We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Ranked #14 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Lincolnshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Location for tourists”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is a little dated. Our room was spacious but the window was single glazed and the room smelt a little damp. However it was very clean and the bathroom was clean and well stocked, and very well placed for the Red Fort and the Taj.

We ate in the small cafe bar off reception and whilst the service was a little slow the food was good, and the staff friendly and competent. There are a few shops near the foyer.

We were allocated a room without a view of the Taj, even though the hotel was far from full and it sells it's self on having the most Taj facing rooms in the city.

The bar on the upper floor was closed when we went up at lunch time and access to the roof terrace was locked.

Room Tip: Ask for a Taj facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    556
    282
    86
    36
See reviews for
347
437
74
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and find it a lovely hotel with excellent, friendly staff. The rooms are very luxurious with very comfy beds. The food is fantastic with a wide choice of Indian and continental cuisine. The waiters in the restaurant were lovely. Security was good - we had a guard on the corridor on the first night! The swimming pool area was nice but the small OS sewage did keep wafting across - a reminder that you are in India!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summerhols101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a good choice of food at the buffet restaurant, however the food could have been hotter - the gas burners underneath kept going out which was a little worrying as the food wasn't being kept at a constant temperature. The breakfast was very good and so was the service. There was also a lovely open top bar on the roof where we enjoyed a drink after our evening meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy23traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and truly appreciate their service and hospitality. The staff is very cooperative . Rooms were excellent and good food. Overall It was great! Its rare to find a combination of great service, food, rooms and value for money

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webexpert6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed her for two nights on our Kuoni tour. The hotel says it is five star, but I think 3 star would be more appropriate.
It is located 10 mins by car to the Taj Mahal and you could see the Taj from our bedroom window.
The room was comfortable though the air con struggled to keep the temperature down.
Breakfast had a good selection with an egg station, which produced nice omelettes.
The pool was a long walk from the hotel and you had to walk past an arcade of shops which had nothing to do with the hotel. It was not very pleasant and you did not feel comfortable walking to it.
We ate in the Coffee Bar, which had very slow service and they did not get our order right.
Prices seem very high for what was on offer.
There is a roof top bar, which was dimly lit and did not have very comfortable seats.
This hotel is geared up for coach parties and there were three in our party.
I would not stay here again out of choice as there must be better hotels around
This hotel is not up to Kuoni's usual high standards.
Sort it out Kuoni.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexoldbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Clean and large room, with huge bed. Reasonably quiet location, about 20 minutes drive from the Taj Mahal. Breakfast on the top floor (5th) was excellent, with a wide selection of European and Indian food and a view if the distant Taj Mahal into the bargain. We had dinner here one evening which was equally good, and very tasty, if a little on the expensive side. Our driver recommended a local restaurant 2 minutes walk away that catered for tourists, which was cheap and cheerful but not such good quality as the hotel meal. Pool looked ok, but we didn't go in it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Thin walls regular windows. Could hear sound from outside and adjacent rooms.
Dull breakfest, extremly expensive dinner not worth the cost. Beware of extra charges. We were charged 7.5% from our dinner bill for entertainment . We were not aware of it beforehand and it's not written anywhere. The number was 3 guys chanting Indian songs during dinner.
Pro's - clean rooms, a/c ok, walking distance from Sadar bazaar.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmelit4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.8 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarks Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarks Shiraz

Property: Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Address: 54 Taj Road, Agra 282 001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#12 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#13 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Clarks Shiraz 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CLARKS SHIRAZ, AGRA - 237 well appointed rooms & suites. Distance from railway station - 3 km Taj Mahal - 1 km Red Fort - 1 1/2 km Main shopping centre - 1 km Dining Options: The Mughal Room - Roof top our specialty al-a-carte restaurant, overlooking the Taj Mahal & Red Fort The Buffet - Multi-cuisine lobby level dining Hall The Coffee Shop - 24 hours The Mughal Bar- Roof top bar with variety of imported and domestic beverages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Clarks Shiraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarks Shiraz Hotel Agra
Clarks Shiraz Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing