the first thing we saw were a couple of cockroaches scuttling away. I know that India is a hot country but this was not a welcome sight! On sweeping and flushing our crunchy friends the room itself was not that bad, it was an ok size and apart from the wildlife was clean. The shower in the room gave hot water but it came out in sporadic spurts which made showering interesting.
One of the main problems with this hotel is the lift which in tiny and very hidden away, with our bags we could only fit two in and that was a squeeze, I imagine that this was an instalment at a later date???
As we were late arriving in the evening we decided to eat at the hotel. The food was lovely and I cannot fault, however we paid for it on the same evening rather than putting on our room but when we went to check out we were asked to pay again but a different sum to what the bill had originally come to. Once saying we had already paid they brushed the issue aside and did not question which leaves a few questions! We only stayed here one night. Location wise it is fine, and by bus or tuk tuk the Taj Mahal is very close. There is also a few shops and an ATM right next to the hotel which is handy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curious_traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel was appointed to us by our Taj Mahal travel agent. Not a bad place but I was very disappointed that the pool closed so early. After traveling and sight seeing all day I was excited to use the pool but it closes at the stupid time of 7pm. Geez, at least stay open until 9. Also wifi is very expensive and it's such a chintzy thing to not even offer it free in the lobby. Seriously, I don't think I've ever been to hotel that it was not complimentary in the lobby. Lame.
The positive....
The food at the hotel is incredible, definitely get the rogan josh and the palak paneer. Killer. The staff is also very friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraWelchPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel Amar is at a pretty good location. It was within walking distance of the Taj Mahal. The room we had was nicely appointed and with good amenities. WiFi is too expensive and should be at no charge. The swimming pool is quite nice and relaxing. Breakfast was very good! It seems that a lot of the staff are focussed on getting 'tips'.
At the reception desk there seem to be some problems with attitude towards customers. Not very welcoming, which is a pity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndonesiaNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Inn
Hotel Taj Inn
#31 of 144 in Agra
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amar Yatri Niwas
Amar Yatri Niwas
#103 of 144 in Agra
259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pushp Villa
Hotel Pushp Villa
#38 of 144 in Agra
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aura Mumtaz Mahal
1.1 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#30 of 144 in Agra
291 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Retreat
The Retreat
#28 of 144 in Agra
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amar

Property: Hotel Amar
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amar 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Amar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Hotel Agra
Hotel Amar Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing