We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clarke Shiraz-turned out better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Clarks Shiraz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Ranked #17 of 145 Hotels in Agra
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Clarke Shiraz-turned out better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed with my family in early dec13. I had a conference to attend and took my family along as it was post exam holiday period for my sons and this time of the year the weather is great to visit the city.This hotel was actually not our first choice but as we needed to book sn additional room at lsst minute we managed to get the rooms in this hotel.
Due to the average reviews on trip advisor we were a bit apprehensive about the experience but to our utter delight it turned out to be quite a delightful onr.
It started on arrival as we reached very early by shatbdi from delhi and thankfully the management especiall Mr Ankur took extra effort to arrange rooms early for us.
The rooms were on the 5th floor in the tower block and to our pleasant surprise we got deluxe adjacent rooms with views of both Taj and Agra fort.
The rooms were modern and with all facilities that a decent 5 star hotel should offer.
The room service was exemplary and each request was immediately fulfilled
There are only two dining options -buffet restaurant and the mughal toom on the top floor where we had alacarte dinner on two occasions. The food quality and variety was okay snd theblive music ofered also was of average fare.
Breakfast was ok but daily almost same menu was repeated.
We did not use the pool or spa but thry had a gaming centre with TT, pool and air hockey.
Overall we were happy with our stay and and would like to make special mention of the friendly staff especially Mr Ankur who took good care of us.
We visited bharatpur which was a excellent day trip and worth recommending and also Taj and Agra fort where the light and sound show was a bit disappointing

Room Tip: Higher floor in tower section preferably taj facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BONEMAKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managementclarks, Manager at Hotel Clarks Shiraz, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Clarks Shiraz, Agra …. !!

The team at Clarks Shiraz, Agra sincerely appreciates your time in posting your feedback.

We are happy to read your positive reviews and also delighted to note that our Rooms, Food , Services & Staff were to your satisfaction.

We all thank you for your generous rating of our hotel and look forward to having the continuous pleasure of welcoming you back at Hotel Clarks Shiraz. Agra …

Thanks and Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    538
    270
    82
    36
See reviews for
321
406
74
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very courteous staff.Excellent food.Rooms tell their age though.Pool not heated,so useless.Stayed for three nights in december13 along with family.The spa is great.Overall a pleasant experience.Shall recommend it at the price point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drgeorgeabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managementclarks, Manager at Hotel Clarks Shiraz, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Clarks Shiraz, Agra …. !!

The team at Clarks Shiraz, Agra sincerely appreciates your time in posting your feedback.

We are happy to read your positive reviews and delighted to note that our Food & Staff were to your satisfaction.

We all thank you for your generous rating of our hotel and look forward to having the continuous pleasure of welcoming you back at Hotel Clarks Shiraz. Agra …

Thanks and Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Hotel seemed fine. Got into a small lift which did state max. amount of people. However, a group arrived, doubling that amount easily - the result? The lift wouldn't move, nor would the doors open - we were like sardines in a can and panic soon ensued (including me). We were stuck for no more than about 5 mins, but it seemed an eternity. The Manager then started shouting at us as there were too many people in the lift. I explained that there was only one when we got in!

We were here for 2 nights and in that time the lift broke down on two further occasions (without us in it, I'm pleased to say). We went to the rooftop restaurant in the evening. I walked up 8 flights of stairs as there was no way I was going back into that lift.

The meal at the restaurant was excellent, but extortionately priced - I just had a starter and my son a main course - over £45! Having ate at a restaurant in Mumbai with exquisite food - two main courses, two desserts and a falooda drink for £6 I was put out (Cafe Noorani).

On the plus side, the honesty of the gentleman who brought up our luggage was good. I gave him a small tip (so I thought) as I didn't have anything less than 500 rupees in notes. I thought I had given him 80 rupees. He returned to let me know the 50 rupee note was in fact 500! Of course, with honesty like that I let him keep it. It made me feel good that honesty does exist.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winnie1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managementclarks, Manager at Hotel Clarks Shiraz, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Hotel Clarks Shiraz , Agra !

We thank you for taking the time off to provide us invaluable feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Clarks Shiraz , Agra.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with the concerned department and corrective steps have already been taken so that such lapse does not happen again. It is our constant endeavor to provide the finest of products and service in line with the modern hospitality.
It would be a pleasure to have you back with us and assure you of our highest level of guest satisfaction.

Thanks and Regards ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed in the cheapest room and, like other reviewers, we found the whole hotel a bit tired. Having said that it is clean and perfectly adequate, lovely grounds and pool area (which also needs an update). The location is great for getting to the Taj Mahal but the mini Taj is on the opposite side of the river (an even poorer area than downtown Agra) can be a challenge as the Agra bridge area is a nightmare. They appear to be building a new bridge in a haphazard way which has closed the main artery along the riverbank.

The lobby bar was a bit dismal but the roof bar and restaurant were bright and buzzy. The buffet food was geared up to the coach parties but was very reasonable, with a great choice and inexpensive. The staff strike me as if they have been working at the hotel a long time and are very friendly and helpful - attentive but not over bearing.

The wi-fi works well in the rooms and public spaces but does cost around £5 a day. This is reasonable but hotels need to start including wi-fi as a standard service, especially in 3, 4 and 5 star hotels.

All in all, a good place to stay when visiting Agra.

Room Tip: Seemingly, some rooms have a view if the Taj Mahal but all you'll is the top in the distance, ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managementclarks, Manager at Hotel Clarks Shiraz, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Clarks Shiraz, Agra ...
We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you excellent hospitality.
We are happy to read your positive reviews for our roof top Restaurant , services & staff . This is our constant endeavor to provide the finest of products and services in line with the modern hospitality.
We value your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Clarks Shiraz again and at the same time assuring you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanks and Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

From the start this hotel was underwhelming. When we arrived they told us the room was ready. Then we were escorted upstairs and the room was not ready. We then waiting ten minutes, then were shown to a room with single beds instead of double beds. Finally we were escorted to a room that was what we had requested.
The breakfast was very average. The room was also very hot and had a strange smell. We asked if it were possible to sit near the air conditioning but they said they were 'working on it'.
DO NOT GO TO THE TRAVEL CENTRE. They overcharge and are also rude. They also told us they accepted card but didn't end up being able to. When we asked if we could get a cheaper fare for a taxi ride the assistant insisted we had money problems. We ended up taking tuktuks. When we raised concerns with the hotel they were unhelpful.
We also had some strange calls to our room such as inquiring what our dinner plans were. It was fine, just inconvenient.
Also, wireless is very expensive.
The rooms themselves were clean and satisfactory. This is definitely not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managementclarks, Manager at Hotel Clarks Shiraz, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Clarks Shiraz, Agra ...
We thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at Hotel Clarks Shiraz, Agra .
We have taken a note of your feedbacks which we will take-up with the concerned department including Travel Centre, to overcome any such lapses in future and also ensure it matches highest level of guest satisfaction. Kindly allow us to extend our apologies for the disappointment you experienced . The telephone calls you receive are from our Guest Relations Manager, who not only enquires about your comfortablity in the room but also tries to help you in reserving your dinner table, to avoid any disappointment during the busy days .
We value your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Clarks Shiraz again and at the same time assuring you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanks and regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

It is a strectch of the imagination to call this hotel a five-start hotel. While the rooms are marginally adequate, the food on the buffet is dangerous. More than 1/3 of our group got food poisoning. The same food at lunch was still there at dinner. Internet service is expensive--come on--10 minutes of free time should be a given for a hotel serving travelers. I'd try my utmost to find another hotel in Agra. The Clark's in Jaipur is not much better!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managementclarks, Manager at Hotel Clarks Shiraz, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Clarks Shiraz, Agra ...
We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you excellent hospitality.
We are sorry to hear about your problem . If we had known about the same , we would have provided you medical assistance. We would like to mention that , at an average we have 10/12 Groups on daily basis having Buffet Lunch and Buffet Dinner , the menu is never repeated and is changed on daily basis , which is specially looked after by none other than our Executive Chef. There were no reports of any such problem from any of our Group/FITs .
Regarding complimentary internet services - we would like to inform you that we do provide 30 minutes complimentary internet facility at the Business Centre. Wi-Fi is chargeable.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Clarks Shiraz again. It would be a pleasure to have you back and assure you of our highest level of guest satisfaction.

Thanks and regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive from Delhi happy to arrive at the hotel and spend some time by the pool. Pool wasn't that big but the grounds were lovely. They were also preparing for a wedding party which was an added bonus and added to the ambience. Room was clean and spacious with a nice view of the gardens.

Food was ok. Having eaten there two nights on the trot it was a bit monotonous. I would suggest the hotel concentrate what they are good at i.e. Indian food and not western food.

Bar area on the top floor (plus restaurant) was nice, very atmospheric.

Nice shops in the hotel too

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Von_Smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managementclarks, Manager at Hotel Clarks Shiraz, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Clarks Shiraz, Agra ….

We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and efforts in sharing your feedback as it enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you excellent hospitality.
We also thank you for your valuable and encouraging feedback and assure you of our best care and attention at times , as our valued guests.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Clarks Shiraz again.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
2.4 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#76 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarks Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarks Shiraz

Property: Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Address: 54 Taj Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#7 Family Hotel in Agra
#13 Spa Hotel in Agra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Clarks Shiraz 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CLARKS SHIRAZ, AGRA - 237 well appointed rooms & suites. Distance from Railway Station - 3 kms. Taj Mahal - 1 km. Red Fort - 1.1/2 Kms. Main Shopping Centre - 1 km. Dining Options: The Mughal Room - Roof top our specialty al-a-carte restaurant, overlooking the Taj Mahal & Red Fort. The Buffet - Multi-cuisine Lobby Level Dining Hall. The Coffee Shop - 24 hours. THE MUGHAL BAR - Roof top Bar with variety of Imported and Domestic Beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Clarks Shiraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarks Shiraz Hotel Agra
Clarks Shiraz Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing