We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Ranked #14 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were there for two nights. The room was spacious with comfortable beds. Breakfast ordinary but dinner in the a la carte restaurant excellent. Pleasant gardens and pool. Staff fine. Views of the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Clarks Shiraz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were only staying here for 1 night but that was enough. They seem to have a lot of coach groups coming here and so I think the hotel has got into its comfort zone and has not made any improvements for around 10 years. The coach groups often blocked up the lobby and at breakfast as well.

The room had 2 single beds that had been pushed together as a double. The restaurant at the top of the building was good - but one thing that annoyed me was that there was a toilet attendant who was looking for a tip just for handing you a paper towel. Surely when you are already paying for a room and for dinner its a bit rich to complain because you didn't have the foresight to take some change in your pocket to the toilet?

Very poor service in the cafe/restaurant downstairs as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a hotel that is stuck in time and never moved. Rooms are old and not upto the mark, the staff is old , room service is just so bad that you feel bad for yourself that you booked yourself in this hotel. Huge hotel but not well maintained. Not recommended.

Room Tip: If you have a buffett Breakfast in your package make sure you reach very early otherwise only leftov...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuns23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We travelled to this hotel as part of a school visit to India. It is a typical, high class chain hotel which could be anywhere in the world. Clean, comfortable and characterless. Very busy when we got there with large coach parties checking in. The buffet restaurant was therefore very crowded and difficult to get to the food although it did thin out later in the evening. A table for 12 had been allotted to the group which was good but the drinks bill, which the teachers were paying for, still arrived as 6 separate bills. Otherwise no problems with quality of service or rooms - some of the students were very impressed with this hotel but I much preferred smaller hotels with more character.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerneBayCharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Arrived after a long journey to find that the booking made with head office in Delhi had not been forwarded to the hotel so there were no rooms available even though our tour company had paid for it and had e-mail confirmation.

They only seemed bothered with the bulk purchase coach tour operators.

We were left sat in the foyer with a security guard loitering nearby for an hour and did not seem bothered at all about it being there problem.

In the end our tour operator had to find acommodation which they succeeded to do as otherwise we would have been sleeping in the foyer as the hotel just could
not be bothered doing anything for us.

There in view that this spoilt an otherwise perfect holiday we cannot recommend in any way, other than to avoid!

Room Tip: try another hotel and you may actually get a room!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Ratty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is a very high quality hotel in the heart of Agra. We were impressed with the rooms- all extremely clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and kind - from the porters to the reception staff.

Our only issue was the breakfast. The hotel was quite busy when we were there with large groups all wanting breakfast at the same time! Breakfast was basic and functional. It actually let the hotel down. The restaurant staff were, however, extremely helpful and did their best to accommodate all our needs and wants!

The hotel was also lucky to have a little shopping area in the foyer. There was a good variety of souvenir shops. It also had a post office - I sent postdards for the first time in many years.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joni101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

When we arrived and got to our room, we found we had been given one with a view of the Taj, even though we hadn't requested one, and I don't think we paid extra for it, so that was nice. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom very modern with no need to heat the water up first. The atmosphere is a little weird -- 5 star pretension without really being 5 star...things like serving you a welcome drink when you arrive and taking your bags from you, but then coming to take you to your room before you've had a chance to finish the drink. The people who run the shops in the hotel come outside and pressure you into coming in, so it's not very relaxing running the gauntlet to get to the elevator to your room. But all in all, not a bad option in Agra.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank mols2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managementclarks, Manager at Hotel Clarks Shiraz, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest, accept our sincere thanks for giveing your valuable feedback, we have taken your advise very positively & have implemented various corrective meassures so that we can provide the best services to our guest.

Thanks & Regards
A K Das
DGM-Ops

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 142 in Agra
4,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarks Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarks Shiraz

Address: 54 Taj Road, Agra 282 001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#7 Family Hotel in Agra
#12 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#13 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $48 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Clarks Shiraz 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CLARKS SHIRAZ, AGRA - 237 well appointed rooms & suites. Distance from railway station - 3 km Taj Mahal - 1 km Red Fort - 1 1/2 km Main shopping centre - 1 km Dining Options: The Mughal Room - Roof top our specialty al-a-carte restaurant, overlooking the Taj Mahal & Red Fort The Buffet - Multi-cuisine lobby level dining Hall The Coffee Shop - 24 hours The Mughal Bar- Roof top bar with variety of imported and domestic beverages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Clarks Shiraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarks Shiraz Hotel Agra
Clarks Shiraz Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing